OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> User Replaceable Backup Battery?, backup battery shot!
SueZ
post Mar 15 2005, 06:40 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



I have a Zaurus 5500. Through my own carelessness-I wore out the backup battery. It's not a huge deal-in the rare event I need to do a software reset-I can just restore my data from the CF card quickly using the restore app. I can also avoid having to do this by resetting when I am plugged into an AC outlet.

I am curious if the backup battery is user replaceable-like a CMOS battery on a PC? I have been unable to find detailed schematics on the guts of the 5500-so I don't want to risk taking it apart if I may ruin it in the process. (I've grown quite attached to my Z... biggrin.gif ) Rather than waste time calling Sharp Tech Support-I thought somebody may have run into this, and could give me some insight.

Thanks So much!

Sue
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 15 2005, 06:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Not schematics, but a pic or two.

Si
Attached File(s)
Attached File  sharpapart01.jpg ( 344.82K ) Number of downloads: 519
Attached File  sharpapart02.jpg ( 283.35K ) Number of downloads: 425
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Mar 15 2005, 06:58 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



QUOTE(lardman @ Mar 15 2005, 02:53 PM)
Not schematics, but a pic or two.

Si
*

I can't see the backup battery.

Actually I didn't even know the SL-5500 has one, I thought it just retained a stored charge for a short period.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SueZ
post Mar 15 2005, 07:26 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



Thanks Lardman-That's a great start!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SueZ
post Mar 15 2005, 07:29 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



Now the question is-Where is it, and can I get a replacement.....

laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Mar 15 2005, 08:22 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



SueZ,

the SL-5500 model is not equipped with a backup battery.

I think there was one in the planning stage, but never made
it into mass production.

So don't waste time searching wink.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 15 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Strange, because the instruction booklet said to charge for 24Hrs before use to charge the backup battery.

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SueZ
post Mar 15 2005, 08:59 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



Hi Marc,
The manual says there is one-and I suspect it did make into production, because I never had a problem with a software reset erasing my data/apps until I let my Zaurus battery rundown completely (accidently).

But like I said-it's a rare occasion my Z gets hung-and when it does-there are a couple of workarounds, so it's not a BIG deal. I'm curious by nature, and I just like everything to work right! cool.gif

I just upgraded the ROM to Sharp 3.10-so perhaps the rare hanging problem will not show its face again anyway.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Mar 15 2005, 10:57 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi,

not only the manual mentions it, also the service documentation
shows how to replace the battery (see the attachment).
Attached File  bubatt.bmp ( 403.51K ) Number of downloads: 529


But if i don't have a big blackout now, i would say i never seen
the battery in a SL-5500. Afaik it never was installed.

If anybody really found it in his 5500, please post here. Maybe
in the US market models there was a battery unsure.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BlackCardinal
post Mar 15 2005, 01:17 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 9-March 04
From: Albany, Oregon USA
Member No.: 2,232



From the service manual page provided by TRIsoft, it looks like it's under the black cover on the board in the lower right of lardman's first picture.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SueZ
post Mar 15 2005, 04:42 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



Oh Marc-YOU ROCK! Thanks so much. I have looked high and low for specifics on this. I'll let you all know if I get brave enough to try this out, and what I find. What are the chances Radio Shack could get a replacement battery for me, or do you think at this point I should call Sharp and see if they sell them?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BlackCardinal
post Mar 15 2005, 09:22 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 9-March 04
From: Albany, Oregon USA
Member No.: 2,232



My Sharp manual says it's a 3V battery. If I had to guess, I'd bet it's a CR2032, which is an extremely common disc-type battery used in a lot of computers, including PDAs. You can find it almost anywhere, at least in the U.S. (drugstores, Target, Radio Shack).

If you do open your unit up and find out which type it is, I'm sure I'm not the only one who would be interested in knowing for sure. Please post what you find. Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Mar 16 2005, 01:26 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



SHAME ON ME !

The battery discussion gave me a bad sleep this night smile.gif

The first what i did this morning was entering the office asking
the 1-Euro-Question: "Guys, does the SL-5500 have a backup
battery ?". Answer was : "No, was planned, but not in".

But as a curious user, i dismantled a sub-pwb, peeled the black
plastic stripe off and see what i found :

Attached File  Dsc05686.jpg ( 60.77K ) Number of downloads: 726


The battery is not one of the usual CR-20xx series. The SHARP
service manual names it a "Litume battery (ML2016TT2)" the
parts code for it is RDNTL0001YCZZ. Looks like it's a Sanyo
battery :Sanyo spec sheet.

I regret for making a wrong statement yesterday. I really don't
know why we were _that_ sure that there was no battery in the
5500 models.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SueZ
post Mar 16 2005, 07:32 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 15-March 05
Member No.: 6,633



Hi Marc,
Thanks for looking! Sorry if I cost you any sleep....

I really appreciate all the great info and specifics. I'll see if I can find the battery.
I'm sure more than a few fellow Z owners will find this information extremely valuable, and almost impossible to find!

Thanks again for all your help.

Sue
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdralphs
post Jul 6 2005, 08:29 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 30-September 03
Member No.: 530



Has anyone succesfully changed their backup battery?? i recently joined in to this dead backup battery business and while i could survive without a backup battery -- it'd be good to know i can replace it with minimal effort.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 07:24 AM