OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tutorial: Pdaxrom On Sl-6000, Everything you want to know, and less!
jcabrer
post Aug 17 2005, 11:02 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,429



Updated for 1.1.0 Beta 1

First a disclaimer: I am not responsible for any damage caused by the advice I give. I do my best to give information that is helpful AND accurate, but hey, everybody makes mistakes now and then. This tutorial will address all of those questions that need answers as well as questions that need asking. A lot of this information can be found in other places, I may not always give credit to others, but it is by no means intentional.

Tutorial for SL-6000 owners wanting to run pdaXrom ( Starting with Katherin RC10 )

This tutorial assumes that you have already decided on or been coerced into installing pdaXrom on your "virgin" SL-6000.

Note: An SL-6000 (or any other Zaurus model for that matter) is considered a "Virgin" when it has never been touched by a ROM Distro other than the one given to it by Sharp. Of course some of you have taken the plunge already and maybe you went back to the original rom, but as we all know, without surgery, you can only be a virgin once.

Chapter 1 - Flashing your SL-6000 with pdaXrom Katherin RC10

There are various methods for accomplishing this. I will describe the only one that I have tried. Please remember, "Bricked" ain't just a river in Egypt! If you don't/can't pay attention to detailed instructions, stop reading this or get professional help.

Synopsis of the flashing procedure
1. Obtain the Guylhem ROM Distro for SL-6000 (This step is optional)
2. Obtain the pdaXrom Katherin RC10 distro for SL-6000
3. Perform the post-flash procedures
4. Test things out.

The Devil Is In The Details

One thing you should have before you begin is a 128Mb Compact Flash Card formated with windows FAT to hold the install files. You can probably do it with 64Mb, but I can't say that all the files will fit for both Guylhem and pdaXrom.

1. Obtain the Guylhem ROM Distro for SL-6000 (optional)

There is only one reason for installing the Guylhem ROM distro before pdaXrom. To make a long story short, there are misgivings about various ways or re-sizing the SL-6000 partitions, but some have found that installing Guylhem ROM does the resize as part of the install procedure. You can skip this step, and everything should still work fine, but it will cost you a bit of storage space. I'm not sure how much. My SL-6000 show a root partition size of 58368 1k-blocks. Any larger, and you risk overwriting the protions of NAND memory that store the routines that allow the Zaurus to be flashed and re-flashed, the result of which is "Bricked"!

Follow this link for Guylhem ROM installation instructions

You only need to go to step "E." Then you can come back here and continue.

2. Obtain the pdaXrom Katherin RC10 distro for SL-6000

This is the main event. After this you'll wonder why anyone runs anything but pdaXrom. Maybe. Maybe not.

Get the pdaXrom RC10 distro here

There is a nice howto here on installing pdaXrom on SL-6000, but it has steps which we will need to skip, so read it, but don't follow it (at least not all of it). Instead, do this:
(0)- Plug your SL-6000 into the external power cable. DO NOT FLASH YOUR ZAURUS USING BATTERY POWER!!!

(1)-Put these files on your card: You can download these 3 files from: http://212.10.30.205/rc10/Zaurus-SL6000/ka...n-rc10-tosa.zip

tools.tar
initrd.bin
updater.sh

(2)-Put your card on your Zaurus and push the reset button (found on the back of the unit) with the tip of your stylus. Now, hold the 'OK' button and push the 'ON' button.

(3)-You will see the "maintenance menu". Go to number 4 (update).

(4)-When your Zaurus reboots, you will see the pdaXrom installer!

You will be tempted to "Explore" these menus. Resist!

(5)-You will see the "maintenance menu". Go to number 4 (update).

(6)-When your Zaurus reboots and shows the pdaXrom installer, go to the first choice (Install new ROM), press OK, and wait...

Now pdaXrom is auto-installing

(7)-(This Step Removed)

(8)-When the installer returns to the main menu, select reboot and press OK.

(9)-Now pdaXrom is installed, let me explain to you how you can configure it.

3. Perform the post-flash procedures

The system should begin booting. You will notice a Bluish pdaXrom banner at the top of your screen, and scrolling text below.

The first boot will require a lot of time. This is because ssh needs to generate several keys. Very intense calculations... Don't get antsy. Just wait it out.

When the system is completely booted, you will be presented with the Login: prompt.

enter "root" and you will be at the command line.

Before doing anything else, do the following:
[TYPE]

tar --no-same-owner -xf /root/.home_default.tar

[PRESS ENTER]

This configures your X11 environment to look pretty. If you skip this, your X11 session will be impossible to use.

Now you are ready to

[TYPE]

startx

[PRESS ENTER]

Follow the screen calibration procedure

You are done!

If you screw up calibration, and can't get a workable X mouse after, reboot the Z
and run ts_calibrate after logging in as root.


4. Test things out.


Have a look around. Pretty isn't it? There are monsters lurking in dark corners, but we will bring them into the light for you to play with.

Chapter 2 - Networking

Before we start installing all kinds of good things, we need to address some issues that will make life easier.

0. Fix some annoying power control problems.
1. Get WIFI working.
2. Get USB Cradle Networking working.
3. Get a local feed going for installs using Apache Web Server

First off, let me just say that Suspend works ok on the SL-6000. It's when you wake up that you may have a headache. I'll give a detailed fix for this later, but for now we will implement a quick temporary fix.

Open the Light and Power management and set the Suspend and Screen Off values to Zero (0) for both Battery and AC Power. That's it.

Ok. On to the wireless. In its current state, RC10 Wireless networking cannot be enabled using the GUI utilities. For those of you who don't know how to use the console or vi, I appologize, but this is not a tutorial for that.

For this example I need a few things in advance.

Wireless Router:
SSID or ESSID = ECHO
Router IP Address = 192.168.200.1 (or 192.168.0.1, or 192.168.1.1, or what ever your router happens to be)

edit the file /etc/wlan/wlan.conf

and locate the following line:

SSID_wlan0=""""

change to:

SSID_wlan0="ECHO" (or whatever you Router SSID is)

That's it. Save the file and move on.

# cp /etc/wlan/wlancfg-DEFAULT /etc/wlan/wlancfg-ECHO

create a new file called wifiup in your home directory

#cd (gets you to /home/root)
#vi wifiup

Add the following and save the file:

killall dhcpcd
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
dhcpcd wlan0
ifconfig

Once the file is saved, make it executable, and create a symlink in /usr/bin

# chmod 755 ./wifiup
# ln -s /home/root/wifiup /usr/bin/wifiup

Now you can activate wireless by typing wifiup

Similarly, you could create a file called wifidown with the following content to disable wireless

killall dhcpcd
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan stop
ifconfig

again

# chmod 755 ./wifidown
# ln -s /home/root/wifiup /usr/bin/wifidown

Later we might create icons to do this, but probably this will be fixed in the next release.

Now that wireless is working (It should be working), we can set up the Package manager to install from a remote feed. We want to do this because we need Apache for our local feed, and X11vnc because typing all this stuff on that little keyboard is getting harder and harder.

If you open the Package Manager and look at the settings tab, you will see that there is a feed already there. Remove it.

In the New Feed: type

http://212.10.30.205/rc10/Zaurus-SL6000/feed

and click the Add button. Then add

http://www.pdaxrom.org/unstable

if you want the unstable feed.

A word about installing on SD and CF cards. By default, the Package Manager wants to install everything on the root partition. This partition only has about 25Mb free, so you want to avoid installing there unless you really have to. If you install there by accident, you can always uninstall and try again.

There are 3 packages that I know of that MUST be installed to /. They are Apache, MySQL Server, Apache PHP Module, Jikes Java Compiler, and the Java Classes. With those exceptions, everything else I have installed can go on the SD or CF cards...

Well, not exactly. You see, I have a 1Gb SD with and ext2 partition, and a 1Gb CF with vFAT partition. The CF card is fine for holding things like files of all kinds (tar.gz, mp3/ogg, wav, txt, pdaXrom installation stuff, feed files), but it bombs when you try and extract most tar.gz files to it. That's where the SD card comes in handy. The ext2 partition never complains. You can install IPKs there all day long, and for the most part they will create their own symlinks on the root.

Coming in Chapter 2, 3, 4, 5...

-Setting up Apache on your SL-6000 so you don't have to get you software from remote feeds.

-Configuring your local feed

-Getting WIFI working

-Getting USB Cradle Network Link Working

-Fixing Direction pad so that it correctly adapts to a rotated screen.

-Adding a second rotation button for opposite direction

-Mounting network drives from Windows PCs

-Installing a working development environment
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Aug 17 2005, 11:16 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



I think we found a maintainer for the SL6000 section of the new and upcomming pdaXrom site :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 17 2005, 12:00 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



very nice.

this bit "tar --no-same-owner -xf /root/.home_default.tar" was something i didn't know about. My experience had been that installing from sharprom to pdax left insufficient space for some of the stuff that is supposed to go into home, or home/root (or so it seemed to me) I went to the guylhem rom for partitioning because of this. Using Guylhem's partitioning the tar stuff wasn't needed (unless i've got some kind of reproduceable mutation? unnoticed horrible error?) afaik. -- in case that is useful info.

as far as pdax 6k how to stuff.....

maybe an external keyboard/mouse section? The mouse issue is solved on another thread (and should be incorporated), but I, at least, am having a hell of a time getting external keyboards going. usb is partially there..and ir seems beyond me.

Also, maybe a section on useable bluetooth usb dongles (since the 6000l is the prevalent type, and few of them are likley to be modded for internal BT)?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jcabrer
post Aug 17 2005, 12:17 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,429



I'll take requests if you would like to have things answered here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 17 2005, 12:25 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



er.... any luck with ir keyboards, usb keymaps and usb BT dongles?


blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antoniovf
post Aug 19 2005, 04:17 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 4-August 04
Member No.: 4,197



Please can you explain where We have to write the IP? You say that It's needed the IP but you d'ont write the IP in any place...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rip
post Aug 19 2005, 08:18 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 7-October 04
Member No.: 4,916



whaouuuu, great stuf coming for our lovely 6000L
thnks guys for that.

first quick read seems to be very difficult but i'll make it a try later on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Aug 19 2005, 08:30 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Is it really possible to skip the repartition? I don't care about the loss of internal storage, as I already run most of my applications from the SD card. Or isn't this possible in pdaXrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Aug 19 2005, 03:15 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



Procedure worked for me, and my new (used) SL-6000.

I got confused for a minute though, as it seems that step 3 and 5 are the same...

Anyway, everything is working fine, thanks for posting these simple steps.

John

[UPDATE] - OK, if / has 0 bytes free, how can /var/log/messages be appended to? ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 19 2005, 04:22 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



/ should't be that low. move stuff to sd. OR reflash, reinstall the sdcard fix do ipkg-link mount /mnt/card then look in your pacage manager and reinstall anything missing, but this time to sd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Aug 19 2005, 06:01 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



I forgot to mention, (Sorry), that I did not install the guyhelm ROM
first to "repartition". I simply took what I believe is a virgin 6000
[ term was not even installed smile.gif , and followed the other parts of
the procedure.

I'm not sure if this matters in regard to this issue, but I figured I'd
mention it. Offhand, since I did not install any packages after the
install, what will a reflash buy me? I did not keep a record of what
"df" showed immediately after the ROM install.

Oh darn, I just got back from an errand, and I resumed, and can't
change X focus, although the X cursor moves. Hmm, I remember
seeing a "more detailed" resume fix mentioned in the intro to that tutorial,
but never saw the instructions, I'll have to look right now!

Oh yeh, what SD card fix? I just scanned this thread but don't see it.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 19 2005, 06:13 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



the sd card fix is in the feed... just lok for sd after you update.
I use the G-Rom method and have 27 megs free after a fresh install. I guess a reflash might not help you much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Aug 20 2005, 01:52 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



@ miskinis: So you skipped the repartition and it didn't work properly?

@ everyone: If I flashed to guylhem a few weeks ago and then flashed back to the v1.12 Sharp ROM, does that count as having repartitioned the internal flash?

I'm really, really keen to install pdaXrom but I'd like it to work more or less right off the bat without all the preliminary fixes. Knowing that the SD card drivers have to be corrected makes me particularly apprehensive, because I want to put as little as possible on the internal flash. Can't Laze stick these few lines of code into the 6000 RC10 (or maybe RC11, when it's out) flash files?

I'd also like to know about Mac compatibility if one of you intrepid souls has any info to share. Right now I can access the Z in the cradle through a Samba mount or via FTP. Are there similar -- better, even -- options with pdaXrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Aug 20 2005, 07:18 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



QUOTE(eji @ Aug 20 2005, 09:52 AM)
@ miskinis: So you skipped the repartition and it didn't work properly?


Hi, Yes, I skipped the repartitioning. I was up and running pdaXrom, and
almost everything seemed to work, but of course / had 0 bytes free, so I
doubt the system would be OK for very long.

Last night, I spent quite a bit of time finding the instructions to revert back
to the stock ROM. I was a little nervous in the diagnostic menu, but had
to use it's update function to get back to a known good point.

JOhn
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 20 2005, 08:37 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



eji;
if you used guylhem rom you repartitioned.
The sd card stuff is no biggie. just install the sdcard package before you start putting stuff on sd
If you do restore original sharprom, then flash to guylhem rom then flash to pdax, then install the sdcard fix, it should all work just fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th December 2014 - 11:15 PM