OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Any Way To Get Out Of The 860 Gui On Startup
spaul
post Jan 25 2005, 05:03 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 15-December 03
Member No.: 1,192



The english instructions I found on the web for c860 mentioned pressing db prior to start up as a way to get a login prompt. Doesn't work even though I pulled out the battery overnight. I remember finding some trick to doing this on 5600 but now i have an 860.

One of the things I like about slackware is that the default in a non GUI login and you have to type startx for the gui. That way when the gui gets fried you can still maneuver. Even a non-linux type like me gets to learn a bit about command line. How do i escape qtopia on 860 startup.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spaul
post Jan 26 2005, 07:38 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 15-December 03
Member No.: 1,192



bump
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Optogeek
post Jan 26 2005, 08:04 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 3-February 04
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Member No.: 1,681



If you want to use the d-b method make sure that you are holding down the buttons before you put the battery back in a flick the switch. This sometimes needs an extra hand wink.gif The commandline you get with this is slightly different to the one avalible with the gui because you are actually starting a second kernel stored in the flash. It uses a special read only file system with a minimum tool set but you can manually mount the normal partitions. Scrolling of the screen doesn't work but search the forum for a solution ( a little program called consolscroll is needed).

A second easier way that will give you a 'normal' commandline is to install cacko. When cacko boots there is a 5 second countdown before qt starts, pressing / gives you menu of options.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Jan 26 2005, 06:57 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(spaul @ Jan 26 2005, 10:03 AM)
The english instructions I found on the web for c860 mentioned pressing db prior to start up as a way to get a login prompt. Doesn't work even though I pulled out the battery overnight.  I remember finding some trick to doing this on 5600 but now i have an 860. 

One of the things I like about slackware is that the default in a non GUI login and you have to type startx for the gui.  That way when the gui gets fried you can still maneuver.  Even a non-linux type like me gets to learn a bit about command line. How do i escape qtopia on 860 startup.
*


The D+B boot mode is most probably not what you want.
D+B gets you into Single User Mode (ala init 1) here are the instructions I posted around march last year.

The hard part is booting into single user mode. Remove battery and ac adapter, wait about a minute, replace battery and while holding down D and B keys switch the battery lock to locked position. If the zaurus doesn't boot to console mode after about 15 secs try hitting the power button while keeping the D and B keys depressed. If it boots normally - repeat above procedure till lyou get console mode. This generally takes me 3 or 4 tries till I get single user mode. You then have to mount the /dev/mtdblock1 or /dev/mtdblock2 devices (mount -t jffs2 /dev/mtdblock1 /mnt/tmp). From memory /dev/mtdblock1 is the / filesytem while /dev/mtdblock2 is the /home filesystem, you probably want the /dev/mtdblock2 system.

What you want to do is to get console mode. If you look at /root/etc/rc.d/rc.rofilesystem there is a line that reads
CODE
echo $LAUNCH > /home/sharp/etc/launch.default
This creates /home/sharp/etc/launch.default (it contains "q" by default). This files is used by /sbin/launch and /home/sharp/etc/launch.conf to decide what to launch at boot time.

If you remove /home/sharp/etc/launch.default and then remove the line mentioned above you will get a 5 second countdown where you can hit / to go to a prompt that allows you to choose what to launch.

If you don't want to edit rc.rofilesystem then you can create a file on the read-only flash rom (you will need to remount / as rw to do this) and have that file contain "a" (without quotes) then symlink that to /home/sharp/etc/launch.default then the Z will boot to console everytime. (if you leave the above file empty then you will always get the option to choose)

hope this makes sense (it being written soley from memory)

If you have any questions let me know

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jan 26 2005, 09:41 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



It makes things a LOT easier if you are already booted & running. You can simply select REBOOT from the popup menu, tap the YES box then hold down the DM or DB keys till the screen darkens & the system boots again. Can keep the Z flat & stable while useing both hands to press the keys.

Und no ger pullin' der batteries, flippin' der svitches und all der odder crup! (G)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 09:58 AM