OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Senao Wireless CF card and OZ opie 3.5.1
scarab
post Oct 27 2004, 10:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 27-September 04
Member No.: 4,775



I'm having problems getting my Collie to connect to my access point @ home. OZ picks up wlan0 and wifi0, the odd thing is that just the one (wifi0) picks up my AP if i 'sniff' for a ESSID. i give it an IP, and literally stand next to the AP and i cannot ping it. all my other wireless devices work. i'm thinking that maybe my Senao Wifi CF card may be at fault.

any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jnmonteiro
post Oct 27 2004, 01:17 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,586



I have used a D-link card and my current Ambicon WL1100C-CF both worked. You have to use wlan0.

Do a search of the OpenZaurus forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jamesm
post Oct 28 2004, 02:24 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 7-September 04
From: UK
Member No.: 4,489



As above:

You only need to configure the wlan0 interface.

I'm still not convinced that the opie or gpe interfaces actually properly save wifi settings, but I've yet to have this proved or disproved one way or the other.

The safest bet is to configure everything via the command line using iwconfig, so get googling for that. Alternatively, if you don't want to get under the hood of iwconfig, search this forum for iwconfig as I've supplied numerous examples detailing it's use under OZ.

Once you're done configuring, use
CODE
ifup wlan0
from the console.

Good luck smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scarab
post Oct 28 2004, 04:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 27-September 04
Member No.: 4,775



i should've replied last night... it ends up that the opie frontend wasn't commiting the config. surprise surprise.

i'm starting to find broken opie here, there and everywhere. tongue.gif

i'm seriously thinking of putting a ROM together using a gentoo base, and emerge for distributing pre-built binaries.

i shall call it GentooZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jamesm
post Oct 28 2004, 05:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 7-September 04
From: UK
Member No.: 4,489



Good luck with that, let us know how you get on. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th September 2014 - 08:02 PM