OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Do you need headphones??
vgermani
post Jan 8 2004, 05:48 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-January 04
Member No.: 1,339



Hi,

I just bought a referb 5500 and everything seems to be working fine so far but I'm starting to questions the sound.

I can open the volume application and enable sounds for keyclicks and everything. I can hear key clicks, etc. But when I open an mp3 in the media player there is no sound. I also have a guitar chord program that has a play button and hitting play doesn't produce any sound either. I'm looking for a set of headphones to see if it outputs via the headphone jack but is the sound supposed to also come out of the internal speaker?

Just wondering...
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
saiten
post Jan 8 2004, 06:23 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 384



Yep you need headphones.
But get a good set and your music files will be excellent
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stigger
post Jan 8 2004, 07:10 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 19-May 03
Member No.: 12



Yes
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vgermani
post Jan 8 2004, 07:46 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-January 04
Member No.: 1,339



Oops. I guess I should have read the FAQ (RTFM!!!). Sorry about that. Thanks for the reply. The headphones worked fine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 8 2004, 07:50 PM
Post #5





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



If you use OZ, you can get sound without headphones...kinda cool hack! Try it out!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 8 2004, 08:13 PM
Post #6





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



sound without headphones? how can that be enabled?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zenyatta
post Jan 9 2004, 01:55 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 366
Joined: 4-November 03
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 850



The latest stable version of OpenZaurus (3.2) has a driver which turns the internal buzzer into a normal sound output device. I've never used it myself so I cannot tell you how but you might want to check the FAQ section of http://www.openzaurus.org.

Most people use testing versions (3.3.5 and 3.3.6) which apparently do not include this driver. Make sure you work with 3.2.

Personally, I have doubts about the quality of the resulting sound. If the buzzer was up to the task this functionality would be enabled in the standard ROM imho. If anyone has experience please share.

z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dys
post Jan 9 2004, 05:32 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 2-December 03
Member No.: 1,026



I use OZ 3.2 and with xmms the buzzer is used to play music if no headphones are plugged in. The buzzer is able to reproduce ok music (i.e. you can make out the words of songs fine)at low volumes, but it distorts alot the louder it gets. This means to have undistorted playback the volume must be fairly low and so you can only hear it properly if you put the Z next to your ear smile.gif

Maybe not all that useful, but a sweet hack none the less !

dys
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 10:16 PM