OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hsdpa Modem ?, Huawei E220 HSDPA USB Modem
jpmatrix
post Mar 13 2007, 03:33 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



hello

i'm thinking about a umts/hsdpa modem for my zaurus.
as all CF modems are only gprs, i'm thinking about an USB HSDPA modem :

http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/products/view.do?id=282

do you think this can work with the zaurus, i mean about power consumtion and modem drivers ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 13 2007, 03:15 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



as far as I know, these should work as they also work on Mac OSX; I think they behave as some sort of USB serial device.

there's a good chance you'd need more usb power, but a battery powered hub might suffice?

maybe you can get to borrow one to evaluate, if so, please do let us know what happens!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 3 2007, 10:45 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Mar 13 2007, 04:33 AM)
hello

i'm thinking about a umts/hsdpa modem for my zaurus.
as all CF modems are only gprs, i'm thinking about an USB HSDPA modem :

http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/products/view.do?id=282

do you think this can work with the zaurus, i mean about power consumtion and modem drivers ?
*

There is no info on that page about power requirements. Contact mftr before you buy to find out and compare to the known power output of your CF slot.

On my sl5500, I run a standard CF dialup modem, and am wondering if it is true that all CF modems are gprs. I couldn't get clear info googling it.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jul 5 2007, 04:15 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



hey
i've just found this new one :

http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/product/connec...duct/index.html

Softbank CF HSDPA card !
Compatible OS : Zaurus !

now we've to find it and discover if it is usable out of japan wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 5 2007, 09:16 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii. And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jul 5 2007, 11:22 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(sdjf @ Jul 5 2007, 07:16 PM)
It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii.  And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
*


i think (i hope?) CD drivers are only for the non linux OS, windows like, you know? wink.gif

i think we should contact them in order to be sure of what we need...

i also don't like the sentence "Service Area : C01SI is for use in Japan Only."...what do they mean by that???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nodens
post Jul 5 2007, 12:56 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Grenoble, France
Member No.: 2,773



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jul 5 2007, 09:22 PM)
QUOTE(sdjf @ Jul 5 2007, 07:16 PM)
It only specifically mentions the "Zaurus SL-C3000" with a vague reference to "Other PDAs".

Also says it requires a "CD-ROM drive" to prepare operating environment for C01S".

So may only be compatible with certain Zaurii.  And I don't really understand what it is, both a modem and the drivers?

sdjf
*


i think (i hope?) CD drivers are only for the non linux OS, windows like, you know? wink.gif

i think we should contact them in order to be sure of what we need...

i also don't like the sentence "Service Area : C01SI is for use in Japan Only."...what do they mean by that???
*



on http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/support/after/...c701/index.html the present the VC701SI, a CF type II card with PC card adapter, and it is clearly stated that "VC701SI can be used overseas"

Update :
on seiko compatibility list they say " *The utility software for Zaurus is not offered. Please make connection from the dial-up in Zaurus. For details, please see the instructions of SL-C3000, or ask SHARP corporation."

That tends to imply that the card is seen as a serial device, wich mean it's probably recognized on all rom smile.gif

<awaken dream>I wonder if I could get one and use my work Orange Business 3G access for using it when I'm on on-call team duty shift... </awaken dream>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 5 2007, 03:31 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



At http://www.sii.co.jp/vc/text/e/slc700_set.html, they include an instruction to:


' Select "Obtain DNS server address
automatically" option in the "DNS
Server Settings" screen...'

As a regular dial-up user with a standard CF modem, I had LOTS of trouble with timing out when I tried connecting to my ISP, using automatic DNS address detection.

If you are using dialup, this is a heads up that putting in a precise DNS address (which I obtained from Customer Support at my ISP in the U.S.), made a HUGE difference in my ability to get online.

They just talk about being SL series compatible. Another heads up is that if you use a CF modem and respawning of ttyS0 happening, getting online can be a bear on Qtopia-based ROMs (Sharp, Cacko, etc). See my writeup about disabling respawning of ttyS0 at:

http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com/respawn.html

I was writing a script to automate disabling/enabling, but stopped working on it, not knowing if there was interest. Let me know if you want me to finish debugging it.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post Jul 5 2007, 11:50 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jul 6 2007, 03:04 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(merli @ Jul 6 2007, 09:50 AM)
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
*


could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jul 6 2007, 03:16 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(nodens @ Jul 5 2007, 10:56 PM)
<awaken dream>I wonder if I could get one and use my work Orange Business 3G access for using it when I'm on on-call team duty shift... </awaken dream>


we have the same dream, with the same provider, in the same country wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 6 2007, 05:49 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jul 6 2007, 04:04 AM)
QUOTE(merli @ Jul 6 2007, 09:50 AM)
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
*


could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please smile.gif
*



What language is that in? Translation engine I use needs to be told before it will work.

Thanks,
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post Jul 8 2007, 02:22 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



QUOTE(sdjf @ Jul 6 2007, 03:49 PM)
QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jul 6 2007, 04:04 AM)
QUOTE(merli @ Jul 6 2007, 09:50 AM)
Regarding Huawei look here. http://www.kanoistika.sk/bobovsky/archiv/umts/ I am using this modem on ubuntu and with fix working great. I did not try it on my C1000 yet.
*


could you plug into your Zaurus to try it and tell us if it works ? please smile.gif
*



What language is that in? Translation engine I use needs to be told before it will work.

Thanks,
sdjf
*



It is in SLovak language :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Aug 7 2007, 11:49 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



I am trying to use the Huawei e220 on my C1000 (cack0 lite). lsusb recognises the device and I get a /dev/ttyUSB0 device. How do I setup a network connection to use it ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Aug 8 2007, 04:29 AM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Aug 8 2007, 08:49 AM)
I am trying to use the Huawei e220 on my C1000 (cack0 lite).  lsusb recognises the device and I get a /dev/ttyUSB0 device.  How do I setup a network connection to use it ?
*


you should be able to treat is a just another serial device; as root check if the /dev/modem device exists and if not make a link

CODE
cd /dev
ls -la modem
ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/modem


you should now be able to use regular ppp diallup scripts to connect, many fine examples here on forums.

also try installing minicom, then running "minicom -s", change the serial port to be /dev/ttUSB0, then enter "AT" to see if you get an OK, then try "ATD01234567;" and see if it dials your number.

let us know how you get on please!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 01:02 AM