OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zubuntu 1.0 Rc1, Start your downloads now
cortez
post Dec 25 2008, 03:37 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I've just uploaded Zubuntu 1.0 Release Candidate 1. This release supports following Zaurus models:
  • SL-C700
  • SL-C750
  • SL-C760
  • SL-C860
  • SL-C1000
  • SL-C3000
  • SL-C3100
  • SL-C3200
Instructions on how to install the release can be found on my blog later today. Please be so kind to give your feedback, report problems, share fixes, enhancements etc.

Merry Christmas to all of you!

Cheers,
cortez
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Dec 25 2008, 08:01 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Merry Christmas to you too... smile.gif
Quick question,
does Zubuntu support kexec? So I can also keep my Cacko on NAND?
Here's how it's done with Angstrom. I'm ready to switch from Angstrom because it seems like a lot of stuff is incomplete.
http://www.linuxtogo.org/gowiki/AngstromAndCacko

Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 25 2008, 08:43 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Quick reply wink.gif Yes, kexec is supported. Zubuntu adds a special kexecboot kernel from which you're able to boot into whatever distro you want.
Make sure to backup your current Cacko distro!!

Cheers,
cortez
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelyzy
post Dec 25 2008, 09:00 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 9,817



HI Cortez,

Could you add a version for SL-6000(Tosa)?

Can SL-6000 flash the kernel of the version of C7x0 ?

I think the user of SL-6000 don't want to miss the Zubuntu .

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 25 2008, 10:51 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(michaelyzy @ Dec 25 2008, 06:00 PM) *
Could you add a version for SL-6000(Tosa)?
When time permits, yes!

QUOTE(michaelyzy @ Dec 25 2008, 06:00 PM) *
Can SL-6000 flash the kernel of the version of C7x0 ?
No, this unfortunately doesn't work
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cal
post Dec 25 2008, 05:53 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,981



On my C1000 I have no access to CF cards. They don't show up in dmesg. I'll investigate further in the morning. Otherwise its still really cool


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Dec 25 2008, 07:08 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



Merry Christmas indeed smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Dec 25 2008, 10:56 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I also have no access to CF interface on C3100

cortez,
I did the zubuntu installation according to instructions on your website. It looks really sharp! smile.gif
I haven't really used it much yet, as I'm trying to get my other two OS's to boot.
I already had angstrom-opie installed to my hard drive, and
I have cacko installed in NAND

My questions are:
Can I keep my angstrom and cacko installed on HDD and NAND as it already is?
I really don't want to install these OS's onto SD cards, as I want to use what is already available on my Z. (hdd and NAND)

I'm trying to figure out how to mount my angstrom partitions and my cacko NAND partition, so I can place these files in /boot
Angstrom is on hdd1 and hdd2 (/dev/hda1 and /dev/hda2) I tried mounting these partitions in zubuntu, but they don't exist.
As for cacko, I want to try to mount the NAND on /dev/mtd1 and /dev/mtd2 (I'm not sure if this is correct or not)

Edit: I could have put these files in /root on the other OS's before I flashed the new kernel, but I'm already here and haven't access to these OS's now, but hope to figure it out soon..
QUOTE
Simply create a /boot directory in the root of the filesystem. Rename the the kernel image to zImage and copy it into the /boot directory. Create a file named kernel-cmdline containing the kernel startup command line and optionally add a file named image.nfo containing a description of the distro, all in the /boot directory. After rebooting the device your new distro will show up in the boot menu automatically.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 26 2008, 02:58 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Thanks to Stefani for mentioning that you need to add the following entries to /etc/modules (and reboot) for working sound and CF slot:
snd-soc-corgi (for c7x0 only, Spitz and Akita is okay)
pxa2xx_cs

Somehow, tskeys seems to be very resource hungry. I ran "top", wrote down the PID of the tskeys process and killed the process (kill <PID>). No problems so far ;-)

Maybe it's needless to say, but Zubuntu runs much-much-much better when using a high quality memory card. I tried a dane-alec 1Gb and a peak 2Gb card first, but these were sloooow. Now I use a Sandisk 2Gb Extreme III SD card, and the difference is really noticeable. Apart from that, use a swap partition of course! Just make sure to add it to the /etc/fstab file so it is used on next reboot.

@Jon_J: It should be possible to mount the HDD and/or NAND partition from Zubuntu. Use "mount -t jffs2 /dev/mtdblk3 /media/cf" to mount the Cacko partition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Dec 26 2008, 03:08 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



where do I find the kernel startup command line for various distros?
I untarred angstrom onto another SD card and it boots from the multiboot menu, but I don't know in which file the kernel startup command line is located.

Thank you.
I did use "pxa2xx_cs"
but CF cards don't seem available
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klaxon
post Dec 26 2008, 03:15 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 22,080



I tried Zubuntu on my 860.
I have the same errors as Stefani.
I can't click, i have the message : "selected device is not a touchscreen i understand"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klaxon
post Dec 26 2008, 03:17 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 22,080



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Dec 26 2008, 01:08 PM) *
where do I find the kernel startup command line for various distros?
I untarred angstrom onto another SD card and it boots from the multiboot menu, but I don't know in which file the kernel startup command line is located.

Thank you.
I did use "pxa2xx_cs"
but CF cards don't seem available


You have to mount manually your CF card.
It worked for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 26 2008, 03:19 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Dec 26 2008, 12:08 PM) *
where do I find the kernel startup command line for various distros?
I untarred angstrom onto another SD card and it boots from the multiboot menu, but I don't know in which file the kernel startup command line is located.

Thank you.
I did use "pxa2xx_cs"
but CF cards don't seem available

The kernel cmdline for Angstrom should be much like the one used in Zubuntu (if not equal). For other distro's I don't know yet. I have to check for Cacko for instance. You can check the source code of course, it's in there somewhere wink.gif

Try running "dmesg | tail" to see if your CF is recognized
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 26 2008, 03:25 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(klaxon @ Dec 26 2008, 12:15 PM) *
I tried Zubuntu on my 860.
I have the same errors as Stefani.
I can't click, i have the message : "selected device is not a touchscreen i understand"

Could you run "cat /proc/bus/input/devices" and see what handler is displayed for the touchscreen?
If you run "nano ~/.profile" you see a line saying
CODE
export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event2

Maybe this needs to be adjusted for the 860
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klaxon
post Dec 26 2008, 03:36 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 22,080



I have three devices :
Corgi Keyboard
Corgi Touchscreen
Touchscreen offscreen keys

For Corgi Touchscreen, i have "Handlers=event1 mouse0"

So i changed TSLIB_TSDEVICE with event1 but no change.

Sorry i forget to disconnect : it works now.
ts_calibrate works now too
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 07:52 AM