OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Suspend Not Turning Off Screen
danboid
post Oct 3 2015, 01:57 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



I've just installed OBSD 5.8 CURRENT on my C3000 but unfortunately suspend isn't working properly. The screen fades to grey instead of being turned off and it does that if I push the suspend button or I run:

zzz -S
zzz -z
apm -S
apm -z

As per http://www.planetofidiots.com/zaurus/#afterbootAnchor I've added

CODE
apmd_flags=""


to /etc/rc.conf.local and I've also added

CODE
machdep.lidsuspend=0


to /etc/sysctl.conf and rebooted but I still have the same problem.

I wonder if this works under 5.7?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 3 2015, 02:11 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



CODE
halt -p


Also fades my screen to grey but unlike the zzz and apm commands you can't reverse it. Instead I have to pull the battery.

How am I supposed to turn off my Z under OBSD?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 3 2015, 02:52 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



As I recall, think I used shutdown command.....

And then think I pulled out battery....

Don't think you can get it to actually power down/off.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 02:39 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



Now that you've installed 5.8, is suspend working for you? I'm only really bothered about it working under the console as I don't think I'll be using X much.

The promise of a working suspend, as made on the OBSD/zaurus homepage, is the main reason I installed this over trying to get Arch to work so I'll be reporting this as a bug if its not been reported already.

I just hope one of the OBSD devs still cares and still has a working Z!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 03:35 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



I'm going to try 5.7 before I report this as a bug

BUT

It seems there is no OBSD bug tracker! They just have a bug tracking ML!

And they still use cvs! Its all super-retro stuff this! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 06:15 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



I've now downgraded to 5.7 but I'm still having exactly the same problems with suspend.

I wonder if there is a magic option I could use for the apmd_flags that could fix this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 4 2015, 08:21 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(danboid @ Oct 4 2015, 03:39 AM) *
Now that you've installed 5.8, is suspend working for you? I'm only really bothered about it working under the console as I don't think I'll be using X much.

The promise of a working suspend, as made on the OBSD/zaurus homepage, is the main reason I installed this over trying to get Arch to work so I'll be reporting this as a bug if its not been reported already.


Well, I think so......

The screen goes 'dark gray' after a while of non-use. Looks the same as when the Zaurus is turned off....at least to my ol' eyes.....

If I tap on the screen it wakes up and I can continue using Zaurus....


QUOTE
I just hope one of the OBSD devs still cares and still has a working Z!


From what I understand there's not much interest among the devs for Z's nowadays....but they continue to include it in OBSD updates....not sure I'd say they actually support it much....

There are one or two on the mailing list that are still interested in Z's from what I understand....best bet I think if you want something fixed is to put a message out on that list requesting bug fix....

Meanwhile, hope to try building some packages today....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 09:15 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 4 2015, 05:21 PM) *
Well, I think so......

The screen goes 'dark gray' after a while of non-use. Looks the same as when the Zaurus is turned off....at least to my ol' eyes.....

If I tap on the screen it wakes up and I can continue using Zaurus....


It sounds like we're getting different results then. Maybe suspend does work on C3200 but not the C3000?

I have not seen any kind of screen saver kick in under the OBSD console but you say your screen goes grey after a while of non-use?

I was expecting my screen to look exactly as it does either when its turned off or like when its suspended under cacko when I suspend it. This is not what I'm getting. I would describe the usual screen state when its suspended as having no colour - not grey.

I've not got very far with OBSD. I can't use my PLANEX GW-CF11X wifi card with OBSD until I flash the firmware onto it. I have a USB CF card reader for my PC but it doesn't see my CF wifi card under Linux or Windows so I think I'd have to flash Linux back onto my Z just to flash the CF wifi firmware or buy a new wifi card.

I was hoping to be able to use urndis under OBSD with my phone plugged in to the USB port with USB connection tethering enabled but I've had no luck with this. If its not me not knowing how to use OBSD, which I don't, then maybe its because the Z only has USB 1 OTG and my phone only talks USB 2+? So as it stands I can't access any ports or the internet at large on my Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 09:47 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



ifconfig says I have a cdcef0 device but I've not configured it. Do you know if I'd need to configure or disable cdcef0, set any kernel options or load any modules to get urndis to work? Have you ever tried tethering to a phone?

USB tethering works fine between my phone and my Arch laptop but when I plug my phone into the Z via the OTG cable, enabling USB tethering isn't an option on my phone. I'm running CyanogenMod 12.1 / Android 5.1.1 on a SGS3 so its rooted as standard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 4 2015, 10:09 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(danboid @ Oct 4 2015, 10:15 AM) *
It sounds like we're getting different results then. Maybe suspend does work on C3200 but not the C3000?

I have not seen any kind of screen saver kick in under the OBSD console but you say your screen goes grey after a while of non-use?

I was expecting my screen to look exactly as it does either when its turned off or like when its suspended under cacko when I suspend it. This is not what I'm getting. I would describe the usual screen state when its suspended as having no colour - not grey.


As far as I know, it should work the same on the C3000.....

Yes, after awhile (not sure exactly...maybe 15 minutes or so...), the screen goes dark......then when I tap on screen, it turns on and I'm seeing where I was before.....

QUOTE
I've not got very far with OBSD. I can't use my PLANEX GW-CF11X wifi card with OBSD until I flash the firmware onto it. I have a USB CF card reader for my PC but it doesn't see my CF wifi card under Linux or Windows so I think I'd have to flash Linux back onto my Z just to flash the CF wifi firmware or buy a new wifi card.


I found the Socket 10/100 CF Ethernet card works great and was recognized by OBSD during install....and I'm using it now.....

As for wifi card, I have an Ambicom card that as I recall I got working when I last used OBSD a year ago...

Think if you read through some of the old threads here you'll see which cards people found worked well with OBSD...

QUOTE
I was hoping to be able to use urndis under OBSD with my phone plugged in to the USB port with USB connection tethering enabled but I've had no luck with this. If its not me not knowing how to use OBSD, which I don't, then maybe its because the Z only has USB 1 OTG and my phone only talks USB 2+? So as it stands I can't access any ports or the internet at large on my Z.


QUOTE(danboid @ Oct 4 2015, 10:47 AM) *
ifconfig says I have a cdcef0 device but I've not configured it. Do you know if I'd need to configure or disable cdcef0, set any kernel options or load any modules to get urndis to work? Have you ever tried tethering to a phone?

USB tethering works fine between my phone and my Arch laptop but when I plug my phone into the Z via the OTG cable, enabling USB tethering isn't an option on my phone. I'm running CyanogenMod 12.1 / Android 5.1.1 on a SGS3 so its rooted as standard.


Never tried tethering......sorry about that.....again, you could scan other threads and see if anyone did that....

Meanwhile, in process of building Nano.....was able to build it before....so, good test....before going on to more complex or larger programs.....
Build been going on for about 55 minutes now....takes time to build on Z......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 10:36 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



55 minutes and counting to build nano!?! Ouch! I dread the thought of trying to build a recent Linux kernel on the Z! Have you overclocked it or have you just left it at the standard clock?

I suspect there is a chance that if I get OpenBSD installed on my BPi or I install netbsd on both my Z and BPi, I think I may be able to use the same packages on both and hence build stuff a lot faster by just building stuff on the Bpi. RaspBSD (which is based on FreeBSD 11) got released for the BananaPi yesterday but I've not tried it yet.

My next step is to install pdaXii13, flash my CF wifi firmware from under that (using prism2_srec as detailed here http://linux.junsun.net/intersil-prism/ ) then re-install OBSD. If that doesn't work then I'll have to buy a new interface.

I want to get networking sorted under OBSD before I report any bugs as they'll be asking me to check out code and compile stuff if a dev responds. I'd also need networking sorted to use sendbug too, which I believe is the preferred way under OBSD to report a bug.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 10:42 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



Shouldn't you be building vim instead? wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 4 2015, 10:44 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Nano is still building...... smile.gif

Yes, not exactly the fastest build box to use.....

It is possible to build on a regular desktop or laptop and do it faster....but I never got around to setting up NFS server as noted on planetofidiots.....

A year ago when trondd and I were rolling along building, he setup a page to share built packages. So, we shared the load of building....

Would be glad to share whatever I build with you to save you time....and hope you can do the same...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Oct 4 2015, 10:52 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(danboid @ Oct 4 2015, 11:42 AM) *
Shouldn't you be building vim instead? wink.gif


What's vim?

rolleyes.gif


Maybe I should be, but I find nano works well for my simple usage purposes....

Still building........

About 1.5 hours and counting.....

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 4 2015, 12:52 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 26-December 05
From: England
Member No.: 8,789



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Oct 4 2015, 07:44 PM) *
Nano is still building...... smile.gif

Yes, not exactly the fastest build box to use.....

It is possible to build on a regular desktop or laptop and do it faster....but I never got around to setting up NFS server as noted on planetofidiots.....

A year ago when trondd and I were rolling along building, he setup a page to share built packages. So, we shared the load of building....

Would be glad to share whatever I build with you to save you time....and hope you can do the same...


I'm sure using NFS would make it a bit faster than using the MD or a CF but not much. I had a quick look at the planetofidiots NFS instructions and it sounds like the Z is still doing the compilation so it'd still be slow as hell.

I'm not so sure about using OBSD if I can't get suspend working. If I can get networking up under OBSD I'll report the bug and if it gets fixed then I'll give OBSD a proper shot but otherwise using Arch sounds like a better option as I'd get to spend more time actually using my Z and less time compiling the world. It seems Ubuntu 9.04 was the end of armel support and I don't know if anyone has managed to get a recent Debian running on the C3x00. If I do end up using OBSD then yes, I'd be happy to help with the building of packages.

Do you know the max size CF card I can use under OBSD on the Z and is there a guide to swapping out a MicroDrive? I expect its straightforward - just a case of unscrewing the back? I hope so!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 09:08 AM