OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C1000 With Broken Screen, What are the options...
Tombo
post Jan 4 2008, 08:33 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



I dropped a mug on my closed C1000... ph34r.gif
it was heavy enough to break the screen glass from outside... now I have a fully working Z (yes, even the touchscreen works as before) that just looks pretty weird:



Since I'm staying in Japan I thought about bringing it to one of the Sharp Service Centers here. I just bought it 3 months ago but then I don't think they'll replace the screen for free... but maybe for about 150 $ or so? Somebody knowing how much it costs?

How about replacing the Screen with one from a broken C1000 or C3200? Is it possible and if yes, more or less easy to do?

Or maybe somebody is willing to buy it? As I said before...it works just as before since it was closed when something fell on it, so the "Body" is perfectly working. How much could I get for it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cycle_55
post Jan 4 2008, 10:18 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 15-February 06
From: Gabriola Island, BC, Canada
Member No.: 9,143



QUOTE(Tombo @ Jan 4 2008, 08:33 AM) *
I dropped a mug on my closed C1000... ph34r.gif
it was heavy enough to break the screen glass from outside... now I have a fully working Z (yes, even the touchscreen works as before) that just looks pretty weird:



Since I'm staying in Japan I thought about bringing it to one of the Sharp Service Centers here. I just bought it 3 months ago but then I don't think they'll replace the screen for free... but maybe for about 150 $ or so? Somebody knowing how much it costs?

How about replacing the Screen with one from a broken C1000 or C3200? Is it possible and if yes, more or less easy to do?

Or maybe somebody is willing to buy it? As I said before...it works just as before since it was closed when something fell on it, so the "Body" is perfectly working. How much could I get for it?


How much would you be asking for it....

cycle_55
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 4 2008, 11:26 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Conics will do it for a little over $200 (depending on shipping), or something like $185 if you want to DIY.

http://conics.net/catalog/product_info.php...;products_id=70
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tombo
post Jan 4 2008, 04:47 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



@cycle_55: I sent u a message.


QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 5 2008, 04:26 AM) *
Conics will do it for a little over $200 (depending on shipping), or something like $185 if you want to DIY.

http://conics.net/catalog/product_info.php...;products_id=70

Thank you very much for the info! Unfortunately that's more expensive than I've expected... gonna see how much it would cost @ Sharp first.

Any infos about the inside of a C1000's screen is highly appreciated.
Offers welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tombo
post Jan 5 2008, 04:30 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 6 2008, 09:22 AM) *
Yes, the screens are the same on all models (see the conics page above for confirmation of that).

Wow...are the screens of the SL-C7/8xx-Series exaxtly the same? Or just "very similar" in size?
I'm asking, cause it seems to be easier to find used/dead models from these series!

@speculatrix: thanks for your help! A "broken" 3x00 would be perfect...^^"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 5 2008, 08:45 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Conics claims the LCD is "for ALL SL-C700 / C750 / C760 / C860and ALL SL-C1000 / C3000 / C3100 / C3200," so I'd guess they're exactly the same or so close that they're interchangeable.

EDIT: This is false. Read on for clarification.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tombo
post Jan 5 2008, 09:26 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 6 2008, 01:45 PM) *
Conics claims the LCD is "for ALL SL-C700 / C750 / C760 / C860and ALL SL-C1000 / C3000 / C3100 / C3200," so I'd guess they're exactly the same or so close that they're interchangeable.

Sorry, I put it a little unclearly. I've seen Fotos of SL-Cxxo's where at least one of the small symbols on the screen (the ones for "home, mail, etc." was different than the ones on my c1000. So I wondered aside from size and interchangeability, whether they are the same in terms of color quality, brightness, etc.
You seem to have both, a C3100 and a C750, so what do you think? Do you see any difference? (well, actually I'm sure you would have told me already if you did wink.gif )

I could buy a broken c860 for about 80$, so I might give it a try... the only thing that worries me is my inexistent experience in repairing something like a zaurus... so I'm trying to find some how to's or pics... unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tombo
post Jan 7 2008, 02:07 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



Might be interesting for some people:
Prices of the japanese Sharp Repair Service

Screen replacement: 31'500 yen (about 287$)
Screen + black cover replacement: 41'000 (about 375$)

New c1000 at cheapest Internet-Shop in Japan: 35'000 (about 320$)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Jan 7 2008, 03:40 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi all,

just a quick note regarding the screens:
SL-C7x0 / 8x0 series uses same display units.
SL-C1x00 / 3x00 series uses same display units.

The shape of the PWBs between the xx0/xx00 series
is DIFFERENT. You can't use a SL-C760 display in a
SL-C1000 for example.

Please have this in mind, if you're looking for a
replacement screen.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tombo
post Jan 7 2008, 04:18 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-January 08
Member No.: 21,155



@Marc Stefan:
Vielen Dank für diese sehr wertvolle Information!

(thank you very much for this extremly valuable information!)


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 7 2008, 04:48 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Jan 7 2008, 05:40 AM) *
The shape of the PWBs between the xx0/xx00 series
is DIFFERENT. You can't use a SL-C760 display in a
SL-C1000 for example.

I guess I am misinformed, then. Thanks for the clarification!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 01:36 PM