OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Screen Hack Progress Report
guylhem
post Apr 22 2006, 02:59 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



See http://www.guylhem.net/r-hardware/zaurus/4-inches-display/

Basically, I miss some parts to go further, but I hope I'll get them :-)

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 23 2006, 12:35 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



good work! am sad to realise that it's not as trivial as I originally hoped :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 25 2006, 12:13 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Update - I managed to fry the c860 I got from mars while working zaurus while conducing additional tests.

I can't say what happed. It was working fine (I tested it after fixing the broken jogdial the best I could - works again !)

Then I opened the display, checked that the connectors inside where once again a different size, and while putting it back together, I must have done something wrong because backlight was suddently no longer working.

So I did check for the power inverter fuse - seems to be ok. Then I tried to disconnect/reconnect every cable, thinking I got one wrongly connected - no display at all.

:-(

Odds are I killed a perfectly fine C860 zaurus while not even knowing why, even if I took more precautions than usual due to the extremly fragile display connectors. Static electricity?

Whatever - This hack is prooving more complicated than I expected. I will conduct further tests today with a C700 motherboard to identify the cause of the failure (motherboard/screen/cables or connectors)

I may risk another clamshell, but anyway after killing 3 of them I guess I'll be done :-(

Donators with spare parts are welcome.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ztep
post Apr 25 2006, 01:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 30-March 05
Member No.: 6,751



QUOTE(guylhem @ Apr 25 2006, 10:13 AM)
Then I opened the display, checked that the connectors inside where once again a different size, and while putting it back together, I must have done something wrong because backlight was suddently no longer working.

So I did check for the power inverter fuse - seems to be ok. Then I tried to disconnect/reconnect every cable, thinking I got one wrongly connected - no display at all.


Search in the forum. Some time ago (a year more or less) I read a solution for that problem.
I cannot remember the post title but there is a message with a photo that explains how to solve the backlight not working problem.

Anyway, you are brave for trying all the hardware mods. Keep on!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 25 2006, 02:23 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Found the message - that's why I initially said I checked the power inverter fuse and found 0 ohms which means it should not be fried.

This means there is already a shortcut - the original poster confirmed that in his case it was not 0 ohms, so it should be a different problem.

That's weird. I will try in a couple of hours to solder a shorting just to be sure but IHMO it won't work. The spare C700 board I had shows nothing at all. I will now check with a separate battery and a different display connector cable.

Basically, I think I fried 2 zaurus, and the worst is I still don't know why.

Guylhem

Here's the original URL of the pic:http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=341
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 25 2006, 10:50 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

A quick update : I fried the power inverter at a different place that seb79, for no evident reason. We are trying various mesurements to figure out which component is faulty.

Regarding the motherboard, it seems I fried the chip responsible of the touchscreen input. The DM menu works. The normal boot doesn't. I will have to investigate that further.

The screen hack has been suspended until I can figure out exactly what happened and how I can fix it.

Meanwhile, anyone with a broken display - I would welcome the replacement power inverter. I can give detailed instructions to remove it. It will not remove any functionnality of the display, if is already dead, and if you still want one for "completion" I can send mine.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 26 2006, 01:50 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

Quick update- after doing various shunts, I could manage to turn on the display again with the help of sebastien79. He was right - the problem was not from some parts, simply the CC chip wasn't getting power information.

Then I tried to look at what happened. Basically, I did many damage on the motherboard board during the screen hack attempt, because of the flat cable that is connected to the inverter : the flat connector is loose, and I saw the cable getting off while the Z was powered. I then noted nice sparkles - must have happened before :-) (When I first saw the cable out of the connector, I though I had forgotted to plug in it, and my memory was failing me)

Such shorts may be the reason why the touchscreen chip and the flat cable that conducts backlight information seem to be dead. This may also explain why at some moment I could not even power it at all - the cable must have shorted something inside.

Played with the diagnosis menu - the nand seems also to be dead (can't do a restore, but it reports no errors on nand check), but it may have been before.

Basically, I now have a zaurus dead as can be - even as a screenless terminal. I am in the process of purchasing parts to try to at least revive a zaurus out of the 2 I killed during this hack attempt.

I will now document the hack, explain how it failed, and why it can't work, but basically - it is *not* possible with that generation of Zaurus to replace the 3.7 screen by a 4" screen. They are physically the same (more or less one millimeter) but electrically totally different : every connector has its own size and wiring and you can't find a possible way to hook up anything.

Also, pay attention to these tiny screen connectors - neuroshock knows first hand they are fragile. I believe now they can cause great damage when they are not properly working - a strong weak point.

At the moment, my best advice for the screen hack is to let it go. But I'll try to convince you guys with color pictures :-)

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Apr 26 2006, 04:43 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



Nice pics and hats off for the attempts.

This is really hindsight but ... AFAIK, the touch screen 4line cable should work fine, though recalibration may be needed. For the display itself, the video signal ribbon would not work as they need to be electrically compatible.

I'm considering replacing the CCFL of my 5500 with two leds stuck to each end. Wonder if anyone tried it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 27 2006, 01:31 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(Snappy @ Apr 26 2006, 04:43 PM)
Nice pics and hats off for the attempts.

This is really hindsight but ... AFAIK, the touch screen 4line cable should work fine, though recalibration may be needed. For the display itself, the video signal ribbon would not work as they need to be electrically compatible.

I'm considering replacing the CCFL of my 5500 with two leds stuck to each end. Wonder if anyone tried it?
*


Hello;

Well the 4 wires of the touchscreen are not usefull if you can't display anything on the screen, don't you think :-)

Electric compatibility of the signal is usually achieved inside a same serie of screens. I checked the specs and the screens where mostly identical. Yet the connectors are totally different. Maybe the connectors are custom designed for a specific application?

That would require opening a dead screen and having a look inside. A bit too extreme IMHO, especially when you see the flat cable coming off the screen has a different size.

Why do you what to replace the CCFL? Are you experiencing problems with it?

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Apr 30 2006, 05:42 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



LEDs seem nice at first but i have noticed that the dont tend to give even coverage, try getting an EL backlight as you can cut one of thes to any shape you need (only problem is the inverter and the green color that most come in)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 3 2006, 12:25 PM
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I was reading an article about some new LCD displays from Sharp and they listed a specific European distributor: http://www.heroelec.co.uk/displays.htm

maybe these people would be able to provide decent data sheets for the displays used in the Z?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 10:38 AM