OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxii13 Xmms Error Loading Libxau.so.6, Xmms error in pdaxii13
markbedish
post Feb 13 2007, 12:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



Hi,

I have switched from Sharp to pdaxrom and meanies pdaxii13 full on my new 3200. I am very very impressed by the software, though I found it a bit slow on launching programs. No issues with the software except for xmms which wont launch and returns an error (if tried from console):

QUOTE
error while loading shared libraries: libXau.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.


Any ideas how to fix? I am using the latest 5.3 beta version.

Thanks to all you guys for your great work on keeping this platform up and running.

Finally, are the earlier beta1 feeds and the contrib feeds compatible?


Regards

Mark
3200 from conics.net (switched from Sharp to pdaxii13)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 13 2007, 01:00 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



You are missing a library, I would think the necessary libraries were included.
Are you sure you got a "clean" download of pdaxii13?

anyway, here's the library, but this won't guarantee that xmms won't ask for a different library when you launch it again

Package: libXau
Version: 1.0.1
Maintainer: hdluc@yahoo.com
Architecture: armv5tel
Priority: optional
Section: X11
Depends: xfree
Package: libXau_1.0.1_armv5tel.ipk
Size: 10925
MD5Sum: c63c5fb8e4a586253bfc8fbf86508077
Description: short description.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  libXau_1.0.1_armv5tel.ipk ( 10.67K ) Number of downloads: 35
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 13 2007, 01:52 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 13 2007, 10:00 PM)
anyway, here's the library, but this won't guarantee that xmms won't ask for a different library when you launch it again


Thanks Jon, it now launches, though volume only shows a 1% or 0% on the player but it doesnt matter because it plays correctly.

Have you any ideas why launching apps and stylus responsivity seem slow, or is it just to be expected when running this complexity of programs on such a device. I have installed the full version on the microdrive, is that slower than from flash?

Also firefox just crashes every now and then but I read quite a few people have the same problem on other threads so unless I can find an alternative browser, I'll live with the crashes.

I guess it will take a while to get up to speed on the X apps but apart from no HWR, it really has a different order of ability to the Sharp apps.


Thanks for your quick reply!

Mark
New 3200 from conics.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 13 2007, 02:14 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I'm using the akita5.3 version. This is a "base" version, only minimum stuff is included.
This was originally designed for the SL-C1000 (no microdrive)
This version is faster because everything is installed in flash.
Presently, I don't have much installed yet. (I'm still getting a "feel" for pdax)
What I like about the akita version is that all the (included) operating system stuff and utilities run from flash.

I haven't installed firefox yet. I will in the future. (I'll install this to my hard drive)
That just reminded me, the akita version's GUI package manager allows you to install stuff to 4 places if you want to do so.

Flash (I partitioned my flash to 121mb when I first installed pdaxrom beta3)
/ide (This is my first partition on the hdd, I used the recommended partitioning when installing pdaxii13-akita)
CF card
SD card

This is my basic plan.
Once pdaxii13-akita is installed to my flash, I'll install most or all OS stuff, small utilities, some small programs, and a game engine or two, to flash.
Then install large programs like firefox to my microdrive.

This way the small stuff runs fast, and the big apps will run slower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 13 2007, 07:40 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



the missing libXau library has already been fixed on the Akita edition, ie pdaXii13 Akita base, but I have not uploaded the new pdaXii13 Spitz base and full images yet...
I will do a few more tweaks and add a few more apps before releasing another build for pdaXii13 Spitz.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 14 2007, 12:28 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 14 2007, 04:40 AM)
the missing libXau library has already been fixed on the Akita edition, ie pdaXii13 Akita base, but I have not uploaded the new pdaXii13 Spitz base and full images yet...
I will do a few more tweaks and add a few more apps before releasing another build for pdaXii13 Spitz.
*


Does that mean if I reflash to Akita base and then do the upgrade to full (using kernel bootloader utility), it will still have the same problem with XMMS or does it copy the existing libraries from flash?

When running the full version from the microdrive, what is the 128mb flash used for, or does it get lost?

Sorry if you have already explained this!

Mark
____
New 3200 from conics.net (Moved from Sharp to pdaXii13)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 14 2007, 02:06 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 13 2007, 11:14 PM)
Flash (I partitioned my flash to 121mb when I first installed pdaxrom beta3)
/ide (This is my first partition on the hdd, I used the recommended partitioning when installing pdaxii13-akita)


So did I, but when I run df-h I now get this - hda3 data partition seems to have shrunk, and that was using the recommended partition on the installer sad.gif

CODE
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root               121.0M     54.7M     66.3M  45% /
none                     12.0M     28.0k     12.0M   0% /dev
/dev/hda1                 2.0G     32.1M      1.9G   2% /mnt/ide
/dev/hda3              1022.0M      8.0k   1022.0M   0% /data
/dev/mmcda1               1.9G    231.1M      1.6G  12% /mnt/card



Mark
-----
new 3200 from conics.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 14 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



It looks like something went wrong with your partitioning, did you format your partitions during pdaxii13 first boot?
(There's a dialog within the pdaxii13 installer that pops up after first boot, that asks if you want to format your partitions).
I cannot remember how to output this to a text file, here's a screenie of my df -h
Note, I had a CF card inserted, so my microdrive partitions are /hdc
My /hdc3 is 3.4G
Attached File(s)
Attached File  screencap2.png ( 177.13K ) Number of downloads: 22
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 14 2007, 02:34 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 14 2007, 06:06 PM)
It looks like something went wrong with your partitioning, did you format your partitions during pdaxii13 first boot?


I used meanies option 1 then flashed the rom. On reboot it asked me to format and I said yes. I guess I may have to redo it manually from the flash menu instead ... if I can work out what to put in, but I guess it is on the forum somwhere on doing it manually.

Mark
------
new C3200 from conics.net (Switching from Sharp to pdaXii13)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 14 2007, 03:20 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(markbedish @ Feb 15 2007, 08:34 AM)
QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 14 2007, 06:06 PM)
It looks like something went wrong with your partitioning, did you format your partitions during pdaxii13 first boot?


I used meanies option 1 then flashed the rom. On reboot it asked me to format and I said yes. I guess I may have to redo it manually from the flash menu instead ... if I can work out what to put in, but I guess it is on the forum somwhere on doing it manually.

Mark
------
new C3200 from conics.net (Switching from Sharp to pdaXii13)
*



was that with the Spitz or Akita installer? note the installer version..., ie v0.25...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 15 2007, 03:42 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 15 2007, 12:20 AM)
was that with the Spitz or Akita installer? note the installer version..., ie v0.25...


It was the Akita installer, version 0.2. Since then I reformatted fine with the 6g drive, but I want to get back to the recommended partition for the full version.

Perhaps when you have updated the full image I will try again as I am not confident using fdisk and mkfs. I have tried in the past but ended up with weird results like it showing 2 /dev/hda1!

Thanks.

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 15 2007, 05:25 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(markbedish @ Feb 15 2007, 09:42 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 15 2007, 12:20 AM)
was that with the Spitz or Akita installer? note the installer version..., ie v0.25...


It was the Akita installer, version 0.2. Since then I reformatted fine with the 6g drive, but I want to get back to the recommended partition for the full version.

Perhaps when you have updated the full image I will try again as I am not confident using fdisk and mkfs. I have tried in the past but ended up with weird results like it showing 2 /dev/hda1!

Thanks.

Mark
*



don't worry, you probably did it right. there are some versions of fdisk around for the zaurus that are buggy and display weird partition numbers and don't let you create partitions properly unless you reboot after each partition created/modified...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markbedish
post Feb 15 2007, 07:38 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 24-January 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,526



QUOTE
don't worry, you probably did it right. there are some versions of fdisk around for the zaurus that are buggy and display weird partition numbers and don't let you create partitions properly unless you reboot after each partition created/modified...


Well I reflashed again with akita installer and repartitioned as recommended.
after reboot it still shows only 1022M for hda3 as above post with 'df -h'.

From the flash installer, I then went to console shell and this showed the proper sizes! I am wondering what will happen if I dump 3gig of data onto it to test ...


PROBLEM SOLVED - I went back to the shell from the installer and redid mkfs.vfat for /dev/hdc3 and it now shows up fine in Akita (df -h). I am wondering there may be a problem with the format commands on the reboot after the initial install.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zedkatuf2
post Feb 22 2007, 01:25 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 6-March 05
Member No.: 6,578



QUOTE
PROBLEM SOLVED - I went back to the shell from the installer and redid mkfs.vfat for /dev/hdc3 and it now shows up fine in Akita (df -h). I am wondering there may be a problem with the format commands on the reboot after the initial install.
*


I had the same issue - I think it's because the installer uses a different version of mkfs.vat compared to the actual installed version.

mkfs.vfat from the installer is version 2.8 2001 & it gets the partition size correct.

I'd been going round in circles trying to get mkfs.vfat to give me my 3.5gig partition & it wasn't working until I tried the above (ie reboot into the installer & choose the console shell or whatever the menu option is & then do mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/hdc3 & then reboot back into pdaxiii)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 03:23 AM