OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Qwidgetstack, how to ? it doesnt show any widgets
nilch
post Mar 20 2006, 10:24 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



I am using the QWidgetStack to create a sideBar element in my program which can change on context - a context sensitive changing sideBar menu element.

So I am adding widgets into the WidgetStack and them calling the widgetStack control in the main screen. On the desktop - this method works fine and I can raiseWidgets as needed to the front.

But on the Zaurus, the whole widgetStack control doesnt show up at all.
There are no errors when using QWidgetStack on Qt/E, but nothing shows at all.

What is heppening here ?Is the QWidgetStack implementation the same in QT/E as in QT.

Code sample as below
-----------------------------
class controlWidgets(QWidgetStack) :
def __init__(self,parent = None,name = None):
QWidgetStack.__init__(self,parent,name)

if name == None:
self.setName('')

self.setSizePolicy(QSizePolicy(4,7,self.sizePolicy().hasHeightForWidth()))
self.setMinimumSize(QSize(90,120))
self.setMaximumSize(QSize(160,420))

self.widgetMain = controls(self) # control is the main widget class
self.widgetLocal = controlLocal(self) #controlLocal is a local widget
self.addWidget(self.widgetMain,1)
self.addWidget(self.widgetLocal,2)

in the main section I call controlWidgets as below
--------------------------------
self.sideBar = controlWidgets(self)
self.sideBar.setSizePolicy(QSizePolicy(0,0,self.sideBar.sizePolicy().hasHeightFo
Width()))
self.layoutSideBar.addWidget(self.sideBar)
self.sideBar.show()



I have read on other threads that the QWidgetStack on QT/E has a bug - is this the reason for the non-visibility of the WidgetStack control on the Zaurus ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Mar 21 2006, 08:56 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



Sorry guys... found the solution - was a bit foolhardy in not trying it earlier.

I seems on QT/E on the Zaurus you need to give an explicit raiseWidget call after defining and populating the WidgetStack to show the first widget.
Otherwise nothing shows up at all - just a blank stack.

On the desktop (regular QT) however an explicit raiseWidget call is not required. Just calling the widgetStack control with the widgets added to it will show the index 0 widget by default.

So that was what stumped me at first.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netog
post Apr 2 2006, 03:52 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,109



Hi. Just as curiosity... have you tried to use python and mysql working together at the zaurus?

I was wondering if this could be a good GUI solution for some apps I need to do with DB support.

Tanks

Neto G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Apr 13 2006, 08:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



Hi netog,

I haven't yet tried Python with MySQL, but I am sure it should work.

There is a MySQL module for python so that one can easily make calls to the database. So far I have used very small datasets and have strored them as XML files rather than a full-blows database.

for more on MySQL module...
http://www.devshed.com/c/a/Python/MySQL-Co...ty-With-Python/

I think Python with PyQT makes a very good GUI based application tool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 03:51 AM