OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help ! Can't ping the Zaurus
leeroy
post May 15 2004, 08:49 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 3,292



Yes, I can;t ping. I have the usbnet compiled in kernel-2.6.6, I have openzaurus-3.2 rom on Zaurus. I have usb0 UP RUNNING, ETC on both desktop and ZAURUS (usbd0 on Zaurus) but the ping command says can't connect to device. Whats' wrong ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uberjoe
post Sep 29 2004, 10:41 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 24-March 04
Member No.: 2,471



Can you post your ip settings for your pc and your z. Remember your ip on the pc should be the gateway of the z and vice-versa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pmf
post Sep 30 2004, 04:44 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 18-March 04
Member No.: 2,392



QUOTE(leeroy @ May 15 2004, 08:49 PM)
I have the usbnet compiled in kernel-2.6.6, I have openzaurus-3.2 rom on Zaurus. I have usb0 UP RUNNING, ETC on both desktop and ZAURUS (usbd0 on Zaurus) but the ping command says can't connect to device. Whats' wrong ?

Post the output of
CODE
/sbin/route
,
CODE
/sbin/route -n
and
CODE
/sbin/ifconfig
, all when run on the Zaurus and when run on the workstation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kgw
post Nov 12 2004, 10:18 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 5,181



I am having the same problem with an SL5500 and Mandrake 10.1.

These are from the PC:



[root@full log]# lsmod | grep usb
usbnet 25832 0
mii 4992 1 usbnet
usb-storage 72932 0
scsi_mod 114648 4 sr_mod,sg,sd_mod,usb-storage
usblp 12288 0
usbcore 99132 6 usbnet,usb-storage,usblp,uhci-hcd
[root@full log]# modprobe usbnet
[root@full log]# modprobe modprobe [u, o, e]hci_hcd
FATAL: Module modprobe not found.
[root@full log]# modprobe [u, o, e]hci_hcd
FATAL: Module [u, not found.
[root@full log]# /sbin/route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.129.201 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 usb0
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
[root@full log]# /sbin/route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.129.201 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 usb0
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
[root@full log]# /sbin/ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:B0:D0:19:80:0E
inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::2b0:d0ff:fe19:800e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:40027 errors:14 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:14
TX packets:23381 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:12957494 (12.3 Mb) TX bytes:2247056 (2.1 Mb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xdc00

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:17937 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:17937 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1876343 (1.7 Mb) TX bytes:1876343 (1.7 Mb)

usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 86:4E:1B:08:7D:0D
inet addr:192.168.129.1 Bcast:192.168.129.255 Mask:255.255.255.255
inet6 addr: fe80::844e:1bff:fe08:7d0d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:169 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 cool.gif TX bytes:25976 (25.3 Kb)

[root@full log]#


On the Zaurus, the same commands all came up blank. The first two responded

Kernel IP routing table
with the headings for the table of data but the tables were empty.

The third command gave no response at all.

The 5500 is new to me. The systme info screen says Opie 0.9.3, kernel 2.4.6-rmk1-embed and OpenZaurus 3.2

I have a feeling there are some networking packages missing in this unit. Several pages suggest using the Network Setup Application. Although there is a Network icon in Settings, it comes up with a Connections tab and a Profiles Tab and both are empty. There all of the buttons ask you to set an interface first and there are none.

I am thinking I am missing some network components on the Zaurus and perhaps should put in the new 3.5.1 ROM image but I have heard the packaging module isn't working in that and I don't know which image to use (I have a 256 meg SD card and and 512 meg CF card plus a CF wireless lan card.).

Ken




============[CODE][/CODE]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jacknife
post Apr 22 2005, 05:07 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 6,861



QUOTE(pmf @ Sep 30 2004, 07:44 AM)
Post the output of "/sbin/route", "/sbin/route -n" and "/sbin/ifconfig", all when run on the Zaurus and when run on the workstation.
*


I'll go ahead and bite... I'm able to connect to my WAP with 100% signal strength/quality, but am not able to see the Zaurus from my network nor the network from my Zaurus.

Zaurus:
CODE
home/zaurus>/sbin/route;/sbin/route -n;/sbin/ifconfig
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    1      0        0 wlan0
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    1      0        0 wlan0
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
         inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
         RX packets:848 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:848 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:89821 (87.7 Kb)  TX bytes:89821 (87.7 Kb)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:7A:58:C9:D9
         inet addr:192.168.1.104  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
         RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:864 (864.0 b)
         Interrupt:135


Work station:
CODE
/home/jacknife>/sbin/route;/sbin/route -n;/sbin/ifconfig
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
169.254.0.0     *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         router          0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:A0:C9:A5:DD:BB  
         inet addr:192.168.1.111  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:463174 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:1935924 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
         RX bytes:86686511 (82.6 Mb)  TX bytes:266125014 (253.7 Mb)
         Interrupt:9 Base address:0xccc0 Memory:f7000000-f7000038

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
         inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
         RX packets:68549 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:68549 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:16182631 (15.4 Mb)  TX bytes:16182631 (15.4 Mb)


I know that at least my WAP can see the Zaurus connecting, because there is an entry in the logs with the connect time and MAC address.

BTW: I think I'm missing some network utilities on the Zaurus - dig, whois, traceroute, write/talk, finger, who, etc don't appear to be on the system.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 22 2005, 06:25 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



@kqw:

QUOTE
I am thinking I am missing some network components on the Zaurus and perhaps should put in the new 3.5.1 ROM image but I have heard the packaging module isn't working in that and I don't know which image to use (I have a 256 meg SD card and and 512 meg CF card plus a CF wireless lan card.).


I'd recommend an upgrade to 3.5.3 (the latest version).

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbeckerd
post May 17 2005, 07:33 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 12-September 04
From: Eastern Oregon USA
Member No.: 4,560



Under 10.1 I have found that the Z has to be re-configured often. The USB hot swap is a little funky in 10.1. With the z in the cradle
I go into the Control Center, hardware, click on the Z under ethernet and run configure module, restart the network and there it is.
With a wifi card I assign a permanent address in the router for the Z .

Good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 01:56 AM