OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Abicom Wlc1100c-cf, Which is broken? Z or CF?
fix3r
post Dec 21 2007, 09:16 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 11-December 07
Member No.: 21,065



Well, I just got my Zaurus C1000 2 days ago. I alos got my AmbiCom 2 days ago however I bought it used from someone. This think lookgs brand new, I was very impressed..

Well, this is what happens. I plug my AmbiCom into its CF slot, and its either:

a) I do some stuff, browser some sites, go to google, BOOM .. white screen pops up and locks my Zaurus out until I remove the CF Card from its slot
cool.gif Instantly when I put in my card into the slot I get white screen
c) When I try to do a package install it usually gives me a white screen (when I have my ambicom in)

I don't know if it is my Zaurus or not though. I have no way of checking this AmbiCom out to see if it works anywhere else. I have the slightest suspician that it is actually my Zaurus but I just don't know..

I wasted $400+ for my Zaurus+this CF Card+4gig SDHC card..

I bought it overseas so there really isn't any way to return this thing and I am still contemplating buying another CF Card and chucking away another $70 to just test and see if this thing works..

Since there is no Wireless CF Cards at circuit city, bestbuy, radioshack, ect.. i have to buy it online which pretty much narrows my chance of returning it VERY SLIM..

what Do you guys think?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Drake01
post Dec 21 2007, 11:38 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 226
Joined: 29-March 06
Member No.: 9,483



Some people seem to have good luck with the Ambicom card, but a number of people have experienced this problem. This thread has some info, but I haven't found anything to help me. I've flashed the firmware on the card a few times while trying to find a version that works. I've gone back to my Symbol card, which works great but doesn't support WPA (the only reason I tried upgrading to the Ambicom card).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eviLjazz
post Dec 22 2007, 05:29 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 11-December 03
From: Oldenburg, Germany
Member No.: 1,155



I got one of the new Ambicom WL1100C-CF produced in 2006/2007 based on the Prism 3 chipset (NCID 0x801B) yesterday. It came with station firmware 1.8.0, which doesn't support WPA encryption. Like my D-Link DCF-660W I flashed it to 1.8.2, which does support WPA. It works perfectly. Don't use 1.8.4 as it is unstable (drops packets) - I experienced it first hand.
Flash instructions and firmwares are here: http://linux.junsun.net/intersil-prism/
I've used the prism2_srec tool which is included in Cacko and probably in pdaXrom too. "sf010802.hex" is the name of the station firmware I used.

fix3r, I read that the white-out happens because the card is drawing too much power. This happened with my very first San-Disk Wifi Card sometimes. What ROM do you use?
You could try to enable the power management on the card via the console:
sudo iwconfig wlan0 power 1
Perhaps this helps.

Update:
Just for the record:

zaurus@ansari:~$ sudo hostap_diag wlan0
Host AP driver diagnostics information for 'wlan0'

NICID: id=0x801b v1.0.0 (PRISM III PCMCIA (SST parallel flash))
PRIID: id=0x0015 v1.1.1
STAID: id=0x001f v1.8.2 (station firmware)



This post has been edited by eviLjazz: Dec 22 2007, 05:46 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fix3r
post Dec 22 2007, 09:53 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 11-December 07
Member No.: 21,065



NICID: id=0x801b v1.0.0 (PRISM III PCMCIA (SST parallel flash))
PRIID: id=0x0015 v1.1.1
STAID: id=0x001f v1.8.2 (station firmware)

These are the exact same as mine. However, It said on http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Wireless_Card_Support

that this card was prism 2.5 .. thats actually the reason I got it. I need a prism 2 or 2.5 card but this says it's prism 3?

Is there any reason to make it a prism 2.5 card? However yes, it does seem like its a power problem.

If anyone has any suggestions for wirelesss cards (prism 2/2.5) that have none of these problems in C1000 please tell me

This happens on all roms btw, I have tried the default rom(which works a little better but still produces a white screen at points), pdaxii3, pdaxii13, and I am not on angstrom since this is the rom that can actually detect my sdhc card.


EDIT
-----------------------------------

I saw a great deal with for a linksys WCF12 card for $35 so I had to take it. Hopefully this will do better with my Zaurus


ANOTHER QUICK EDIT
-----------------------------------

<bgold> hahaha wow my ambicom really !@#$'s up my zaurus
<bgold> i put it in, i look at the cpu monitor, cpu: 86%; memory: 98742302%
<bgold> that is exact numbers, not even lieing

^=, thats me btw
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 06:26 AM