OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help! My Zaurus Has Died!, Totally dead
pfschuyler
post Nov 15 2006, 02:38 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 19-April 06
Member No.: 9,658



Greetings!

My SL-C1000 has just completely done dead on me. I was wondering if this had happened to anyone else. It was working perfect on a recent trip, and I came back home and then put it on the shelf. I now try to start it, and there is no response at all...just a dead black screen.

I've of course tried to remove the battery, recharge it, etc. There is the tiniest little rattling sound, which would imply that it had suffered an impact or something. The problem is, I don't remember ever dropping it! There are also no exterior signs of damage...its in great condition.

Has anyone had this issue before? Do you think if I sent it back to Japan they might fix it?

Thanks!

Paul Schuyler
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Nov 15 2006, 02:48 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Have you tried to enter the diagnostics menu or flash menu?

Try the following:

- Remove battery and AC
- Hold Fn+D+M keys firmly and during that
- reinsert the battery and switch the battery switch to the locked position
- Release the three keys

What happens?

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pfschuyler
post Nov 15 2006, 03:49 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 19-April 06
Member No.: 9,658



It worked! You're a genius!

It simply came back on, even though I had already tried the battery/ac combo. This is what's great about owning a Zaurus, the userbase of people like you that seem to know as much as the company's engineers. Thanks!

What do you think it was that was causing the problem?

Regards,

Paul Schuyler

QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Nov 15 2006, 02:48 PM)
Have you tried to enter the diagnostics menu or flash menu?

Try the following:

- Remove battery and AC
- Hold Fn+D+M keys firmly and during that
- reinsert the battery and switch the battery switch to the locked position
- Release the three keys

What happens?

daniel
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Nov 16 2006, 12:40 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(pfschuyler @ Nov 16 2006, 01:49 AM)
It worked! You're a genius!

It simply came back on, even though I had already tried the battery/ac combo. This is what's great about owning a Zaurus, the userbase of people like you that seem to know as much as the company's engineers. Thanks!

What do you think it was that was causing the problem?
*


I really don't know what caused the problem.

However, I wonder if in your case the diagnostics menu came up (It should)?
Or did the Zaurus simply boot Linux again? That would be strange.

But good that it helped, one way or another smile.gif

After all these horror stories about "bricked" Zauri when I began to use the Zaurus, I have learned in the meantime that the Zauri are actually almost unbrickable.

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Nov 16 2006, 05:10 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



I think maybe your battery was very flat - even on AC the Z wont start unless there is some charge in the battery. The diagnostic key-ombos override that check.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Connell
post Jan 1 2007, 04:16 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-June 04
Member No.: 3,711



A few questions, for a C700 with the blinking mail light problem.
(I hope this question is in the theme of this topic)

--> From many other posts ... this seems to be a NAND problem

The service menu is accessible with the Fn+D+M procedure.

Before trying a NAND restore .........

......... What is NAND ?
.......... Are the PIM data stored there ?
.......... Can you backup the PIM data (perhaps as part of a system backup from the service menu) and the retrieve the PIM data .... somehow ?

....... a silly question ... where is the "reset" button on the C700 ?

Simon Connell
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 1 2007, 05:35 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(Connell @ Jan 1 2007, 07:16 PM)
A few questions, for a C700 with the blinking mail light problem.
(I hope this question is in the theme of this topic)

--> From many other posts ... this seems to be a NAND problem

The service menu is accessible with the Fn+D+M procedure.

Before trying a NAND restore .........

......... What is NAND ?
.......... Are the PIM data stored there ?
.......... Can you backup the PIM data (perhaps as part of a system backup from the service menu) and the retrieve the PIM data .... somehow ?

....... a silly question ... where is the "reset" button on the C700 ?

Simon Connell
*


NAND is the flash memory where the OS and applications are stored, so, yes, the PIM data is stored there. I believe that you can do a NAND backup with your current setup, then mount it inside of a new installation and get data out. I have not done this, but I saw a thread somewhere (try searching for "mount NAND" or "mount backup" without quotes) saying you could do it. I would wait to try it until you know, however.

I think that there is no reset button on any 7xx or 8xx model. You just pull the battery out, as far as I know.

Hope this helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cyberdoc1971
post Jan 1 2007, 05:50 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 14-October 05
From: North carolina
Member No.: 8,316



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 1 2007, 08:35 PM)
QUOTE(Connell @ Jan 1 2007, 07:16 PM)
A few questions, for a C700 with the blinking mail light problem.
(I hope this question is in the theme of this topic)

--> From many other posts ... this seems to be a NAND problem

The service menu is accessible with the Fn+D+M procedure.

Before trying a NAND restore .........

......... What is NAND ?
.......... Are the PIM data stored there ?
.......... Can you backup the PIM data (perhaps as part of a system backup from the service menu) and the retrieve the PIM data .... somehow ?

....... a silly question ... where is the "reset" button on the C700 ?

Simon Connell
*


NAND is the flash memory where the OS and applications are stored, so, yes, the PIM data is stored there. I believe that you can do a NAND backup with your current setup, then mount it inside of a new installation and get data out. I have not done this, but I saw a thread somewhere (try searching for "mount NAND" or "mount backup" without quotes) saying you could do it. I would wait to try it until you know, however.

I think that there is no reset button on any 7xx or 8xx model. You just pull the battery out, as far as I know.

Hope this helps.
*



Is there a way to check if you have any bad NAND?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 2 2007, 11:01 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(Cyberdoc1971 @ Jan 1 2007, 08:50 PM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 1 2007, 08:35 PM)
QUOTE(Connell @ Jan 1 2007, 07:16 PM)
A few questions, for a C700 with the blinking mail light problem.
(I hope this question is in the theme of this topic)

--> From many other posts ... this seems to be a NAND problem

The service menu is accessible with the Fn+D+M procedure.

Before trying a NAND restore .........

......... What is NAND ?
.......... Are the PIM data stored there ?
.......... Can you backup the PIM data (perhaps as part of a system backup from the service menu) and the retrieve the PIM data .... somehow ?

....... a silly question ... where is the "reset" button on the C700 ?

Simon Connell
*


NAND is the flash memory where the OS and applications are stored, so, yes, the PIM data is stored there. I believe that you can do a NAND backup with your current setup, then mount it inside of a new installation and get data out. I have not done this, but I saw a thread somewhere (try searching for "mount NAND" or "mount backup" without quotes) saying you could do it. I would wait to try it until you know, however.

I think that there is no reset button on any 7xx or 8xx model. You just pull the battery out, as far as I know.

Hope this helps.
*



Is there a way to check if you have any bad NAND?
*



I think there is an option to check your memory in the Fn+D+M menu.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th December 2014 - 06:18 PM