OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hybrid Rom documentation
tux
post Oct 27 2003, 04:37 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 450
Joined: 12-August 03
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 346



Having a bit of spare time, I should have been in bed, I downloaded and flashed the hybrid rom version 1 and even got the install script to put things on my sd card.

I also tried the newer version and got that to flash. Question: where does it tell you which sync software is appropriate and which version of the pim software.? Or have I missed a 'page' completely and I'm supposed to use opie apps or some other source of software?

If you tell me to go to the homepage, please tell me where this information is... I have looked..Honest!

At present I have the Kompany rom and the version 3.xx windows software and usb drivers. Th hybrid didn't want to sync or talk to the desktop: hence my question.

I do have the earler stuff available.

cheers smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VeeDubb
post Oct 30 2003, 09:35 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 698



There are trwo differnt version of the cacko rom. One of them is based on the sharp 3.10 rom and you should sync it with the software that came with you Z. It can NOT be synced with a linux desktop.

The other version is based on Qtopia 1.6.2 It can be synced in windows or linux with Qtopia Desktop version 1.6.2 OR version 1.7.0 You choose. Since it's based on 1.6.2, it playes nicer with that version of qtopia desktop, though that version requires some digging through the trolltech ftp server to find.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VeeDubb
post Nov 2 2003, 01:11 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 698



Can you tell me where to find that install script?? I have looked everywhere.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post Jan 28 2005, 01:33 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



I'd like to have that script too. Is it the same we can find under "Other cool stuff" at ZUG Downloads?
If so, what do I have to modify?

I installed Hybrid the other day and I really like it and the fact of using Qtopia 1.6.2 (actually I like every ROM I tried: Cacko and OZ, But I'm trying to decide which one will be of more use to me, with their pros and cons)

Now I'm trying to get all my needed apps working with one ROM, in this case Hybrid.
Since there seems to be a lack of info regarding Hybrid, I'd like to propose this post (since it has such an appropiate title biggrin.gif ) as a 'meeting point' for all of us using Hybrid, where we could ask questions and find answers.
(maybe because I'm kind of los with some issues... tongue.gif )
Agree with the idea?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoP
post Jan 31 2005, 10:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Grau de Castelló - Spain
Member No.: 6,093



Well, I have a couple questions here...
I've been installing things and they seem to work (ka/pi, ko/pi, etc.).
But I can't sync anything with Qt desktop. I have Qtopia desktop 1.5.5, my question is:
What do you have to install (if you do) after flashing Hybrid to get USB sync work?
I'll try to sync with desktop ko/pi later... after a little rest smile.gif

Other question:
Why do I get distorted sound when playing MP3 files with Media Player?

And finishing:
I've installed Hancom Word and Sheet, they start but just as an icon on the toolbar, they won't appear full screen, so I have to kill their process... why??
I tried to read some related topics but in many of them I just get: "Internal server error" (I guess this is a collateral effect of server moving.. ??)

Please... some kind soul help me...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chal
post May 28 2005, 07:55 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 30-April 05
From: Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Member No.: 7,035



QUOTE(JoP @ Jan 31 2005, 06:04 PM)
I've installed Hancom Word and Sheet, they start but just as an icon on the toolbar, they  won't appear full screen, so I have to kill their process... why??
I tried to read some related topics but in many of them I just get: "Internal server error" (I guess this is a collateral effect of server moving.. ??)

Please... some kind soul help me...
*


I just got Hancom Word and Sheet to work on Hybrid on sl5500, using the OPIE Hancom libraries ipk and the same versions that work on OPIE. Now I will try the same with jeode.

okay got it now (on hybrid-sl5500-64-0-v1.1-qtopia-1.6.2);

jeode is working with this;

jeode-for-oz3_0.4_arm.ipk

(jeode I had to install to internal, but java progs will run from sd.)

http://me.256k.net/zaurus/jeode/jeode-for-..._arm.ipk.tar.gz

these are the names of the hancom packages I used;

hancomlibs_1.ipk

hancommobileword_1.ipk

hancomsheet_1.ipk

hancompresenter_1.ipk

http://www.tekprosystems.com/zaurus/feed/

I couldn't get hancom word or sheet to install to sd (only internal), but presenter did.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post May 28 2005, 01:29 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



I've played with Cacko Hybrid ROM a while ago and I've found out that I like much features it has (home on jffs2, qtopia installable to RAM, jffs2, SD), but I didnt like Qtopia look and feel. So basically I took ROM part, added some software in it (patched kernel IRDA for T610 phones, ssh, midnight commander, etc ...) and took Qtopia part from TKCrom 2.0 alpha, made some changes (added cyrillic keyboard from Cacko 1.22, neocalc, time applet, unicode fonts, changed install script to be Qtopia installable also on CF card (i didnt had SD)) and now I'm quite happy SL 5500 user. The rom has features from hybrid but is fully compatible with Sharp 3.10 sync appz (intellisync, qtopia for win), has ipkg old and new, I can use Hancom, Jeode, Opera packages from TKC rom and everything is working quite well. Now I'm trying to add bluetooth support to this ROM and create packages for other Qtopias (1.6.2, 2.1.1) to install and switch between them. If someone is curious I can upload this ROM somewhere for you to try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chal
post May 28 2005, 01:41 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 30-April 05
From: Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Member No.: 7,035



QUOTE(merli @ May 28 2005, 09:29 PM)
I've played with Cacko Hybrid ROM a while ago and I've found out that I like much  features it has (home on jffs2, qtopia installable to RAM, jffs2, SD), but I didnt like Qtopia look and feel. So basically I took ROM part, added some software in it (patched kernel IRDA for T610 phones, ssh, midnight commander, etc ...) and took Qtopia part from TKCrom 2.0 alpha, made some changes (added cyrillic keyboard from Cacko 1.22, neocalc, time applet, unicode fonts, changed install script to be Qtopia installable also on CF card (i didnt had SD)) and now I'm quite happy SL 5500 user. The rom has features from hybrid but is fully compatible with Sharp 3.10 sync appz (intellisync, qtopia for win), has ipkg old and new, I can use Hancom, Jeode, Opera packages from TKC rom and everything is working quite well. Now I'm trying to add bluetooth support to this ROM and create packages for other Qtopias (1.6.2, 2.1.1) to install and switch between them. If someone is curious I can upload this ROM somewhere for you to try.
*



Well, I would like to try it at some point, but right now I just got this one hybrid-sl5500-64-0-v1.1-qtopia-1.6.2 working and running all the apps I want. So far the best roms I have run (for my needs) were tKc and Hybrid, so it is trempting,....hmmmn???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
caunt
post Jun 5 2005, 10:50 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 11-November 04
Member No.: 5,427



QUOTE(merli @ May 28 2005, 09:29 PM)
I've played with Cacko Hybrid ROM a while ago and I've found out that I like much  features it has (home on jffs2, qtopia installable to RAM, jffs2, SD), but I didnt like Qtopia look and feel. So basically I took ROM part, added some software in it (patched kernel IRDA for T610 phones, ssh, midnight commander, etc ...) and took Qtopia part from TKCrom 2.0 alpha, made some changes (added cyrillic keyboard from Cacko 1.22, neocalc, time applet, unicode fonts, changed install script to be Qtopia installable also on CF card (i didnt had SD)) and now I'm quite happy SL 5500 user. The rom has features from hybrid but is fully compatible with Sharp 3.10 sync appz (intellisync, qtopia for win), has ipkg old and new, I can use Hancom, Jeode, Opera packages from TKC rom and everything is working quite well. Now I'm trying to add bluetooth support to this ROM and create packages for other Qtopias (1.6.2, 2.1.1) to install and switch between them. If someone is curious I can upload this ROM somewhere for you to try.
*


Merli, I'd love to try it! Please do let us know if you find a place to upload it!

Thanks

Edit: I forgot to mention, I have a 5000d, so I'd really need a 32-0 kernel. Is that possible or way too much work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grimmy
post Jun 9 2005, 02:45 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-May 05
Member No.: 7,160



QUOTE(merli @ May 28 2005, 10:29 PM)
I've played with Cacko Hybrid ROM a while ago and I've found out that I like much  features it has (home on jffs2, qtopia installable to RAM, jffs2, SD), but I didnt like Qtopia look and feel. So basically I took ROM part, added some software in it (patched kernel IRDA for T610 phones, ssh, midnight commander, etc ...) and took Qtopia part from TKCrom 2.0 alpha, made some changes (added cyrillic keyboard from Cacko 1.22, neocalc, time applet, unicode fonts, changed install script to be Qtopia installable also on CF card (i didnt had SD)) and now I'm quite happy SL 5500 user. The rom has features from hybrid but is fully compatible with Sharp 3.10 sync appz (intellisync, qtopia for win), has ipkg old and new, I can use Hancom, Jeode, Opera packages from TKC rom and everything is working quite well. Now I'm trying to add bluetooth support to this ROM and create packages for other Qtopias (1.6.2, 2.1.1) to install and switch between them. If someone is curious I can upload this ROM somewhere for you to try.
*


Hi Merli, I found this post when searching for information on your custom ROM when I saw it in your signature in your bluetooth thread. I recently started using TKCRom Alpha, because I liked the look and feel better than the Cacko rom... I would be interested in trying your ROM also... I can provide some webspace for uploading the ROM if you wish to provide it to others?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post Jun 9 2005, 05:14 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



QUOTE(Grimmy @ Jun 9 2005, 12:45 PM)
QUOTE(merli @ May 28 2005, 10:29 PM)
I've played with Cacko Hybrid ROM a while ago and I've found out that I like much  features it has (home on jffs2, qtopia installable to RAM, jffs2, SD), but I didnt like Qtopia look and feel. So basically I took ROM part, added some software in it (patched kernel IRDA for T610 phones, ssh, midnight commander, etc ...) and took Qtopia part from TKCrom 2.0 alpha, made some changes (added cyrillic keyboard from Cacko 1.22, neocalc, time applet, unicode fonts, changed install script to be Qtopia installable also on CF card (i didnt had SD)) and now I'm quite happy SL 5500 user. The rom has features from hybrid but is fully compatible with Sharp 3.10 sync appz (intellisync, qtopia for win), has ipkg old and new, I can use Hancom, Jeode, Opera packages from TKC rom and everything is working quite well. Now I'm trying to add bluetooth support to this ROM and create packages for other Qtopias (1.6.2, 2.1.1) to install and switch between them. If someone is curious I can upload this ROM somewhere for you to try.
*


Hi Merli, I found this post when searching for information on your custom ROM when I saw it in your signature in your bluetooth thread. I recently started using TKCRom Alpha, because I liked the look and feel better than the Cacko rom... I would be interested in trying your ROM also... I can provide some webspace for uploading the ROM if you wish to provide it to others?
*



OK ... So tell me where can I upload it... I'm looking for your comments also ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grimmy
post Jun 10 2005, 04:28 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-May 05
Member No.: 7,160



QUOTE(merli @ Jun 9 2005, 02:14 PM)
OK ... So tell me where can I upload it... I'm looking for your comments also ...
*


I sent you a PM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arniel
post Aug 7 2007, 12:58 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 2-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 1,563



QUOTE(Grimmy @ Jun 10 2005, 12:28 PM)
QUOTE(merli @ Jun 9 2005, 02:14 PM)
OK ... So tell me where can I upload it... I'm looking for your comments also ...
*


I sent you a PM.
*



Has anything happened here?
I'm currently playing with the Hybrid ROM as it appears to be the fastest and most stable so far (haven't got around to using TK one). However, I can't get WEP to work (insecure connections are fine) and it only has prism2 drivers (can't install hostap ipk for some reason). Other options are always welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisl
post Aug 13 2007, 07:41 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 19-June 06
Member No.: 10,198



QUOTE(arniel @ Aug 7 2007, 02:58 AM)
QUOTE(Grimmy @ Jun 10 2005, 12:28 PM)
QUOTE(merli @ Jun 9 2005, 02:14 PM)
OK ... So tell me where can I upload it... I'm looking for your comments also ...
*


I sent you a PM.
*



Has anything happened here?
I'm currently playing with the Hybrid ROM as it appears to be the fastest and most stable so far (haven't got around to using TK one). However, I can't get WEP to work (insecure connections are fine) and it only has prism2 drivers (can't install hostap ipk for some reason). Other options are always welcome.
*



There is a thread on the machine specific thread for the 5x00 ROMs on the hybrid. I put it there since it is very specific to the Collie and no longer a ROM development issue.

Chris--
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 01:27 AM