OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kismet tracking
jrohearn
post May 28 2004, 04:02 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-May 04
Member No.: 3,272



Can you be traced while using kismet?
Just curious. I was scanning around my house and dont want to piss off any of my neighbors.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post May 28 2004, 04:08 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



Don't think so, since Kismet basically just sniffs for data being transfered over the WLAN, and doesn't actually access it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jrohearn
post May 28 2004, 04:11 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-May 04
Member No.: 3,272



While scanning, I get one that says its a no SSID - Probe.
What is a Probe?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Inuyasha
post May 28 2004, 04:13 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 19-October 03
From: Canada
Member No.: 679



Another person running a wifi sniffer, maybe?

But I don't know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tz
post May 28 2004, 06:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 2-February 04
Member No.: 1,584



A probe is generally a laptop, workstation, or something sending a request for any AP out there to identify itself. NetStumbler does this (and hence can be traced).

Kismet is entirely passive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jrohearn
post May 29 2004, 06:12 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-May 04
Member No.: 3,272



Cool, good to know. Thanks guys.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 10:39 AM