OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Touchscreen Suddenly Doesn't Work On Simpad, anybody know how to fix?
tombraider
post Jan 13 2007, 01:50 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



I have the device disassembled but don't know what to check to fix the touchscreen.
I've touched and wiggled just about everything. Even disconnected the battery for a while in sheer desperation.

Stylus touch DOES work a bit. It works only on certain areas of the screen but even right after calibration, the touch spot doesn't correspond to what happens and NOTHING happens on touching the right side of the screen.

I CAN hear some kind of sound of a solenoid?? switch whenever the screen is touched.

Is this just a lost cause?

I even reflashed with Familiar to see if it was a software problem but the touchscreen works neither in Win CE nor in Linux.

Expert help needed. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Jan 13 2007, 08:56 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



I have one that the digitizer went wonky and I cannot calibrate it anymore. Gives bad points that are all over the place. It just gathers dust now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jan 14 2007, 07:57 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(lpotter @ Jan 14 2007, 12:56 AM)
I have one that the digitizer went wonky and I cannot calibrate it anymore. Gives bad points that are all over the place. It just gathers dust now.
*


Thanks, that's what I thought...sigh. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scholbert
post Jan 14 2007, 08:47 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 21-November 05
Member No.: 8,576



QUOTE(lpotter @ Jan 14 2007, 05:56 AM)
I have one that the digitizer went wonky and I cannot calibrate it anymore. Gives bad points that are all over the place. It just gathers dust now.
*


Hi,

there might be a chance to solve these problems more or less quite easily.
From my experience most touchscreen problems are caused from mechanical/electrical issues and are not necessarily software dependend.
Of course there some issues with calibrating and sensitivity using older distributions. But this has been fixed!

So have a closer look at the touchscreen unit of your device.
Sometimes the flex cable that connects the touchscreen unit with the Simpad mainboard maybe affected by corrosion or other mechanical damage.

I once bought a Simpad with a quite damaged touchscreen and was able to fix it with some kind of conductive lacquer that can be used to fix electrical connections.

You may do some measurements with the unit first.
Measuring between contact 1 <-> 3 and 2 <-> 4 should deliver constant values of about 500-600 ohm.
If these values vary extremely, or one connection is completely broken you might try to fix the contacts carefully with a conductive lacquer coat.
But be very careful you might damage it completely blink.gif !

Hope this might give you another idea, what could be wrong.

Greets,

scholbert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 10:59 AM