OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vulnerability In Opera
dsavard
post Dec 8 2004, 08:22 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Somewhere near Montreal, QC Canada
Member No.: 4,267



Secunia has reported a vulnerability which affect all web browsers, including Opera. There is also a story on /.

I checked and this vulnerability exists on the Opera version shipped with the Z6K (7.25). It seems latest version of Opera is not vulnerable (7.54).

Anybidy knows how Opera can be upgraded on the Zaurus and if there is a cost?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post Dec 9 2004, 02:01 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package. It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Dec 22 2004, 12:22 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 10 2004, 01:01 AM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package. It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

No, it's not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post Dec 22 2004, 10:26 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Dec 22 2004, 03:22 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 10 2004, 01:01 AM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

No, it's not.

Yes, it's in the /home/zaurus/.opera directory (if you were to extract it) and it's called "opera_arm.ipk"
look in the postinst
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Dec 24 2004, 08:20 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 22 2004, 01:26 PM)
QUOTE(maslovsky @ Dec 22 2004, 03:22 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 10 2004, 01:01 AM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

No, it's not.

Yes, it's in the /home/zaurus/.opera directory (if you were to extract it) and it's called "opera_arm.ipk"
look in the postinst

I'm in the process of repackaging this for my 5500 and 5600 with oz3.5.2 and this is the control file from the opera.ipk in the multimodal_arm.ipk:

Package: opera
Version: 7.55.6079
Architecture: arm
Maintainer: Stein Kulseth <steink@opera.com>
Priority: optional
Section: web
Description: The Opera Web Browser
Welcome to the Opera Web browser. It is smaller, faster,
customizable, powerful, yet user-friendly. Opera eliminates
sluggish performance, HTML standard violations, desktop
domination, and instability. This robust Web browser lets you
navigate the Web at incredible speed and offers you the best
Internet experience.

With a little effort this should work on a 6000?

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post Dec 24 2004, 12:57 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



It should work with no effort. When you download it it says it's for the 5600 and 6000. So hopefully eveything will work without tweaking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Dec 24 2004, 01:07 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 22 2004, 09:26 PM)
QUOTE(maslovsky @ Dec 22 2004, 03:22 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 10 2004, 01:01 AM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

No, it's not.

Yes, it's in the /home/zaurus/.opera directory (if you were to extract it) and it's called "opera_arm.ipk"
look in the postinst

What I mean is that Opera is there in the package but that version is still affected by the vulnerability...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Jan 1 2005, 12:31 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 9 2004, 04:01 PM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

I registered, downloaded & extracted & installed the opera_arm.ipk, and ipkg shows it's installed, but there's still no application icon, even after a reboot. Anybody know what else I need to do? thks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnKiniston
post Jan 1 2005, 01:12 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 213
Joined: 13-May 04
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 3,262



QUOTE(grog @ Jan 1 2005, 01:31 PM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 9 2004, 04:01 PM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

I registered, downloaded & extracted & installed the opera_arm.ipk, and ipkg shows it's installed, but there's still no application icon, even after a reboot. Anybody know what else I need to do? thks

Which rom are you using?

Did you use ipkg-link to link it to root if you installed it on SD or CF?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Jan 2 2005, 09:05 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(JohnKiniston @ Jan 1 2005, 03:12 PM)
QUOTE(grog @ Jan 1 2005, 01:31 PM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Dec 9 2004, 04:01 PM)
Opera 7.55 is burried in the WebSphere Everyplace Multimodal Environment package.  It's free but you have to register first.

http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/downl...p?go=y&rs=wsmee

Hope it has the patch.

I registered, downloaded & extracted & installed the opera_arm.ipk, and ipkg shows it's installed, but there's still no application icon, even after a reboot. Anybody know what else I need to do? thks

Which rom are you using?

Did you use ipkg-link to link it to root if you installed it on SD or CF?

I installed to my internal memory not to a card, so I'm assuming that ipkg-link isn't required? As for what ROM, it's OPIE-OZ 3.5.2 - I've seen discussions of other 'types', but how can I tell which one I'm using? And where to I get the different types? There was only the one set
here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post Jan 2 2005, 09:48 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Dec 24 2004, 04:07 PM)
What I mean is that Opera is there in the package but that version is still affected by the vulnerability...

Ahh. Ok. It makes sense.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post Jan 2 2005, 09:56 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



grog,

This Opera installs all the packages to /home/QtPalmtop/bin but OZ looks in the /opt/QtPalmtop/bin. You have to symlink it all by hand,
CODE
ln -s /home/QtPalmtop/bin/opera /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
ln -s ...


PS I found this version to be very unstable which I just wanted to tell you before you spent the time fixing it

Have fun!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Jan 3 2005, 05:44 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Jan 2 2005, 11:56 AM)
PS  I found this version to be very unstable which I just wanted to tell you before you spent the time fixing it

Thanks for the tip. So what is the best *STABLE* version of opera then? 6 or 7.3 seem to be the other two available AFAIK. thks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnKiniston
post Jan 3 2005, 08:34 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 213
Joined: 13-May 04
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 3,262



QUOTE(grog @ Jan 3 2005, 06:44 PM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ Jan 2 2005, 11:56 AM)
PS  I found this version to be very unstable which I just wanted to tell you before you spent the time fixing it

Thanks for the tip. So what is the best *STABLE* version of opera then? 6 or 7.3 seem to be the other two available AFAIK. thks

6 seems to be the best version under OpenZaurus 3.5.2 from my experience.

7.x seemed slower and crashed a lot more often.

I still have problems with 6 loading blank pages at times.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Jan 4 2005, 03:22 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(JohnKiniston @ Jan 3 2005, 10:34 PM)
6 seems to be the best version under OpenZaurus 3.5.2 from my experience.

7.x seemed slower and crashed a lot more often.

I still have problems with 6 loading blank pages at times.

I've noticed that with 7.3 too. I'm going to try going back to 6 for a while & see if that's better for me. I don't know what's supposed to make 7.X worth while, but for my simple needs I doubt I'll be missing anything :?).

thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 06:59 PM