OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Powernowd Cpu Frequency And Vcore Scaling Daemon, ... running on the pxa27x-based Zaurii
albertr
post Jun 9 2006, 09:14 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



http://www.iral.com/~albertr/linux/zaurus/powernowd.html

Let me know what do you think...

-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seiichiro0185
post Jun 9 2006, 11:41 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 23-August 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,931



QUOTE(albertr @ Jun 9 2006, 07:14 PM)
http://www.iral.com/~albertr/linux/zaurus/powernowd.html

Let me know what do you think...

-albertr
*


sounds good, I would love to try this, unfortunalety the download-link for the ipk on your page doesn't work (I have no crosscompiling-env so I can't compile it myself..).

seiichiro0185
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Jun 9 2006, 11:48 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Sorry, link is fixed now.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seiichiro0185
post Jun 9 2006, 01:14 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 23-August 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,931



dl worked now, install went fine, and I linked the script to the apm-dirs like you said on the page

my first test looks very good. scaling works good as far as i can see (I looked at /proc/zaurus/CCCR when idle and under load, and it changed happy.gif)
suspend and resume works ok, and the scaling works after suspend/resume
the zaurus now feels a little "snappier" (it seems programms load a little faster, but I have not timed the loading with/without powernowd so far)
all in all it seems to be a usefull piece of software, especially as one should also experience longer battery lifetime (hopefully)..

thanks for this!

seiichiro0185

PS.: I will use this for now and report back if something goes wrong. I also will make some tests on battery lifetime and application loading time with and without powernowd if I have some spare time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Jun 9 2006, 02:53 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Battery life should improve quite a bit. What /etc/powernowd.conf file do you use?
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seiichiro0185
post Jun 9 2006, 11:09 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 23-August 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,931



QUOTE(albertr @ Jun 10 2006, 12:53 AM)
Battery life should improve quite a bit. What /etc/powernowd.conf file do you use?
-albertr
*


I'm using the undervolted one from your website ATM. Right now the zaurus is charging, after that's complete I will start some tests.

seiichiro0185
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rmesek
post Jun 9 2006, 11:41 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,816



Will this work on an SL6000? I think it has a PXA CPU.


QUOTE(albertr @ Jun 9 2006, 01:14 PM)
http://www.iral.com/~albertr/linux/zaurus/powernowd.html

Let me know what do you think...

-albertr
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jun 10 2006, 12:03 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



checking it out now, btw how do you apply patches? And this will work with just the regular cacko install correct? I took a quick peek at the patches, looks like the cacko kernel wont need those patches, of course I could be wrong...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Jun 10 2006, 03:48 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



I think cacko already has these patches, also tetsu kernel has them, and possibly old pre-2.6 kernel pdaXrom. It would work only on pxa270-based Zaurii, i.e. C1000/3x00. The easy way to check if you kernel has them already - just take a look if there's /proc/zaurus/CCCR and /proc/zaurus/VCORE exist.

Also, I completely forgot that if you use root account and don't have sudo installed, then edit /etc/rc.d/init.d/powernowd script and change the first line from:
CODE
#!sudo /bin/sh


to:

CODE
#!bin/sh


If you run as a non-root user, you need to have sudo installed.

-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jun 10 2006, 09:48 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



now for the symlinking, actually I just created two scripts, one in suspend and one in resume, that just suspend and resume the daemon, this would be appropriate as well, correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Jun 10 2006, 10:05 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



For the script examples, please take a look at the ipk.

-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ldrolez
post Jun 24 2006, 08:23 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 16-May 06
From: France, Metz
Member No.: 9,882



Hi !

Powernowd does not work as expected on my Cacko 1.23. The reason is that most of the processes are niced to '10' (why ?!).
So three solutions:
- launch powernowd with '-n'
- or modify the code to take into account the processes niced at 10
- or find a way to 'denice' the processes launched by qtopia.

Cheers,

Ludo.

PS: One time my keyboard freezed just before suspend. Needed a reset.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Jun 24 2006, 11:56 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



So if you run powernowd with "-n" option, does it work?

As far us suspend goes, did you kill powernowd BEFORE suspending?

-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jun 24 2006, 06:10 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



I think I will retry with stock+tetsu this time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ldrolez
post Jun 25 2006, 12:41 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 16-May 06
From: France, Metz
Member No.: 9,882



QUOTE(albertr @ Jun 24 2006, 09:56 PM)
So if you run powernowd with "-n" option, does it work?

Yes but real niced processes (at 20), are taken into account.

QUOTE
As far us suspend goes, did you kill powernowd BEFORE suspending?


Yes I used you ipk.

Cheers,

Ludo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 01:19 PM