OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Solved: Gaim/cacko Error > Install2ram, error while loading shared libs...
coldtriton
post Jun 7 2006, 06:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,096



Hi,

I always install apps to SD. So did I on the official Cacko feed's GAIM packages. It didn't complain, but it didn't start either. Installation to RAM solved the issue.

smile.gif Thanks for the help!

coldtrition


Hi,

one more small prob on my plain vanilla Cacko C700:

Went to install Gaim off of the feed and the gui software install tool ran thru it. Installed the dependencies.

Couldn't start Gaim, though. Tried from the terminal and got this error:

gaim: error while loading shared libraries: libgaim.so: load shared object file: No such file or directory.


Could you please tell me what to do? I have had never been able to run gaim (had a SL 5500 before) and desperate for a tip or two wink.gif

Thanks so much,
coldtriton
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Jun 7 2006, 07:25 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



well the first obvious question is did you install the libgaim package from the cacko feed?

As root, have you tried a find for libgaim.so?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coldtriton
post Jun 7 2006, 01:19 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,096



QUOTE(bluedevils @ Jun 7 2006, 07:25 AM)
well the first obvious question is did you install the libgaim package from the cacko feed?

Yes.
QUOTE(bluedevils @ Jun 7 2006, 07:25 AM)
As root, have you tried a find for libgaim.so?
*


Sure. wink.gif

The only libgaim is libgaim 0.73-2 from the original cacko feed.

Any further ideas? smile.gif

coldtriton
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jun 7 2006, 02:52 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Create a symlink from libgaim.so.X.x to libgaim.so

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coldtriton
post Jun 8 2006, 01:54 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,096



Hi, wink.gif

more info:
As I mentioned above, I used the cacko feed to install gaim unicocde and let it handle it's dependencies. Hence the gaim libs and gpe-gaim are listed installed, there.

terminal:
#su
#
# find / -iname *gaim*
/usr/mnt.rom/card/Documents/media/info/info5_pdaxqtrom_jumbo-Dateien/pdaXqtrom-gaim.jpg
/usr/mnt.rom/card/QtPalmtop/bin/gaim
/usr/mnt.rom/card/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim
/usr/mnt.rom/card/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim/gaim.png
/usr/mnt.rom/card/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim.png
/home/root/usr/lib/ipkg/info/qpe-gaim-unicode.list
/home/QtPalmtop/bin/gaim
/home/QtPalmtop/apps/Network/gaim.desktop
/home/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim
/home/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim/gaim.png
/home/QtPalmtop/pics/gaim.png
#

QUOTE(lardman @ Jun 7 2006, 02:52 PM)
Create a symlink from libgaim.so.X.x to libgaim.so

Si
*


I couldn't find them in the filesystem. Remark: Beeing a Linux/QPE/Qtopia newbie, every tip is valued wink.gif

? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 15 2006, 05:26 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



I'm using Cacko 1.23 full and I got qpe-gaim unicode version installed. My steps:

I use the GUI Package Manager. I install via network, with feed pointing to http://web.mol.ru/~zaurus/feed/

I select qpe-gaim and install it to internal flash.

Succeeds but when I run it, it launches and dumps out after trying to connect to MSN with the profile I created.

I uninstalled it and installed the non-unicode version and it runs (with smaller icons) and ... also dumps out after connecting to MSN. ohmy.gif

EDIT: I deleted accounts.xml and blist.xml from /home/zaurus/.gaim directory and restarted and it does not dump out.

I created a yahoo profile and connected and it bumps out ...

proxy: Connecting to scs.yahoo.com:5050 with no proxy
proxy: Connect would have blocked
proxy: Connected.
Broken pipe

and dump out.

hmmmm ideas?

EDIT:

ICQ is ok ... ohmy.gif ... granted, it does not import my contact list over ...

EDIT: Found the problem ... Mail check notification in MSN protocol causes Gaim to dump out. Disabled it and it works fine. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2014 - 04:22 PM