OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hitachi 4gb Cf, trouble using this
joegoose
post Mar 6 2006, 08:50 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 21-December 05
Member No.: 8,766



I have a C1000 and have recently purchased a 4gb Hitachi Microdrive (3.81 available)

I am using it in under Qtopia 1.5.4 as supplied by Figlabs.

Initially I was able to see the drive in File Manager, and copy files to it but not save them directly from the Hancom applications (I checked it was 777)

Then I changed the partition table to 2 x 1.91GB drives.

When I put the CF card in the Zaurus, it mounted the first partition which worked wonderfully in Qtopia (including Hancom) but I could neither mount nor see the second partition.

I am happy with having the drive split, but would appreciate help on how to recognise the second partition.

Incidentally, I am also a victim of the 2GB SD limit, and I am thinking of partitioning this card to 1.9 + 0.1. so info on mounting the second partition of that would also be useful

Bless you all,

JB rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Mar 6 2006, 10:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Make sure you have the second partition in the fstab. Also make sure you have a mount point made in the /mnt folder. Basically just copy what the fstab has for the drive, I think it shows as /dev/hda1, so make a /dev/hda2, and make a directory in /mnt as /mnt/hda2. This is all off the top of my head, so I'm not 100% sure, but this should point you in the right direction.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joegoose
post Mar 6 2006, 11:22 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 21-December 05
Member No.: 8,766



many thanks, I will test this and let you know

Jonathan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joegoose
post Mar 6 2006, 11:46 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 21-December 05
Member No.: 8,766



I tried to do this,

basically the entries in /mnt are just links to files in /usr/mnt.rom,

I cannot add a cf2 directory as it is telling me it is a read-only file system and it iwll not let me chmod

help

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Mar 6 2006, 01:15 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(joegoose @ Mar 6 2006, 10:46 AM)
I tried to do this,

basically the entries in /mnt are just links to files in /usr/mnt.rom,

I cannot add a cf2 directory as it is telling me it is a read-only file system and it iwll not let me chmod

help

thanks
*



That's wierd, I put a /mnt/usbstorage on mine. Maybe remount root as read write?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joegoose
post Mar 6 2006, 01:50 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 21-December 05
Member No.: 8,766



QUOTE(BarryW @ Mar 6 2006, 09:15 PM)
QUOTE(joegoose @ Mar 6 2006, 10:46 AM)
I tried to do this,

basically the entries in /mnt are just links to files in /usr/mnt.rom,

I cannot add a cf2 directory as it is telling me it is a read-only file system and it iwll not let me chmod

help

thanks
*



That's wierd, I put a /mnt/usbstorage on mine. Maybe remount root as read write?
*



I would need to be walked through how to do that, as I am not so au fait with Linux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 07:08 AM