OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dumb Question About New 3200..., internal memory ipk install?
tombraider
post Jan 20 2007, 03:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



Hi,

Just got a new c3200 from conics.net and all is well except a couple things:

I'm so lame that I can't figure out how to install ipks to the internal memory. The installation software just has options to install to the Program memory and cf or sd. Do I have to create a partition or something?

I'm installing everything to the Program memory for the moment and will ultimately run out of space. I want to use all that lovely 6 GBs for programs! How do I do this?

Also, a lot of the preinstalled apps have squares instead of English letters. Is there a font I need to install?

Thanks in advance. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 20 2007, 06:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(tombraider @ Jan 20 2007, 06:00 PM)
Hi,

Just got a new c3200 from conics.net and all is well except a couple things:

I'm so lame that I can't figure out how to install ipks to the internal memory. The installation software just has options to install to the Program memory and cf or sd.  Do I have to create a partition or something?

I'm installing everything to the Program memory for the moment and will ultimately run out of space.  I want to use all that lovely 6 GBs for programs!  How do I do this?

Also, a lot of the preinstalled apps have squares instead of English letters.  Is there a font I need to install?

Thanks in advance.  laugh.gif
*


There may be a config file for the package manager that you could edit to add in the microdrive.

As a messy temporary solution, you could mount a partition of your hard drive on /mnt/cf so the apps installed to the "CF card" would actually go on the microdrive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 21 2007, 01:08 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



Sharp ROM and Cacko treat the SL-C3200 as well as the SL-C3100 just like they were a SL-C1000. The Package Manager only allows you to install to internal flash or external SD/CF card. The internal MicroDrive is ignored for package installations. You need to use the command line ipkg command to install to internal MicroDrive, however, many packages will not work unless they are installed on internal flash...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jan 21 2007, 05:19 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



Thanks for the info...what would be the command line to use...I'm still Linux illiterate. :-( Or is there a web page which explains how to do this?

I more or less know the packages that require internal memory install from my C1000 experience and, amazingly, there are not that many. Some "complain" but you can still do symlinks and get them to work outside the internal.

Would the command line be:
ipkg -d /hdd3 install packagename



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 21 2007, 05:08 AM)
Sharp ROM and Cacko treat the SL-C3200 as well as the SL-C3100 just like they were a SL-C1000. The Package Manager only allows you to install to internal flash or external SD/CF card. The internal MicroDrive is ignored for package installations. You need to use the command line ipkg command to install to internal MicroDrive, however, many packages will not work unless they are installed on internal flash...
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 21 2007, 07:14 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



That should be correct as long as /hdd3 is where your microdrive is mounted and you have a feed set up, otherwise you need to add in the full path and filename of the package.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Jan 22 2007, 05:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Could try KTrove

Its a utility to move a package once its been installed. Needs Opie-SH to run (QT dialogs for your Bash scripts)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jan 22 2007, 08:41 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



Wow, thanks, craigtyson! That works great. I've only tried one app so far but it worked great. I moved Corsair, a podcast aggregator, to the hdd3...now I can download tons of podcasts and not worry about the size.

I printed out your instructions for future use.

The link is Ktrove. Great app.

edit: Whoops, spoke too soon. KTrove DID create the Corsair files in the hdd3 folder BUT it recreates the folder in the /home/zaurus/ folder when it is run and refers to that folder to run. I registered and activated as in the directions.
Oh, well, I'll keep tinkering with it in case I can get it to work.

edit2: I just created the symlinks from the hdd3 drive to /home/zaurus/ myself. AT least KTrove does the heavy lifting of MOVING the files. I need to find the config file and add the path /hdd3/ to the list though...I have to add the path each time by hand...okay, I'm lazy. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Jan 22 2007, 09:21 AM)
Could try KTrove

Its a utility to move a package once its been installed.  Needs Opie-SH to run (QT dialogs for your Bash scripts)
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Jan 22 2007, 10:09 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



I used to use KTrove alot on my 5500. It used to create the symlinks without any problems.

I used to have to restart QT occasionaly after moving (and activating)an app though.

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jan 22 2007, 03:02 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I may be very wrong about this as I've not used a Sharp-derived image for a long long time....

You might try using/modifying (it's only a script) ipkg-link as used by OpenZaurus. This allows you to install anywhere, then create symlinks as if the package were installed to /, something similar is used in PdaXrom.

Also take a look in /etc/ipkg.conf (assuming this is the same file that the Sharp-based images use to decide on the installation locations).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 22 2007, 09:46 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(lardman @ Jan 23 2007, 09:02 AM)
I may be very wrong about this as I've not used a Sharp-derived image for a long long time....

You might try using/modifying (it's only a script) ipkg-link as used by OpenZaurus. This allows you to install anywhere, then create symlinks as if the package were installed to /, something similar is used in PdaXrom.

Also take a look in /etc/ipkg.conf (assuming this is the same file that the Sharp-based images use to decide on the installation locations).


Si
*


The ipkg in Sharp ROM is a bit dodgy imho. It does not do the same thing as the GUI Package Manager which installs the package to the selected media and creates symbolic links. ipkg recreates the entire directory structure to the destination location without automatically linking the libraries so they cannot be found in the library search path. anyway, I didn't like its default behaviour so I created xipk which mimics what the GUI Package Manager does but works from the command line (but it does not resolve dependencies automatically)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jan 22 2007, 10:16 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 23 2007, 01:46 PM)
QUOTE(lardman @ Jan 23 2007, 09:02 AM)
I may be very wrong about this as I've not used a Sharp-derived image for a long long time....

You might try using/modifying (it's only a script) ipkg-link as used by OpenZaurus. This allows you to install anywhere, then create symlinks as if the package were installed to /, something similar is used in PdaXrom.

Also take a look in /etc/ipkg.conf (assuming this is the same file that the Sharp-based images use to decide on the installation locations).


Si
*


The ipkg in Sharp ROM is a bit dodgy imho. It does not do the same thing as the GUI Package Manager which installs the package to the selected media and creates symbolic links. ipkg recreates the entire directory structure to the destination location without automatically linking the libraries so they cannot be found in the library search path. anyway, I didn't like its default behaviour so I created xipk which mimics what the GUI Package Manager does but works from the command line (but it does not resolve dependencies automatically)
*



hmm ... I knew something had to be missing ... ohmy.gif

tome ... congrats on your new 3200! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 08:33 AM