OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Rom 1.23 Beta1 For 3k Ready To Use?, now or later?
tecks
post May 26 2005, 11:18 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 13-May 05
Member No.: 7,123



Hi,
for it´s no question that I will use the cackorom in the next future - but thought I havn´t much time in the moment for installing and playing around I have a few questions to the Cacko ROM 1.23 beta1 for 3k users and creators:

Is it ready to use produktivly?
Is there a date in sight when th first non-beta version will be out?
Will a Backup from the beta1 version work for the next version or do I have to install/personalize again?

Thanks alot,
Ulli
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wiredog
post May 27 2005, 03:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 6,652



I've been using it for a couple of weeks here at work and it's great! It is a beta, and thus a bit flaky, but still highly usable. Actually, the only bug we ran across was that the Konsole sometimes doesn't want to start. Just keep trying and eventually it runs.

Personally, I think it's better than the stock Sharp ROM, and certainly less buggy than the OpenZaurus ROM. I think that, by midsummer, OZ and Cacko will both be out of beta and either will be preferable to the Sharp ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The_Poet
post May 28 2005, 04:40 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Daegu, South Korea
Member No.: 6,523



QUOTE(wiredog @ May 27 2005, 04:53 AM)
I've been using it for a couple of weeks here at work and it's great!  It is a beta, and thus a bit flaky, but still highly usable.  Actually, the only bug we ran across was that the Konsole sometimes doesn't want to start.  Just keep trying and eventually it runs.

Personally, I think it's better than the stock Sharp ROM, and certainly less buggy than the OpenZaurus ROM.  I think that, by midsummer, OZ and Cacko will both be out of beta and either will be preferable to the Sharp ROM.
*


OK, I have a question, as I am probably doing something wrong. I tried to install the Beta1 release a few days ago...it got to a portion of the install and then it locked up. I tried to get it to continue but it wouldn't. At that point, it wouldn't do anything. It wouldn't continue, it wouldn't enter the reset screen, it stayed at the same spot even when I pressed OK + on, it wouldn't give me the options in Japanese to install a new ROM...nothing!

Finally, I took the CF card out, put the Sharp ROM into it, then reinserted the CF...after I took the battery out and then pressing OK + On, it finally went into the option screen and I reinstalled the Sharp ROM. It is back to original specs.

But I know I must have done something wrong, even though I followed the instructions....any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 28 2005, 04:55 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(The_Poet @ May 28 2005, 12:40 PM)
QUOTE(wiredog @ May 27 2005, 04:53 AM)
I've been using it for a couple of weeks here at work and it's great!  It is a beta, and thus a bit flaky, but still highly usable.  Actually, the only bug we ran across was that the Konsole sometimes doesn't want to start.  Just keep trying and eventually it runs.

Personally, I think it's better than the stock Sharp ROM, and certainly less buggy than the OpenZaurus ROM.  I think that, by midsummer, OZ and Cacko will both be out of beta and either will be preferable to the Sharp ROM.
*


OK, I have a question, as I am probably doing something wrong. I tried to install the Beta1 release a few days ago...it got to a portion of the install and then it locked up. I tried to get it to continue but it wouldn't. At that point, it wouldn't do anything. It wouldn't continue, it wouldn't enter the reset screen, it stayed at the same spot even when I pressed OK + on, it wouldn't give me the options in Japanese to install a new ROM...nothing!

Finally, I took the CF card out, put the Sharp ROM into it, then reinserted the CF...after I took the battery out and then pressing OK + On, it finally went into the option screen and I reinstalled the Sharp ROM. It is back to original specs.

But I know I must have done something wrong, even though I followed the instructions....any suggestions?
*




If by any chance you used updater.sh from the Sharp ROM and not the updater.sh from the Cacko ROM then yes you will get this.

I documented a bug in the installer.sh from Sharp and fixed it. This is documented on the Wiki.

On the note of Beta to Final release works I would say that no, it is unlikely that a Backup from Beta1 will work on the Final ROM.. There will be a Beta2 incorporating a lot of new stuff when Anton is ready with the C1000 stuff and I will also rearrange the /home structure to be all on hdd2. I do, however, use Beta1 as my 'production ready' environment at the moment and it is certainly stable enough for all the things that I do with it.

- Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markpmc
post May 28 2005, 08:00 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 16-December 03
Member No.: 1,089



As mentioned above, it's a beta. It does flake out from time to time when playing games. But I haven't experienced any sanafu's using pi/ko and pi/ka during normal pda use.

My wireless network is down for now so I can't speak to any wi-fi issues.

markpmc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The_Poet
post May 29 2005, 02:28 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Daegu, South Korea
Member No.: 6,523



Got to give credit where credit is due...

So, after reading this thread and the one where it discusses Cacko installation and use, I decided to try it again. This time, I noticed that, as meticulous as I was, I did not clear the Zaurus before trying to install the Beta 1.23. This time I did, and it worked perfectly...the installation was a success, except for one thing. In the read me file it says to reset or zero-out after the ROM has been installed...this was ambiguously written. It should state that you need to do this as soon as the Cacko screen comes up and before it comes up with the calibration screen. I waited as long as it kept telling me to wait for the next screen before I attempted to do the reset (OK menu = 3 + 1) and I ran into problems, such as the "won't turn off" problem I read about on the other thread.

It works, and it works well.

Poet
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
euroclie
post May 29 2005, 10:00 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 205
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 6,125



QUOTE(The_Poet @ May 29 2005, 12:28 PM)
It should state that you need to do this as soon as the Cacko screen comes up and before it comes up with the calibration screen. I waited as long as it kept telling me to wait for the next screen before I attempted to do the reset (OK menu = 3 + 1) and I ran into problems, such as the "won't turn off" problem I read about on the other thread.

As for me, every time I had to install the Cacko ROM, I booted normally after the first install phase, and when back to the normal Qtopia launcher screen, I chose the "reboot" menu (and pressed the OK key during the whole reboot to get to the system menu afterward), and everything was fine.

I don't think you really "have to" bypass the calibration screen, date screen, etc. as long as you do not try to actually use your Zaurus before the second phase of installation. It's just that if you try to, some things will not work (and you might possibly break other things, I don't know for sure)...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 10:33 PM