OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using Internal Flash As Swap?
Jinidog
post May 26 2005, 02:36 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 6,985



Hello,

I own a SL-5600 and want to have swap.
(I have gentoo installed and it needs swap for compiling)
At the moment I'm using a swapfile mounted over NFS, a relly slow solution and no solution when the PDA isn't docked.
So, I thought I might use the internal flash.
I have my system installed on a SD-card, which I boot with the help of the rbooot-script.
I might need the stuff on mtdblock2 as a rescue system, but mtdblock3 isn't needed for it.
So I can make a swappartition out of it and use it.

BUT:
Flash memory is known to have a limited lifetime, a limited count of write cycles to be exact. (that's why I don't want a swapfile on the SD-card)
Is it the same with the internal flash of the poodle?
Using it as swap would kill it very soon, I fear.

Do you know other possibilitys?

Thanks for your thoughts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post May 26 2005, 02:56 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Iv been using tkc v1 with a 8MB swap on my 5500 RAM for 1 1/5 years with no problems.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jinidog
post May 26 2005, 03:05 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 6,985



As far as I know the 5500 only has RAM. It has no internal flash.
But that is not true for the 5600.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post May 26 2005, 03:17 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(Jinidog @ May 26 2005, 11:05 AM)
As far as I know the 5500 only has RAM. It has no internal flash.
But that is not true for the 5600.
*


the 5500 (and 5000) has 14mb off internal flash. It's easy to check: remove the battery for a few hours and see if everything is still there.
Internal flash is flash too (duh....), so swapping on it isn't the way to go. I use an SD card for swap on my c700 and that works pretty well, especially with kernel 2.6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jinidog
post May 26 2005, 03:27 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 6,985



But the SD-card is flash, too. So you are cutting down it's lifetime?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mag1c
post May 26 2005, 03:32 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 04
Member No.: 1,363



QUOTE(Jinidog @ May 26 2005, 12:27 PM)
But the SD-card is flash, too. So you are cutting down it's lifetime?
*


Right, but you can replace the SD by a newer one. What will you do if internal flash ist broken ... ?

Greets
Mag1c
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 03:26 AM