OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 6000l And Oz/gpe, wifi support and a missing app
bazmi
post Jun 27 2006, 01:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 16-January 04
From: vasteras, sweden
Member No.: 1,454



hi,

tried OZ/GPE on my 6000L after a long time and very impressed with its progress. but some issues remain for me:

1. can the wifi be configured via the GUI? or is it command line only? i have an WEP encrypted network at home.

2, missing portabase on the GPE. this is something i use daily. other stuff of regular use ( iqnotes, FBReader, pdf, freenote, kapi) all seem to be available.

thanks in advance,

/bazmi.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
samot
post Jun 27 2006, 02:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 23-April 06
From: Buenos Aires
Member No.: 9,684



QUOTE(bazmi @ Jun 27 2006, 01:51 PM)
hi,

tried OZ/GPE on my 6000L after a long time and very impressed with its progress. but some issues remain for me:

1. can the wifi be configured via the GUI? or is it command line only? i have an WEP encrypted network at home.

2, missing portabase on the GPE. this is something i use daily. other stuff of regular use ( iqnotes, FBReader, pdf, freenote, kapi) all seem to be available.

thanks in advance,

/bazmi.
*


I'm prety new in GPE. I've got a sl-5500 with a WCF12 wifi card. I use an applet called "wireles lan control" it can scan for networks and when yo find the one you are looking for tap on it for a while untill a menu apears and there ad the all the data needed to conect. Close tha dialog, tap again and on the menue pres "try to conect". It worked for me, dont know if its the same wis sl-6000 with built in wifi.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 17 2006, 02:25 PM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I found I had to turn on the wifi adaptor on my 6000 before the applet would allow configuration... I added that to the OZ wiki.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nevarrie
post Jul 17 2006, 07:02 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Kansas City Kansas
Member No.: 1,112



QUOTE(bazmi @ Jun 27 2006, 03:51 PM)
1. can the wifi be configured via the GUI? or is it command line only? i have an WEP encrypted network at home.
/bazmi.
*


The gui for gpe does not understand the wlan-ng that controls the built-in USB wifi card. I am working on getting wlanfe or wlanfe2 to compile and run on my 6k but it has not happoned yet. I understand that OPIE maybe able to control the internal WIFI but I have not test this myself(I may do that this week just to see if the usb0 problem happons on opie with 2.6 and 2.4 kernel).

This is on my list of things that need to be done to get OZ/GPE working on sl-6k so hopefully we will get someone modify the current network tool to add an option of wlan-ng wifi cards or get a wifi program that work just for the wlan-ng interface.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 18 2006, 12:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Hi,
the gui for GPE will configure wlan0, BUT, it will only do so when it's already active (so I say "duh" to the lack of testing).

if you use "usbctl 1 on" so wlan0 appears you can then use the network config panel.

see the other thread on the OZ/common for some things you can do to make life easier when running 3.5.4.1 rc with kernel 2.6:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...ndpost&p=135578

This post has been edited by speculatrix: Jul 18 2006, 12:27 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 02:12 AM