OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sharp Zaurus Sdk The Easy Way, QEMU/LiveCD based devel environment
doseas
post Aug 30 2005, 08:31 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



kopsis,

I keep forgetting to ask... how does your development environment differ from the earlier Zaurus development LiveCD from Pellico Systems (zdemolinux)???

-David
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qx773
post Aug 31 2005, 06:44 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-February 04
Member No.: 1,807



If that is the Live CD that I am thinking of, then it doesn't work with a Razer mouse connected to a USB port.

I like the fact that QEMU can run under Windows.

Is anyone else having trouble using the -smb parameter of QEMU under Windows XP to make a QEMU directory available to Windows as a shared folder? QEMU just exits to Windows without any error message when I try to use the -smb parameter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ragnorok
post Oct 26 2005, 08:29 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 298
Joined: 27-October 03
From: Greenfield, NH
Member No.: 781



QUOTE(slapout @ Aug 24 2005, 08:12 PM)
Wow Kopsis, this sounds great. I was just about to try installing the Sharp tools for the third time. (I tried it with Red Hat 9 and with Mepis, but couldn't get either one to work.
...(geschnippt)...
*

- This is really cool, Kopsis. I mentioned this in another thread as a good way for a newbie to get going, and here you just did it. Good Form! ™ And it does seem to be a good way to go, particularly for those poor souls who are forced to use Winbloze. I pity them, but you've really been a saviour, and that's a Good Thing! ™ More Z developers can't be bad.
- I've had no trouble getting the original tools to work on RH9 ... that's my current dev environment. There are plenty of clues here on the forum for getting it working, or I wouldn't have it set up. (wink)
- Despite drakecoldwinter's woes I'm thinking of trying Suse for the next platform, which will be available One Day Real Soon. I'll base it on my existing RH9 setup; having a working environment to refer to should make things easier.
- Time will tell, or it won't!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Oct 26 2005, 10:40 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



I have installed QEMU and the Sharp environment on my Windows 2K PC, and it works great . Thank you kopsis for the instructions!

Before I really start using it, I wanted to figure out, how I can transfer files from the Windows environment to the Sharp environment and back? Or, asking it differently: how would I move the arm executable file to my Zaurus (which is not connected to my PC) after it has been created? Or, how would I move source code from my Windows PC into the Sharp environment?

Is there maybe a way to explore the .img file from Windows? How?

Or is there another solution?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
titimoby
post Nov 10 2005, 02:00 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-November 05
Member No.: 8,512



In fact, I decided to register to the oesf forums just to thank you.
I'll have problem and head aches but hey, I got a compiling example ! smile.gif

Thanks a lot for this work !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 10 2005, 05:03 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



I think this livecd idea is great coupled with the zaurus sdk.
However, I have been thinking about a usage scenario which would be ideal for a developer with a zaurus that is constantly on the road (like me).

I was thinking about burning the live cd iso image with all the extra modules on the cd image as well so once you booted into it, all the tools are ready and the zaurus' disk where the source files are located should be mounted via smb either via ethernet or usbdnet.

I could then carry a little mini cd with me and use it to boot any PC I find and attach my Zaurus to it to start development.

Does anyone else think that this sounds like a good idea and feasible?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kopsis
post Nov 11 2005, 04:50 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 329
Joined: 1-July 04
Member No.: 3,880



One of my reasons for picking DSL is that it's relatively easy to remaster (create a new bootable LiveCD with extra modules) to do exactly as you suggest. If you have a big USB flash drive, you could also put everything on there and have a bootable Zaurus SDK pen drive. See the DSL website for details (most detailed instructions can be found in the forums).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Nov 11 2005, 08:07 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



QUOTE(kopsis @ Nov 11 2005, 12:50 PM)
One of my reasons for picking DSL is that it's relatively easy to remaster (create a new bootable LiveCD with extra modules) to do exactly as you suggest. If you have a big USB flash drive, you could also put everything on there and have a bootable Zaurus SDK pen drive. See the DSL website for details (most detailed instructions can be found in the forums).
*


How about using the zaurus as a USB flash drive..........
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 17 2005, 05:41 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Nov 12 2005, 02:07 AM)
QUOTE(kopsis @ Nov 11 2005, 12:50 PM)
One of my reasons for picking DSL is that it's relatively easy to remaster (create a new bootable LiveCD with extra modules) to do exactly as you suggest. If you have a big USB flash drive, you could also put everything on there and have a bootable Zaurus SDK pen drive. See the DSL website for details (most detailed instructions can be found in the forums).
*


How about using the zaurus as a USB flash drive..........
*



well, that might work, but space is precious on my Z so I rather the PC booted off the CD than my Z. Unfortunately, I am on the road still and don't have time to build such a CD yet, but when I get the time, I will definately try to build one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polito
post Nov 17 2005, 07:35 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 4-November 04
From: Phoenix, Arid-Zona
Member No.: 5,344



Ever seen puppy linux, Meanie? Puppy Linux can boot off of most things. It loads completely into memory. If you use a CD, you can actually have Puppy Linux write everything ---back--- to the CD that was changed so you actually can --save-- your work and not lose it. Neato.

Puppy Linux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 4 2006, 04:36 AM
Post #26





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Now that there's a free version of vmware, is there anyone up to the challenge of building a vmware image for zaurus developers?

This would also be an opportunity to enter the vmware "appliance" challenge!

http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/challenge/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 4 2006, 04:47 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 4 2006, 10:36 PM)
Now that there's a free version of vmware, is there anyone up to the challenge of building a vmware image for zaurus developers?

This would also be an opportunity to enter the vmware "appliance" challenge!

http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/challenge/
*


well, there already are in a way. The Kopsis livecd which is based on DSL can be booted from vmware since it is an iso image and the extra modules plus your working files can be places on a wmware virtual disk. You could transfer the files from the iso to the disk as well and have everything on a single vmware image.
pdaXrom also comes on bootable iso image for the X86 version of pdaXrom as well as a vmware image. put a crosscompiler on it and off you go.
I am currently using the DSL through vmware on my OQO but I am hoping I will be able to run pdaXrom on it soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 6 2006, 03:33 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



This is really great, I tried to compile the test app and all's fine.

I'm running Win XP.

However I can't copy anything to/from my Harddisk, I don't see it under /mnt/

The hd and hda1 are empty.

How can I copy files back and forth, once compiled?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 6 2006, 04:13 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Apr 6 2006, 09:33 PM)
This is really great, I tried to compile the test app and all's fine.

I'm running Win XP.

However I can't copy anything to/from my Harddisk, I don't see it under /mnt/

The hd and hda1 are empty.

How can I copy files back and forth, once compiled?
*


it doesn't like ntfs partitions. do you have any fat partitions? try mounting them manually, or better yet, if you have a usb thumbdrive, stick it in when you boot and it will automatically detect and mount it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 6 2006, 04:39 AM
Post #30





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



have you tried using samba shares to share files between the guest system? or, install putty & pscp on the host windows machine and scp the files off the linux guest.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 06:24 AM