OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to use rotation app...?
Ethereal
post May 6 2004, 03:43 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-February 04
From: Gainesville, FL
Member No.: 1,914



OK, I'd like to think I'm not stupid, but I've installed the rotation ipk from the Curry Bros site, and I don't see any icon corresponding to it. How do I rotate the screen?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post May 6 2004, 04:17 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



Well, let's see, you just hold the rotate button for 3 seconds and then... oh wait, I forgot, you're "punishing" Sharp... never mind! wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post May 6 2004, 04:21 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



What website did you get it from? Can you post a link. I only know of two types of rotation. One puts an icon on your menu which rotates the whole of qtopia and the other puts an icon on your desktop somewhere and only rotates the programs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post May 6 2004, 06:54 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



xamindar, here did you get the rotation app that rotates apps only?


Ethereal, I installed two ipks :

qt-embedded-rotation-fix_2.3.2-4_arm.ipk
rotate_0.0.2_arm.ipk

This results in a rotate option in the menu.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ethereal
post May 6 2004, 07:59 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-February 04
From: Gainesville, FL
Member No.: 1,914



DrWowe: no, I'm just refusing to blow 700 USD (that I arguably don't have to spend) on a watered-down product. Sharp's offering one product line in Japan and another, lesser line in the US has just helped me be a better steward of my finances. :wink: I'm hoping that Sharp's chosen business model will punish it without any intervention from me, so the SL-7000 won't cost 1300 USD, be the size of a VHS cassette, and be sold only in 250-piece lots to corporate clients. I'd actually like to be in a position to "vote with my dollars" for the relevance of the individual consumer, but I'm not really there yet...

cmisip: Thank you! The second .ipk you named wasn't on the Curry Bros. site (which is where all my searches of the forums for "rotation" wound up leading me), but Googling rotate_0.0.2_arm.ipk found it at http://elkins.org/zfeed, and now I've got working rotation! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post May 6 2004, 08:20 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



The app that rotates programs and not the whole of qtopia can be found here:
http://www.ossh.com/zaurus/feed/qpe-rotati...5.0-8bp_arm.ipk

The program should show up in the Settings tab. You open it, select the orientation you want and then open the program you want rotated.

Of course you need the rotated fonts which it looks like you have already installed.

Enjoy!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdralphs
post Jun 6 2004, 03:04 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 30-September 03
Member No.: 530



sigh everytime I try installing the menu one ... It rotates the screen yes, but then blows up the memory moniter applet and freezes so I'm stuck staring at a screen with only the memory monitor applet (or maybe its the system info screen). Sharp SL-5500 running Rom ehh 3.1x. The one that does apps only works fine though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post Jun 6 2004, 03:54 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



In my case, it blows up the memory monitor applet, but after a little while, I get the zaurus screen again. It only seems to freeze for a little while.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreyC
post Jun 6 2004, 04:34 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,851



cmisip,

You are much more patient than I am.. I've never been willing to wait for the screen to stop freezing. Just always assumed that it locked my Zaurus up.

I eneded up installing qswap (I think that is the name of it). It is the program that the memory applet is based off of. It shows the same info, but it isn't an applet (it is a stand alone program). You can then disable the memory applet and use the rotation plugin without any of that annoying freeze.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdralphs
post Jun 6 2004, 04:50 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 30-September 03
Member No.: 530



I'm using subapplet -- with the memoryapplet hidden... I guess .. I'l try disabling it completely. Good to know it isn't entirely frozen though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cwaig
post Jun 7 2004, 12:54 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,081



It's also worth pointing out that if you use IRK, pressing CMD+Shift+Space will toggle rotation without restarting Qtopia, so it only effects apps started after you activate rotation (same effect as the qpe-rotation program).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post Jun 7 2004, 05:09 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



cwaig, can you elaborate. Did you mean Fn+Shift+Space using the zaurus keyboard?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cwaig
post Jun 7 2004, 10:01 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,081



QUOTE
cwaig, can you elaborate.  Did you mean Fn+Shift+Space using the zaurus keyboard?


Sorry, I should have been clearer - if you use IRK and have a PocketTop keyboard, then pressing CMD+Shift+Space on the Pocketop keyboard will toggle rotation on and off (rotating to the correct landscape mode for using an IR keyboard with a 5500/5600/6000 and back to portrait mode again).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 08:55 PM