OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Quasar Media Player Released For Sharprom And Pdaxrom
Frederic Bergero...
post Dec 12 2007, 06:23 PM
Post #91





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Nagoya, Japan
Member No.: 9,232



Yeah, indeed, the animation is great, very smooth. Cool!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ofels
post Dec 13 2007, 04:06 AM
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



QUOTE(eviLjazz @ Nov 13 2007, 12:43 AM) *
ofels, any news on the OpenEmbedded/Ångström package/recipe?


BTW, I forgot to tell that quasar is available in the Angstrom feeds for a while now.

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eviLjazz
post Dec 22 2007, 05:59 AM
Post #93





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 11-December 03
From: Oldenburg, Germany
Member No.: 1,155



Thanks for the good news, Oliver!
I really need to check out Ångström soon.
All right, back to QScrobbler... wink.gif

UPDATE:
I've released QScrobbler: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25280
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Asterix
post Jan 14 2008, 04:47 PM
Post #94





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 27-July 07
From: A Small Village in Virginia
Member No.: 18,507



Another idea for you:

When I turn off the LCD with the 3 key while playing music, it'd be nice if the touch screen was also disabled. You could make it an option for those who don't like that idea. I've inadvertently touched the screen in the top right-hand corner, putting the program into input mode, all while the LCD was off. I had to turn my Z off to get the screen back on, since pressing 4 put a 4 in the text box rather than turning the LCD back on.

This happened to me in my car, which is usually where I'm playing music. The Z sits on the passenger seat with the screen open. If I pick it up wrong, say at a stop light to see what's playing, this can happen.

Again, I put in a ticket at Katastrophos as an enhancement, but I thought I'd repeat it here.

Asterix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Jan 15 2008, 07:42 AM
Post #95





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



I have been enjoying this media player for a while now, but recently had a problem with some movies that I had watched before not playing. I got a message saying something about a format problem (sorry, I didn't record exact message). I reinstalled Quasar, and Mplayer. This did not fix the problem. I deleted the movie, and re-copied it to the CF card, thinking maybe the movie file was corrupt. This did not fix it either. I finally deleted the playlists and remade them in quasar. That fixed the problem.

I'm guessing that maybe removing CF card with quasar open maybe corrupted the playlist file. Just putting this experience in this thread in case someone else has a similar problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 16 2008, 02:03 PM
Post #96





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



you need to port this to Android and claim some of that bonus!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eviLjazz
post Jan 23 2008, 11:30 AM
Post #97





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 11-December 03
From: Oldenburg, Germany
Member No.: 1,155



Thanks for reporting the bugs! I'll try to fix them with the next release.
the_oak, weird problem there. Perhaps the media database got corrupted. In that case you can just delete ~/.quasar/quasar.sqlite3. Quasar will rebuild it then.

speculatrix, Android looks interesting. However, I don't jump on the bandwagon because there is a hype and a large company backing it. Besides, Android means Java(-like programming) and a different toolkit and thus simply porting won't work here. I just don't see any reason to rewrite Quasar for Android now. I'd rather stick with Qt as it has platform independence to start with. I have Quasar running on Sharp Qtopia/pdaXrom Qt/X11, Ubuntu (my laptop) and OS X (my workstation). And it will compile and run on any other Unix-like platform that has a Qt 2 or 3 port, a decent X11 server and mplayer. This is the reason why I ported Quasar to work with Qt and X11 in the first place. Same codebase, more choices!
Anyway, if anybody wants to hire me at a fulltime rate to rewrite Quasar for Android I am in for it! And seriously, I don't think Google would be interested in a media player. I think they are rather looking for new apps to better leverage their services. That's the whole point of the challenge.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Feb 27 2008, 03:28 AM
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



I would like to listen to music that is on my computer's hd, with Quasar on my Z via wireless.
Is there any easy way to do that? Like support for itunes sharing or some other form of playlist sharing?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 27 2008, 03:50 AM
Post #99





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(matthis @ Feb 27 2008, 11:28 AM) *
I would like to listen to music that is on my computer's hd, with Quasar on my Z via wireless.
Is there any easy way to do that? Like support for itunes sharing or some other form of playlist sharing?


samba share?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ofels
post Feb 28 2008, 06:29 AM
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



QUOTE(matthis @ Feb 27 2008, 12:28 PM) *
I would like to listen to music that is on my computer's hd, with Quasar on my Z via wireless.
Is there any easy way to do that? Like support for itunes sharing or some other form of playlist sharing?

thanks


*rant on* Did someone say UPnP support for Quasar ? rolleyes.gif

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Mar 28 2008, 12:26 AM
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



One little thing that bugs me about quazar is this:

If the zaurus takes a little too long to read the mp3 file (has to spin up the disk or I was doing other resource hogging things with my Z) then quazar stops completely and displays an error message saying it couldn't play the track and prompting me to modify the mplayer commands to fix it. What I think it should do, and please enlighten me if there is an option for this, is just skip the track and go on to the next one if it can't play it for some reason.

If I was listening to my music on the go and have my zaurus closed then I find myself every once and a while when the music stops having to open it up, close that error message and press play again to continue listening to music. It also seems to happen if I skip to the next track and then the next track too fast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eviLjazz
post Apr 5 2008, 06:38 AM
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 11-December 03
From: Oldenburg, Germany
Member No.: 1,155



QUOTE(xamindar @ Mar 28 2008, 12:26 AM) *
One little thing that bugs me about quazar is this:

If the zaurus takes a little too long to read the mp3 file (has to spin up the disk or I was doing other resource hogging things with my Z) then quazar stops completely and displays an error message saying it couldn't play the track and prompting me to modify the mplayer commands to fix it. What I think it should do, and please enlighten me if there is an option for this, is just skip the track and go on to the next one if it can't play it for some reason.

If I was listening to my music on the go and have my zaurus closed then I find myself every once and a while when the music stops having to open it up, close that error message and press play again to continue listening to music. It also seems to happen if I skip to the next track and then the next track too fast.


Please file a bug report here: http://trac.katastrophos.net/quasar/newticket
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 9 2008, 02:58 PM
Post #103





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



having played with angstrom and android, and gotten fed up of not actually *doing* anything, and the honeymoon with the n800 is losing its bloom, I'm going to be dual-booting cacko and debian... the first non-cacko-feed app I wanted to install was Quasar! It definitely lives up to expectations, and is a welcome shot in the arm for cacko. great app!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Apr 9 2008, 10:19 PM
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 9 2008, 02:58 PM) *
is a welcome shot in the arm for cacko. great app!


But it also runs on cacko. How is it a shot in the arm? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 10 2008, 04:08 AM
Post #105





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(xamindar @ Apr 10 2008, 07:19 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 9 2008, 02:58 PM) *
is a welcome shot in the arm for cacko. great app!


But it also runs on cacko. How is it a shot in the arm? unsure.gif


ah, you misunderstood, a "shot in the arm" means invigorated: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/318925.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 01:05 AM