OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Freeing Memory On The Zaurus
reinci
post Feb 24 2006, 06:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 6-October 05
From: Murcia
Member No.: 8,261



Hello everybody!

I've got a Zaurus sl-c3100, with 64 MB of memory, but 30MB are always used each time I started to work with the Z.

Anyone knows how to reduce the amount of memory used by default? Because everytime I try run a java application medium-size I always run out of memory.

Thank you very much.
Greetings, Andres
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Feb 24 2006, 07:07 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Some apps are set to "fastload" so they are loaded into memory by default. You can change the setting and this will free some memory after a reboot. You can also create a swapfile on your hard drive. There are instructions in the forum on how to do both of these.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reinci
post Feb 24 2006, 07:13 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 6-October 05
From: Murcia
Member No.: 8,261



Ok, thanks. I will have a look at this. Meanwhile, I've discovered some processes that are running and seemingly they are not necessary. Killing them releases at least 10MB of memory, and when you are running out of memory, it is a fortune

I add here a script that kill those processes
Attached File(s)
Attached File  freeMemory.txt ( 164bytes ) Number of downloads: 52
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Feb 24 2006, 08:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



The apps on your script are the fastload ones. If you tap and hold their icon, you get a dialog where you can uncheck fast load. It will achieve the same as your script but it will be persistent after reboot.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Feb 24 2006, 08:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(reinci @ Feb 24 2006, 03:13 PM)
Ok, thanks. I will have a look at this. Meanwhile, I've discovered some processes that are running and seemingly they are not necessary. Killing them releases at least 10MB of memory, and when you are running out of memory, it is a fortune

I add here a script that kill those processes
*


What you have listed there is mostly run by quickload. Disabling that may save you a bit of space.

Be aware though that Linux will seemingly consume a lot of memory when there is actually stacks of memory free though, this is because of the dynamic allocation of memory to the disk cache.

As memory starts to become depleted expect to see some of the memory used for disk cache reclaimed and used for applications.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Feb 24 2006, 09:42 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(reinci @ Feb 24 2006, 08:05 AM)
Hello everybody!

I've got a Zaurus sl-c3100, with 64 MB of memory, but 30MB are always used each time I started to work with the Z.

Anyone knows how to reduce the amount of memory used by default? Because everytime I try run a java application medium-size I always run out of memory.

Thank you very much.
Greetings, Andres
*

Under pdaXrom I find that about half the RAM is used up on bootup.
I've stopped bluetooth stuff from loading up because I don't really use it.
Does anyone have any recommendations for pdaXrom users that wanto free up some RAM?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 01:25 AM