OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is it possible to return from Cacko ROM to Sharp ROM?
jurwit
post Dec 27 2003, 01:27 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 20-December 03
From: Warsaw, Poland
Member No.: 1,238



I am a new owner of SL-C860. So, my question might be a bit stupid, sorry for that in advance.
I'd like to play with changing of ROMs in my Zaurus. But I want to be sure I have way back.
Is it possible to come back from Cacko ROM or another one to Sharp ROM on the SL-C860? I found in the instruction that it requires formatting/erasing.
Is there any HOWTO for this?

jurwit
--------
SL-C860
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zuber
post Dec 27 2003, 08:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 26-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,289



Hi,

You could do a backup of your current rom from the Sharp Service menus (take care you don't brick your unit...) and then restore if you want to return back to the original rom.

For the 860, you need a 256 Mb CF card. (actually, you need a little more than you get on a 128 Mb card)

One quick point, if you are planning to buy the card, make sure you get one you can give back (see below).

When you do a backup, make sure try at least the first few steps of restoring it (don't actually have to do the restore if you don't want to).

Reason being, with some cards, the zaurus does not actually see the backup file come restore time.

For more info, take a look http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...Flash%20Restore
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jurwit
post Dec 27 2003, 10:29 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 20-December 03
From: Warsaw, Poland
Member No.: 1,238



Zuber, Is this Sharp SERVICE MENU very dangerous? Does something unexpected can happen if I do only Backup and Restore using this menu. Does anything bad happen if start restoring from CF and stop it? Do you mean to reach the point of finding a backup file on CF orreally start backup and break?

jurwit
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zuber
post Dec 27 2003, 11:00 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 26-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,289



If you stick to doing just backup and restore, you should be fine. Make sure battery fully charged etc. There is always that small risk though should something go funny unexpectedly.

Even if it was to go funny and prevent you from booting and then gaining access to the Service menus again (for another attempt), chances are, you would be able to install an alternate rom (use different install method to service menus).

The safe option is of course to simply stick with what you have. Personally, having played with all the roms, I fail to see enough benefits beyond eyecandy to switching (there are also drawbacks) but that is my opinion. The only thing that temps me away, is the lure of full blown X11 apps.

The only sure way to check that a backup is successful is to restore it smile.gif
But the problem I am refering to is one where for some reason the file itself is not found. If this is the case, I think you get a "File does not exist" before you actually do the restore and you know you will need another card to be able to do it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jurwit
post Dec 27 2003, 11:27 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 20-December 03
From: Warsaw, Poland
Member No.: 1,238



Zuber, Thanks so much for nice explanation biggrin.gif . I will wait until having 256 MB CF. Is there any card you do not recommend?
Does the NAND restore really restore everything? Also partition structure? As I properly understand X11 ROM requires other partition sizes. Do I need to do something with it or the Sharp OS partition structure is also stored in the NAND backup ?

jurwit
--------------
SL-C860
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 27 2003, 11:39 AM
Post #6





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



A Nand restore will overwrite any reparttioning etc.

Tricky bit is, if you "brick" your unit you can't bring the menus up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jurwit
post Dec 27 2003, 11:55 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 20-December 03
From: Warsaw, Poland
Member No.: 1,238



QUOTE
You could do a backup of your current rom from the Sharp Service menus (take care you don't brick your unit...) and then restore if you want to return back to the original rom.

What exactly means "brick" - lock without possiblilyty to get out (only the service in Japan can help).
How can I brick my SL-C860 with the diagnostic menu? During simple backup procedure/while restoring? or pressing something accidentially on the Diagnostic Menu? Please type which point I have to be careful in the Diagnostic Menu. There is no information about it in the last manual (in Japanese) smile.gif I can't speek/read Japanese smile.gif, but I did not find pictures like in our usergroup. Are the wornings which are on the usergroup enough, or you want to add something more?
BTW: Zuber, are you currently using Sharp OS? What Zaurus do you have?

jurwit
--------
SL-C860
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zuber
post Dec 28 2003, 02:06 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 26-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,289



Currently use/sell etc. C750/C860 with Sharp Rom.

Problem with things going wrong unexpectedly, is that they are unexpected. If they were expected, would have told you about them smile.gif

Brick means unrecoverable/paperweight etc. Send to Sharp...
Hence comment on make sure it is fully charged. Don't do anything silly like pull the battery out half way through, so on and so forth.

At the end of the day, you are doing this at your own risk. If you brick it, people will try to help, but responsibility is with you.

The menus are intended for use by sharp, not by users. Hence you don't find documentation in Japanese or English in the manual.

Having said that, plenty of people do use it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 28 2003, 03:19 AM
Post #9





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



if NAND ROM is dead, and even service menu (D+M) dont work, you can easily restore it with PROM updater.

Read this:
http://pocketworkstation.org/files/recover...ash-recover.txt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 28 2003, 03:20 AM
Post #10





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



ups , forgot login,
i restored with this few Zs which was like dead smile.gif

sashz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 04:16 PM