OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wireless Not Working At All :(, Trying to get wireless working.
Andmann
post Jul 1 2007, 06:23 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 3-November 05
From: Toronto. Canada
Member No.: 8,456



Hi all,

I am running R198 SP8 on a C1000.
I have 2 wireless cards. The ambicom 1100 card and the symbol spectrum card.

At this point the Ambicom cards light flashes and thatís it. I have to bring up the wlan0 interface to get it to be seen with ifconfig.

I can't get the Symbol card to do anything. I have found and put the files in the correct spot as posted here but still no go.

I have the latest wifi radar and all the goodies.
I don't use the unit all that much because I don't have any access. I would love to be able to scan for wireless networks and then log into which one I can or have access too.
I run WPA at home and would love to get it going on that as I am sure more users would.
If my cards are too old then I would like to upgrade the firmware if I have to so long as someone lets me know how and where I can get the firmware.

If I have to will be go out and buy a brand-new card if someone can let me know which card is the best for scanning and WPA etc.

Sorry for this being long but I really want to get it up and running and finally in a state that allows me to use it and enjoy it.

Thanks in advance.

Andreas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 1 2007, 06:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



When I use my Ambicom card, you have to configure it to get it to work. To get on to any close open network, try

CODE
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed essid any;dhcpcd wlan0


Or install my Wlanconfig2 tool. I'm going to try to add in WPA, so it may become more useful to you later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fushnchupsh
post Jul 1 2007, 06:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 9-October 05
Member No.: 8,282



Aye, zeigerpuppy and IU have been working to find some sort of solution. However, speaking for myself I am not a gifted coder or anything of the sort. The card worked before I installed the sp's (after dropping the firmware in the right spot). Something must have broken inbetween. Dmesg and cardctl ident id the card, as well.

Since the net has been a defunct function I haven't really been using my Z all that much.

--Fishj
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andmann
post Jul 1 2007, 08:20 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 3-November 05
From: Toronto. Canada
Member No.: 8,456



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 1 2007, 10:46 AM)
When I use my Ambicom card, you have to configure it to get it to work. To get on to any close open network, try

CODE
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed essid any;dhcpcd wlan0


Or install my Wlanconfig2 tool. I'm going to try to add in WPA, so it may become more useful to you later.
*


Hey thanks, Your iwconfig suggestion got it up no probs.

I am going to search for you tool now and give it a shot.

thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 2 2007, 05:52 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



It's in the first post of the "New Wireless Config Utility" thread.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 03:31 AM