OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PCMCIA in an 860?
Guest_kic_*
post Sep 8 2004, 09:22 AM
Post #1





Guests






Howdy. I've been lurking here for a little while trying to read up on as much as I can, especially since I'm really feeling the urge to get an 860 now, but I just stumbled onto something somewhere else that intrigued me (ebay, of all places).

I saw a listing for a 760 with a CF to PCMCIA adapter. I've done some poking around, but I've not found much information on using one of these with a Zaurus and using a pcmcia wifi card. I'm guessing that, provided it works, it'll kill the battery, but I'm thinking it may be worth it for the better antenna, provided it's not too demanding on power.

Any info, help, links, etc. would be appreciated. Looking forward to likely spending a bunch of money to replace (shove aside?) my iPAQ (and I'm long and loyal iPAQ user! Ack!).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Sep 8 2004, 10:28 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



The only thing that I would say on this subject is that if you do get it going beware of power drain.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tz
post Sep 8 2004, 12:49 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 2-February 04
Member No.: 1,584



The PCMCIA cards need to be 3.3 volt only compatible. A Cisco 350 card works (I have one to an external antenna - I had to compile and tweak the drivers though). Battery drain is a problem, but depending on where you are you could use some kind of spare power. A Toshiba 5Gb pcmcia ATA drive works too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 8 2004, 02:08 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Also be careful that the PCMCIA card in question is a true (old) 16-bit PCMCIA card rather than a newer 32-bit CardBus card which won't work (see here for a description: http://www.pcmcia.org/).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_kic_*
post Sep 8 2004, 03:45 PM
Post #5





Guests






Thanks for the replies.

I think that pretty much answers all of my questions, and then some. smile.gif I'm still not 100% set on getting an 860, but I think I foresee spending in the future.

On a side note, tz, what sort of battery life do you get with your cisco card and antenna connected?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Sep 10 2004, 12:25 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE(kic @ Sep 8 2004, 01:22 PM)
I saw a listing for a 760 with a CF to PCMCIA adapter.

I'm a long time HP-LX user and think that somebody is misleading you badly.

I have NEVER seen an adapter that allows a PCMCIA card or device to be used in a CF (or SD) socket. And I *have* looked extensively.

I had been using a very old PCMCIA card reader that requires DOS device drivers be pre loaded in order to work, for many years. About a year ago, I began looking for any USB card readers supporting PCMCIA & got burned repeatedly by web hype CLAIMING this ability for devices that would not even physically accept PCMCIA cards. Can you say "RMA with prejudice"?

The ONLY USB based PCMCIA card drive that I was ever able to find ONLY supports FLASH RAM cards. PERIOD. It will not work with WiFi, Network, Modem or other such PCMCIA device cards. Hell, it crashes WindHoze HARD if I even try to use the old style SRAM cards or the original HP95LX demo ROM cards!

I have several CF/SD/etc *card* to PCMCIA socket adapters. But, as nice as they are for my HP-LX machines, the are not worth squat for my C860.

Can you prove to me otherwise (G)? If so, *I'll* buy one myself! A safe bet, IMOHE.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offthefront
post Sep 10 2004, 12:37 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,040



[QUOTE=Miami_Bob,Sep 10 2004, 08:25 AM]
I have NEVER seen an adapter that allows a PCMCIA card or device to be used in a CF (or SD) socket. And I *have* looked extensively.

http://www.semsons.com/comflastopcc.html

I've used this for toshiba hard drives, wi-fi cards and gps. Cardbus wont work, but everything else I've tried does.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Sep 10 2004, 01:16 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



Sue -

Thanks to the info! Wish I had seen this last year! (G)

My order is going in as we "speak" (G2).

THANKS!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sephiroth
post Sep 20 2004, 09:16 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 24-April 04
Member No.: 2,989



QUOTE(Miami_Bob @ Sep 10 2004, 01:16 AM)
Sue -

Thanks to the info! Wish I had seen this last year! (G)

My order is going in as we "speak" (G2).

THANKS!!

I am thinking to buy this so, does it work well ?
Thanks for updates
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tz
post Sep 20 2004, 01:37 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 2-February 04
Member No.: 1,584



If the card is 3.3v, it will normally drain the battery quickly - you will want the bigger battery. Most wifi cards don't draw too much - and the pcmcia versions are not really different inside (except for something like the Socket CF).

I can usually get 45 minutes warwalking with a Cisco card, but I think it needs more current when transmitting, but I've gone beyond 30 minutes heavily surfing without the battery indicator going to 25%

YMMV.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th September 2014 - 06:03 PM