OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 128 Mb Flash Upgrade
guylhem
post Nov 5 2005, 05:36 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

bsgh, I think there're enough of us now for the order. Do you want to start collecting the money?

The Flash chip is: k9k1g08uoa - we need at least one each. If it's not expansive, we could get 2 for each of us to give one more chance if the soldering process fails.

If you can also use this opportunity to get them, the Ram chip is K4S561633F - we need two each to go to 128 Mb of RAM. We also will need a "A106" that's next to the ram chip on the motherboard- no idea what it could be. Looks like a capacitor or a diode IMHO. Will figure it out later. If it doesn't work, I don't think the Ram chips will be reusable in other Zauruses. But it's worth trying to upgrade the 6000 anyway. Doubling the Ram and the Flash would make it quite a beast :-)

Anyway, let's go for the flash update first. The Ram upgrade will be attempted afterwards - just get the Flash chips, and ask about Ram chips.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 14 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Is it possible/feasible to fabricate and solder on a chip socket of some sort? Then upgrading the memory chip would be very simple. If the socket is hollow on the bottom, it would seem that it would be easier to solder too. The idea for this came from an old motherboard manual for a Packard Bell PB650. The video on the motherboard could be upgraded by simply obtaining the appropriate memory chips and sticking them in the socket.

Socket looks like this:
video memory socket
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 14 2005, 11:32 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



possible, yes, better - yes it could be much much simpler (devel boards use smartmedia cards- if you want another distro, just swap the card)

Will it fit in the box- that's the first question. Will we find the parts we need? I still have no news about the 128 Mb chips. I don't think I'll have them soon. It could delay the process even further.

If you can find parts to do that, you're very welcome. Else I'd suggest we stick to the plan, or we risk dispersion.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bsaunder2002
post Nov 30 2005, 04:12 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-June 04
Member No.: 3,876



aiSome random ideas...
SL-5000 and 5500 are similar, dump the 5500(BGA ram I know I've seen mine), use a 5000(SMT ram) and upgrade the RAM from 32mb to 128mb by removing the 32mb's or maybe 32mb to 96mb by piggybacking the originals with larger ones.

For the BGA people(SL-5500, C-xxxx) - How about destroying the existing ram as you remove the BGA chips, making a BGA to smt shim, then soldering wires or SMT chips to the shim. The reason this might be doable, is that my guess is that chip sacrificial removal of the BGA is easier than trying to save it but you'd still be left with the BGA soldering of the shim. After the shim is soldered you'd be able to solder/remove the SMT without damaging the main board. Ie another layer to dissipate heat. Only one risky operation...

Now the 64,000 dollar question.
Why doesn't anyone sell a PDA with more memory? They all max out at 64mb. I know that WinCE does XIP - execute in place. That's where the program can actually run directly from the flash. That gives WinCE a much larger pool of memory for running programs(ie theoretically only heap and stack are in RAM, the rest stays in flash). Linux on the other hand doesn't do XIP(ok so it's being added to 2.6 but it aint there yet). It loads the program code into RAM first before executing.

So we're left with the assumption, more RAM = less battery life. PDA's for average users are all about battery life.

BUT sharp users aren't "average" users. WHY DOESNT SHARP REALIZE 128MB is WORLDS BETTER THAN 64mb.

Sorry about the shouting just dreamed they might actually hear it...
Bill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom61
post Dec 1 2005, 03:43 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 22-December 04
Member No.: 6,002



QUOTE
Why doesn't anyone sell a PDA with more memory? They all max out at 64mb.


You mean like 128MB? The Fujitsu/Loox 720, Toshiba e800 and e850, TapWave Zodiac 2, just to name a few, all have 128MB of RAM. 128MB ROM is quickly becomming standard on the newer WM5 PPCs for persistant storage (I.E. no data loss by running the batteries completely dry), and a few Palm models have that much flash ROM for persistant storage as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bgsfh
post Dec 13 2005, 08:14 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 1-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 538



Update

I sent an email message to the vender on 11/17/05. I received no response. I am sending another email today.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bgsfh
post Dec 13 2005, 02:31 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 1-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 538



I received a response from the chip supplier. He is working on getting the chips for the flash memory and the ram memory. I will let everyone know what happens as soon as I hear something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bgsfh
post Dec 14 2005, 01:15 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 1-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 538



I have received a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 10 for referb flash chips part number K9K1G08UOM-YCBO.

I also got a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 12 for new ram chips part number K4S561633F-XN75.

Anyone with an interest in these chips please post to this thread or PM me. Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Dec 14 2005, 04:55 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



Just to be clear, it takes 2 of these flash chips, so $40 to perform a 128mb flash upgrade to an SL-6000. Is that right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 15 2005, 03:16 PM
Post #40





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(bgsfh @ Dec 14 2005, 10:15 PM)
I have received a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 10 for referb flash chips part number K9K1G08UOM-YCBO. 

I also got a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 12 for new ram chips part number K4S561633F-XN75. 

Anyone with an interest in these chips please post to this thread or PM me.  Thank you.
*


I'm still interested - one of the K9, and two of the K4.

What do they mean by "refurb"? Are they devices which have simply been bought back as excess stock, but are they tested (can't afford to install them and find they're faulty).

Thanks for your efforts in this.

I would guess that to save postage and make life easy, we in the UK/Europe would block buy from you and redistribute ourselves.

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 15 2005, 03:18 PM
Post #41





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(DrWowe @ Dec 15 2005, 01:55 AM)
Just to be clear, it takes 2 of these flash chips, so $40 to perform a 128mb flash upgrade to an SL-6000.  Is that right?
*


No, Dr, the K9 is a flash chip, so you need 1. The K4 is a DRAM chip, and you'd add two.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Dec 15 2005, 04:08 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 15 2005, 05:18 PM)
No, Dr, the K9 is a flash chip, so you need 1. The K4 is a DRAM chip, and you'd add two.
*


I was asking because there are traces and contacts for 4 flash chips on the 6000 motherboard. Except for the 6000D, two of them are unsoldered. That would mean there are 32 megs on each chip.

Would it work soldering in just one more chip and having 3 total?

Or did I get something wrong about 6000 layout?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Dec 16 2005, 11:06 AM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(bgsfh @ Dec 14 2005, 01:15 PM)
I have received a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 10 for referb flash chips part number K9K1G08UOM-YCBO. 

I also got a quote of USD $20 per chip with a minimum order of 12 for new ram chips part number K4S561633F-XN75. 

Anyone with an interest in these chips please post to this thread or PM me.  Thank you.
*


Hello

IIRC we need uoa

k9k1g08uoa is different from uom - I can't guarantee anything with uom. Did you use my contact for the uoa one ? uoa is hard to find. uom is not too difficult.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zdave
post Dec 22 2005, 06:12 AM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-December 05
Member No.: 8,769



I asked a local lab if they could do the surface mount work for me and they said yes! They then asked me for the part numbers, so I gave them K9K1G08UOA and K4S561633F. They did not have
any in stock. They said their supplier has them in stock, but there are 12 units to a sleeve. They quoted me $20 USD each for flash and ram chips.

Has anyone ordered any replacement flash or ram chips for the SL-6000 yet? If yes, can I still get any? If not, I am willing to put a group buy together so I can get the parts I need.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 28 2005, 01:08 AM
Post #45





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Zdave @ Dec 22 2005, 03:12 PM)
I asked a local lab if they could do the surface mount work for me and they said yes!  They then asked me for the part numbers, so I gave them K9K1G08UOA and K4S561633F.  They did not have
any in stock.  They said their supplier has them in stock, but there are 12 units to a sleeve.  They quoted me $20 USD each for flash and ram chips.     

Has anyone ordered any replacement flash or ram chips for the SL-6000 yet?  If yes, can I still get any?  If not, I am willing to put a group buy together so I can get the parts I need.
*


Hi ZDave,
I'm sorry that people are so lax in getting back to you. If people are agreed, since you have found a supplier and "bgsfh" is having problems, we should take you up on your kind offer of help.

So you need 12 people to commit to buying flash upgrades, and six for DRAM, given you need one of the former and two of the latter.

I will commit to having one of the K9 flash chips, and two of the K4 DRAM chips, which completes the upgrade; gives a total of US$60 for the chips, and I will pay the going rate for shipping to the UK, plus some beer money for all your efforts.

thanks for all you time and patience!

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 02:25 PM