OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Flashed 1.1.0beta1 And All I Got Was Aterm :(, plus "vi" doesnt work properly ...
telemetric_au
post Apr 27 2006, 11:23 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



(5500)

im not sure if this is how its meant to be but ive flashed a few times and checked the md5sum's and all i get it aterm and dillo...

is this normal ??

as well as that vi text editor doesnt display the opened file correctly and thus is useless...

also can't get ipkg to update, and thus do anything else... (and have corrected ipkg.conf with correct feed: http://mail.pdaxrom.org/1.1.0beta1/Zaurus-5000D-5500/feed/)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nothing
post Apr 28 2006, 12:05 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 17-June 05
From: St.Petersburg
Member No.: 7,371



Hello, I flashed Beta for SL-5500 too.
And it's fine smile.gif

Try this link:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18194&hl=5500

AbiWord, XMMS, working, other apps too.
But the screen on SL-5500 too small... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 28 2006, 12:14 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



yes i read that thread, ok so its normal...

so i manually downloaded package-manager and qt-mt onto a cf, then installed them to sd as per instructions...

but when trying to execute either from terminal i get: "error while loading shared libraries: libqt-mt.so.3: ... no such file or directory... "

and had to copy ipkg.conf onto cf and edit it on pc as vi doesnt work, but can handle that and can get editor replacement...

but... ipkg cant do an update , can ping www.google.com and go to www.pdaxrom.org in dillo but ipkg cant resolve host name or connect to official feed,

here's my first line in ipkg.conf
src cacko-unstable http://mail.pdaxrom.org/1.1.0beta1/Zaurus-5000D-5500/feed


any ideas ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 28 2006, 12:29 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



update:

vi does work fine from the root terminal prompt you get on boot up, but not from within pdaxrom (x) as mentioned must be due to screen size as the base terminal uses a smaller font...

is there a way to adjust the pdaxrom aterm font size ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nothing
post Apr 28 2006, 12:34 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 17-June 05
From: St.Petersburg
Member No.: 7,371



I uprgaded my feed from CF file:///mnt/cf/feed/

for vi, use ":" insted of "cansel"...
(sorry for my poor English smile.gif)

I had troubles with shared libs...
after installing try

ipkg-link mount /mnt/card
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 28 2006, 12:45 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



QUOTE(nothing @ Apr 28 2006, 07:34 PM)
I uprgaded my feed from CF file:///mnt/cf/feed/

for vi, use ":" insted of "cansel"...
(sorry for my poor English smile.gif)

I had troubles with shared libs...
after installing try

ipkg-link mount /mnt/card
*



did you download the whole feed onto your cf or just what you needed ??

did the ipkg-link and it seemed to do some good, it found all the packs on my sd and added them...

but i still get same error... sad.gif

with vi i found no-problems using cancel instead of escape, then follwed by :q or whichever command needed smile.gif


?? is there a way to drop out into the root prompt (as you do with ctrl-alt-F1 on a pc) from pdaxrom ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nothing
post Apr 28 2006, 03:48 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 17-June 05
From: St.Petersburg
Member No.: 7,371



did you download the whole feed onto your cf or just what you needed ??

I downloaded whole feed...
and installed apps from it, with all deps.
and have no problems... smile.gif

?? is there a way to drop out into the root prompt (as you do with ctrl-alt-F1 on a pc) from pdaxrom ??
I don't know, sorry, but my linux skills so poor, like English... sad.gif ... ask any one other.. sad.gif
So I'd like to know too... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 28 2006, 05:35 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



Got it working Sweet smile.gif

just had to edit /etc/resolv.conf to match my pc's and ipkg update , etc. works fine

did a reinstall of qt-mt with ipkg and now qpkg and qtconfig works too...

still having VI issues, even in root terminal...

does anyone know how to stop app windows going off the side of the screen, as it makes it imposibble to use xmms as the add files box is cramped soo much that the selection box's you cant read what in them...

enjoy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 24 2007, 06:19 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



all this cuffuffle above as worked itself out... might write a guide... and yes small screen, too small for most win apps, but terminal based is fine smile.gif

note: you can drop to the root shell out of matchbox-windows by entering "killall X" at the prompt or ctrl+alt+del (calander+contacts+backspace)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 12:39 AM