OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Qtopia 2.1.0 For 5x00 Series, Only for extreme testers.
Laze
post Jan 5 2005, 10:33 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Warning
This is only intended for extreme testers wanting to test this on their 5x00 series. Its not the X windows system for 5x00! Buts its a test of our building system and more.

Introduction
Sash has been playing and managed to get the 2.1.0 Qtopia running and built using the pdaXrom base and build system.

Quick install instruction
Download and rename zImage.5000 (for SL-5000D) or zImage.5500 (for Sl-5500)to zImage, copy zImage and initrd.bin to CF FAT16 formatted, insert it in Z, and flash rom by C+D and reset (like as normal ROM) (read more here http://www.zaurususergroup.com/FAQ+index-m...t-20.phtml#144)

Download
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/collie/

Feed
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/collie/feed

Bug reporting
Please take this as extreme testing - but feel free to post anything you find here in this forum.

Donations
This project was built by the pdaXrom team - feel free to donate using our donation homepage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jan 5 2005, 10:42 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



My congratulations - pdaxrom team managed to release Qtopia 2.1 ROM before Trolltech smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Jan 5 2005, 11:02 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



Great

I will have to go back today and get my 5000D on the charger ASAP.
Juice it up for the PDAxROM qith Qtpia 2.1

Congrats to the team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chris08
post Jan 5 2005, 12:05 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-May 04
Member No.: 3,377



Sweet. Do you plan to do a version for the cxx0 zauri?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Teletubbie
post Jan 5 2005, 01:10 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,006



Hi,
well I am not familiar with sharproms at all, but gave this image a try. There is no task bar there for me. I also cant see any possibility to mount/unmount my CF Card. My Asus WL-110 Wavelan card is also not found. I get a message about missing the orinoco_cs module.
It seems to automount my CF Memory card.
My ext2 Kingston SD card is also automounted and i can see the files on that.
Is there anything else I should test, before I switch back to ???
Cheers,
Sam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luimarma
post Jan 7 2005, 03:57 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,953



First tests,

- Screen sometimes shows horizontal lines on tabs.
- Package intalations through ipk install command work fine.
- Package manager does not let install local ipks, I dont know about remote since there are not bluetooth pan applets or any wizard for bluetooth.(I only use network with bluetooth, will try sometime with commandline, since the my d-link bluetooth adaptor seems to be recogniced)
- If I try to eject the bluetooth card without stoping bluetooth the system freezes.
- There are no drivers included for the sharp camera.
I installed the camera-support ipk and know the card is found and the driver loaded but it complains about the tainted kernel. Qpe-camera-2.1 does not finds the camera allthough
- The interface seems speedy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yasen
post Jan 7 2005, 04:23 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 27-June 03
From: Sofia, Bulgaria, Europe
Member No.: 217



Excuse me but where is 5600 image?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bit_bucket
post Jan 7 2005, 09:24 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 18-November 04
Member No.: 5,515



My impressions: First of all great work, with a few minor fixes, I would run as primary ROM. Here are my issues:

1) Time resets on suspend (This doesent appear to happen all the time)
2) Console messages default to std out (This seems to have been the case in all TT code since 1.6.2)
3) There seems to be a ram disk set up, but it is not mounted. And I am unsure the device name to use to mount it, as well as the mount point. I am assuming the mount point is /mnt/user, but I dont know the device name. I know the space is there, because it is reported in the System Info app under the data tab. Currently it looks like 46 MB is available. I could be missing the boat here.
4) No clock aplet on the task bar, and I have not found a downloadable one in the feed. (Not an issue, I just wasent searching for the package right.
5) No available cf monitor from the feed. I actually thought that in 2.1.0, they had a unified cardmon app, nothing works though. (same as above)
6) Very little network card support. No orinco drivers installed.
7) No local package installation options in the GUI. ipkg install works from the CLI.

Some great things:
- runs as root
- root is r/w
- snapier
- cleaner graphics (Hourglass icon)
- Alarm does work even though time is reset on suspend

Is this something that is going to get some updates from the PDAXROM crew, or was this a proof of concept?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
luimarma
post Jan 8 2005, 09:23 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,953



There are applets for clock and carmonitor,
qpe-clockapplet_2.1.0_sharp.ipk and qpe-cardmon_2.1.0_sharp.ipk.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wizzard
post Jan 8 2005, 06:25 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 154
Joined: 1-May 04
From: Discworld
Member No.: 3,089



5600 compatible??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnKiniston
post Jan 29 2005, 08:11 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 213
Joined: 13-May 04
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 3,262



I decided to be brave and flash tonight with this image.

Good news is it flashed OK, No problems with the flash or inital boot.

Working:
USB Networking works.
Suspend and Resume works (And quite quickly seeming)
Notes could read a text file off my SD once I mounted it.
SSH (once I set a root password)
Seems fast

Not Working:
WIFI Does not work with my Netgear MA701
SD Card does not auto-mount (It thinks its EXT3)

Console messages do show up like reported above.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kazuya
post Feb 14 2005, 07:15 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 4-February 05
Member No.: 6,405



When available Cxxx?

Can I help ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mugur
post Feb 20 2005, 02:16 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 19-April 04
From: TURKEY
Member No.: 2,617



Hi pdaXrom team
Laze/Maslovsky
Is this rom competible with 5600s?
If not will it be available in near future?
If not, how can we help to port this ROM to 5600?
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gerrynjr
post Feb 24 2005, 04:13 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 506



seems as if the orinoco driver is missing. Is there any way to get this added to the image?
This sure as heck seems faster....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
caunt
post Feb 28 2005, 01:49 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 11-November 04
Member No.: 5,427



I tried the ROm, and it looks great. But it didn't come up with a tray for me (5000d) and that kind of got me off to a bad start as a newbie. Hey, I know it said extreme, but it was worth a try!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 05:20 AM