OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X/qt Rootless Mode
ShiroiKuma
post May 9 2006, 06:20 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 9 2006, 07:21 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 12:20 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
*



yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 10 2006, 02:26 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 04:21 AM)
yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
*

Woah, unbelievable man... You make such unbelievable progress. I tried only to do a fragment and failed - like lately wanted to compile fluxconf, as you've done. Couldn't get over some problematic function declarations etc. Spent a lot of time on it, yet it wouldn't build...

And you've done it all... laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 10 2006, 04:49 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 08:26 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 04:21 AM)
yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
*

Woah, unbelievable man... You make such unbelievable progress. I tried only to do a fragment and failed - like lately wanted to compile fluxconf, as you've done. Couldn't get over some problematic function declarations etc. Spent a lot of time on it, yet it wouldn't build...

And you've done it all... laugh.gif
*



oh yeah fluxonf... just had to change the order of some code. same problem with xarchiver...
man, i foobared my system today and just managed to recover so i lost a whole day of work sad.gif
well, at least i learned how to debug qeserver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freebird
post May 18 2006, 08:24 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,242



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 03:21 AM)
QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 12:20 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
*



yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
*



Hi all
Now i am testing the embeded (rotless) Mode
seems not working in this new release 0.7.8
Meanie have you desactivated it ? blink.gif
cause it was working in the previous release
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 20 2006, 11:06 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(freebird @ May 19 2006, 02:24 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 03:21 AM)
QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 12:20 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
*



yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
*



Hi all
Now i am testing the embeded (rotless) Mode
seems not working in this new release 0.7.8
Meanie have you desactivated it ? blink.gif
cause it was working in the previous release
*



nothing has changed between 0.7.7 and 0.7.8 in the rootless bits. gaim and gimp were the only changes and the link for usr/lib/gtk-2.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freebird
post May 21 2006, 07:53 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,242



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 21 2006, 07:06 AM)
QUOTE(freebird @ May 19 2006, 02:24 PM)


Hi all
Now i am testing the embeded (rotless) Mode
seems not working in this new release 0.7.8
Meanie have you desactivated it ? blink.gif
cause it was working in the previous release
*


nothing has changed between 0.7.7 and 0.7.8 in the rootless bits. gaim and gimp were the only changes and the link for usr/lib/gtk-2.0
*



I don't know which version i tested when it works, since there is 3 0.7.5, 0.7.6 and
0.7.7, but if i do remember it stops working when you have add the 2 xqt embedded icons (not sure) huh.gif

anyway here is what i get when traying to launch embedded mode
CODE
#xlauncher -embed gqview
debug: there are 0 embedded processes
debug: no embedded processes
debug: setting display to :1.0
launching gqview embedded - please wait

no more
may be i have to switch something ?
i don't knew blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 21 2006, 05:13 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(freebird @ May 22 2006, 01:53 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 21 2006, 07:06 AM)
QUOTE(freebird @ May 19 2006, 02:24 PM)


Hi all
Now i am testing the embeded (rotless) Mode
seems not working in this new release 0.7.8
Meanie have you desactivated it ? blink.gif
cause it was working in the previous release
*


nothing has changed between 0.7.7 and 0.7.8 in the rootless bits. gaim and gimp were the only changes and the link for usr/lib/gtk-2.0
*



I don't know which version i tested when it works, since there is 3 0.7.5, 0.7.6 and
0.7.7, but if i do remember it stops working when you have add the 2 xqt embedded icons (not sure) huh.gif

anyway here is what i get when traying to launch embedded mode
CODE
#xlauncher -embed gqview
debug: there are 0 embedded processes
debug: no embedded processes
debug: setting display to :1.0
launching gqview embedded - please wait

no more
may be i have to switch something ?
i don't knew blink.gif
*



does it launch normally? ie

xlauncher gqview

what does the debug mode say? ie

xlauncher -debug -embed gqview
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freebird
post May 21 2006, 11:22 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,242



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 22 2006, 01:13 AM)
QUOTE(freebird @ May 22 2006, 01:53 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 21 2006, 07:06 AM)
QUOTE(freebird @ May 19 2006, 02:24 PM)


Hi all
Now i am testing the embeded (rotless) Mode
seems not working in this new release 0.7.8
Meanie have you desactivated it ? blink.gif
cause it was working in the previous release
*


nothing has changed between 0.7.7 and 0.7.8 in the rootless bits. gaim and gimp were the only changes and the link for usr/lib/gtk-2.0
*



I don't know which version i tested when it works, since there is 3 0.7.5, 0.7.6 and
0.7.7, but if i do remember it stops working when you have add the 2 xqt embedded icons (not sure) huh.gif

anyway here is what i get when traying to launch embedded mode
CODE
#xlauncher -embed gqview
debug: there are 0 embedded processes
debug: no embedded processes
debug: setting display to :1.0
launching gqview embedded - please wait

no more
may be i have to switch something ?
i don't knew blink.gif
*



does it launch normally? ie

xlauncher gqview

what does the debug mode say? ie

xlauncher -debug -embed gqview
*


Here it is smile.gif
CODE
debug: there are 0 embedded processes
debug: no embedded processes
debug: setting display to :1.0
launching gqview embedded - please wait a moment...
$ using authority file /home/zaurus/.Xauthority
Writing authority file /home/zaurus/.Xauthority
using authority file /home/zaurus/.Xauthority
Writing authority file /home/zaurus/.Xauthority
/etc/X11/xinit/xrootlessrc-1: /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless-1: not found
giving up.
xinit: No such file or directory (errno 2): unable to connect to X server
xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 22 2006, 04:29 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



rename /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless1 to /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless-1
and
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless2 to /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless-2

it should let you run two apps in rootless mode at a time. it should tell you to bugger off when you try to run a third one smile.gif
i don't think its wise to run more anyway since the Z does not have that much cpu power and memory

personally, i dont like the rootless mode thing that much. it sounds like a good idea at first but once you play with it a bit more, you soon want to use the full xqt instead.

have you noticed you can cut and paste from qtopia into xqt? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freebird
post May 22 2006, 12:00 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,242



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 22 2006, 12:29 PM)
rename /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless1 to /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless-1
and
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless2 to /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless-2

Ok that makes it work Now smile.gif
QUOTE
it should let you run two apps in rootless mode at a time. it should tell you to bugger off when you try to run a third one smile.gif
i don't think its wise to run more anyway since the Z does not have that much cpu power and memory
personally, i dont like the rootless mode thing that much. it sounds like a good idea at first but once you play with it a bit more, you soon want to use the full xqt instead.

I agree, in fact i never shutdown Xqt (padXqtrom), it is always open, so no need to launch it each time
QUOTE
have you noticed you can cut and paste from qtopia into xqt? smile.gif
*

that is intresting as i am still using some applications under sharp rom

Thanks Meanie smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 05:38 AM