OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X/qt Rootless Mode
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 27 2006, 12:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



On the X/Qt site you can see this screenshot of running in rootless mode.

This might be a solution to running individual X apps in Qtopia, i.e. being able to switch just to the app, not to the whole X/Qt desktop.

Does anyone have any experience with this? How do you start an app in X/Qt in rootless mode?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Apr 27 2006, 12:22 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



this sounds interesting....I like the idea!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 27 2006, 12:32 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



That would be a great idea. cool.gif
1. would occupy less disc/card space
2. would occupy less RAM
3. seems like apps would launch quicker and be snappier because of using less resources
QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Apr 27 2006, 03:17 PM)
This might be a solution to running individual X apps in Qtopia, i.e. being able to switch just to the app, not to the whole X/Qt desktop.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 27 2006, 11:45 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Apr 28 2006, 06:32 AM)
That would be a great idea.  cool.gif
1. would occupy less disc/card space
2. would occupy less RAM
3. seems like apps would launch quicker and be snappier because of using less resources
QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Apr 27 2006, 03:17 PM)
This might be a solution to running individual X apps in Qtopia, i.e. being able to switch just to the app, not to the whole X/Qt desktop.
*

*



the next update of pdaXqtrom will have a rootless option, ie invoked via xlauncher -embed appname
the qtopia icons will have the -embed flag added to the launch scripts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Apr 28 2006, 01:02 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



yes! killer!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 30 2006, 09:09 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(bam @ Apr 28 2006, 07:02 PM)
yes! killer!
*


here's xmms in rootless mode

the new image will be ready soon. just compiling a few extra bits which takes a while on the Z
Attached File(s)
Attached File  XqtEmbedded_xmms.jpg ( 90.52K ) Number of downloads: 259
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 30 2006, 02:59 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ Apr 30 2006, 06:09 PM)
here's xmms in rootless mode

the new image will be ready soon. just compiling a few extra bits which takes a while on the Z
*

What happens when you run two apps in rootless mode? Do they each have an X/Qt icon in the taskbar? Still would be the same icon, but nevertheless... You could switch between them and other Qt tasks conveniently...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Apr 30 2006, 03:25 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Please tell me that the internet exploder icon on the taskbar is a joke.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 30 2006, 06:20 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(jfv @ May 1 2006, 09:25 AM)
Please tell me that the internet exploder icon on the taskbar is a joke.

Felipe
*


It is smile.gif finally someone notices it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Apr 30 2006, 06:51 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



how soon? /me is impatient...this is cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 1 2006, 07:36 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(bam @ May 1 2006, 12:51 PM)
how soon? /me is impatient...this is cool.
*


very soon. i was almost done today, but then decided to recompile gtk2 so abiword would have nice window sizes that fit the screen and then I am also compiling some plugins for abiword too which hopefully will allow pdf and openoffice document support in abiword.
got screen rotation working too and fixed the window sizes for 6000 models as well.
a day or two and it should be ready unless i find something else to add smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 3 2006, 04:15 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



From the other post, I tried your new version...

It seems that only one app can be run in rootless mode. When I start a second one it says one is already running. Can this be gotten around?

Also running rootless firefox-embedded doesn't seem to work on my 3200, it just starts the X, you see the icon, and then exits. From a command prompt though it gives no error...

How can I debug the start to see what's failing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 3 2006, 07:44 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 3 2006, 10:15 PM)
From the other post, I tried your new version...

It seems that only one app can be run in rootless mode. When I start a second one it says one is already running. Can this be gotten around?

Also running rootless firefox-embedded doesn't seem to work on my 3200, it just starts the X, you see the icon, and then exits. From a command prompt though it gives no error...

How can I debug the start to see what's failing?
*


xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 3 2006, 10:51 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 04:44 AM)
xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
*

OK will do. And what about the one-app limit in rootless? Is there no way to run more apps in rootless mode?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 3 2006, 11:00 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 4 2006, 04:51 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 04:44 AM)
xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
*

OK will do. And what about the one-app limit in rootless? Is there no way to run more apps in rootless mode?
*



well you could open a terminal and

export DISPLAY=:0.0
appname

note that this rootless mode is experimental and has many limitations. it is also only available in xqt server 0.8 it was removed in 0.9
i might have a look into it further and recompile xqt server but no time for it right now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 01:41 PM