OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Probs With Oz 3.5.4 On Collie Sl-5500?
Xplorer
post May 31 2006, 07:57 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 20-May 06
Member No.: 9,924



Hi,

I have an SL-5500, originally with Sharp ROM. Then I reflashed it with Cacko, worked OK. I tried pdaXrom, did not work OK, never got past the "empty folders" stage. Now I tried to flash it with OZ 3.5.4.

The installation process worked OK. The system came up and everything was fine until I started to install other software on my machine. The stage called "Linking packages installed in: sd" (I install on the SD) gives me following errors:
Error linking '/media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html' to '/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html'

This is not just one error, but _LOADS_ of them! Probably one such error for every file copied to SD while installing Opera.

How do I proceed from here? I tried and retried installing OZ over and over again, the errors remain. I tried to install some other ipk's with the result that the standard menus got foobar, up to the point when I had duplicate entries and almost none of the apps on the menus worked anymore.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks /ZJ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 31 2006, 08:08 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
Error linking '/media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html' to '/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html'


Some errors happen naturally - for example if the file it's trying to link already exists.

How much space do you have on / ? (use 'df')

It may be that you've run out of space and that's messing things up.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xplorer
post May 31 2006, 08:38 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 20-May 06
Member No.: 9,924



QUOTE(lardman @ May 31 2006, 06:08 PM)
QUOTE
Error linking '/media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html' to '/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html'


Some errors happen naturally - for example if the file it's trying to link already exists.

How much space do you have on / ? (use 'df')

It may be that you've run out of space and that's messing things up.


Si
*



Let's see:

The file/link /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html does not exist, in fact not even /opt/QtPalmtop/opera directory exists. The file /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html exists and there is nothing wrong with it. I noticed that when I try to create a link to the index.html file (or any other file in any other writeable place) I cannot do "ln", but I must use "ln -sf". Is that the problem?

Usable space: Package Manager reported something like 1300+ k free, df reports 1356k free - so I believe there is a little more than 1M free. It's why I install on SD. Hmmmm...

/ZJ

P.S. Just to clarify: I am a total novice as far as Unix/Linux are concerned and thus I hope I make a very trivial mistake somewhere, somehow... D.S.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xplorer
post May 31 2006, 09:43 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 20-May 06
Member No.: 9,924



QUOTE(Xplorer @ May 31 2006, 06:38 PM)
QUOTE(lardman @ May 31 2006, 06:08 PM)
QUOTE
Error linking '/media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html' to '/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html'


Some errors happen naturally - for example if the file it's trying to link already exists.

How much space do you have on / ? (use 'df')

It may be that you've run out of space and that's messing things up.


Si
*



Let's see:

The file/link /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html does not exist, in fact not even /opt/QtPalmtop/opera directory exists. The file /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start/index.html exists and there is nothing wrong with it. I noticed that when I try to create a link to the index.html file (or any other file in any other writeable place) I cannot do "ln", but I must use "ln -sf". Is that the problem?

Usable space: Package Manager reported something like 1300+ k free, df reports 1356k free - so I believe there is a little more than 1M free. It's why I install on SD. Hmmmm...

/ZJ

P.S. Just to clarify: I am a total novice as far as Unix/Linux are concerned and thus I hope I make a very trivial mistake somewhere, somehow... D.S.
*



In my desperation I did:
# mkdir /opt/QtPalmtop/opera
# mkdir /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/start

Now I do not get errors from the installation, but the software still does not work. The error text is now (I recovered the error text by starting opera from command prompt):
opera: symbol lookup error: opera: undefined symbol: _7QString.shared_null

Some libraries missing or in wrong version? Again' I don't know anything about Linux, so it is just a wild guess...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jun 1 2006, 05:20 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Hmm, I can't see why it wouldn't link the file. I don't suppose your SD card is formated as vfat (rather than ext2 which is recommend)?

The _7QString.shared_null error may be to do with needing to use the compat libs. Are you using them?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Jun 1 2006, 05:29 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(lardman @ Jun 1 2006, 01:20 PM)
The _7QString.shared_null error may be to do with needing to use the compat libs. Are you using them?
*


i sure hope not: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.handhe...aurus.devel/825
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jun 1 2006, 06:18 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Good point (I've not used them for a long while).

Thanks for the reminder Koen,

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
x86Daddy
post Jun 6 2006, 12:09 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Memphis
Member No.: 1,558



QUOTE(koen @ Jun 1 2006, 07:29 AM)
QUOTE(lardman @ Jun 1 2006, 01:20 PM)
The _7QString.shared_null error may be to do with needing to use the compat libs. Are you using them?
*


i sure hope not: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.handhe...aurus.devel/825
*



Whoa! I was just redoing a 3.5.4 install and noticed I couldn't find the compat libs package to install anymore. The problem is, a *lot* of cool / useful apps are stuck in the lost zone a this point. No more ZFCEU, Opera, Hancom, ZEthereal, Jeode everything, NetHack, Qtella, Qtopia Gnuboy...

I'm guessing this is why my previous installations were also getting corrupted / fubared, but wow, that's a lot of apps to kiss goodbye. Does anyone have suggested alternatives to these that run decently with OZ3.5.4 / OPIE? Konq is okay compared to Opera. Most new emulators run in landscape, which means unusable for the U.S. Zaurus models. Is there another JVM buried in the latest feed that I don't know about?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Jun 21 2006, 11:16 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



I was getting alot of linking errors too whenusing the package manager in Opie so I tried installing from the command line and no more problems. The command goes like this:

ipkg install <package name> -d <destination>
where package name is the name of the package to install ie: prboom, nmap, opie remote, etc.

After the install is complete you need to run the command:

ipkg-link add <package name> in order to get the softeare to run.

Hope this helps. Ciao
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 21 2006, 04:16 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



3.5.4.1 is released biggrin.gif ... Hentges Rom 3.5.4.1 T1 Final Release Available, For Collie & Akita, Bootstrap, Opie, GPE http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=20093&hl=
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Jun 21 2006, 11:15 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



Snappy: its Hentegs 3.5.4.1 not OZ.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 22 2006, 01:50 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



QUOTE(Hrw @ Jun 22 2006, 03:15 PM)
Snappy: its Hentegs 3.5.4.1 not OZ.
*


oh yes, its Henteges ... as indicated in my earlier post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jun 22 2006, 01:59 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
No more ZFCEU, Opera, Hancom, ZEthereal, Jeode everything, NetHack, Qtella, Qtopia Gnuboy...


Well sort of, Opera, Jeode and the Hancom apps are closed source, and ZFCEU appears to have vanished off the face of the earth, but source is available for ZEthereal, NetHack, Qtella and Qtopia Gnuboy, so there's no reason why someone can't add them to OE and build compatible versions.

There are also alternative web browsers and wordprocessors, spreadsheets, and also JVMs (afaik), already in OE, so all is not lost.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Jun 22 2006, 02:36 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



X86Daddy: http://www.hrw.one.pl/2006/06/08/users-and...d-applications/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zedkatuf2
post Jun 22 2006, 05:29 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 6-March 05
Member No.: 6,578



QUOTE(koen @ Jun 1 2006, 02:29 PM)
QUOTE(lardman @ Jun 1 2006, 01:20 PM)
The _7QString.shared_null error may be to do with needing to use the compat libs. Are you using them?
*


i sure hope not: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.handhe...aurus.devel/825
*




I was using the compat libs under 3.5.4.1-rc2 (hentges) to run several apps, including Jeode, Opera, milkytracker & TextMaker. I know in theory there are GPL/OSS equivalents, but I'm not sure, for example, if I'd ever have gotten ImageJ to work with an alternative JVM, though I suspect given enough fiddling I might. Opera's ability to resize images & display the text nicely within the confines of the 240x320 display was very useful, and it crashed alot less than the konquerer web browser. I say was, as I've finally sold my collie for a 3200.

Maybe it's time I just switched to gpe once the 3200 arrives smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 09:28 AM