OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lost My Konsole!, Cacko 1.23
RobbH
post Jun 7 2006, 08:27 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Georgia, USA
Member No.: 6,196



I had the less than brilliant idea of installing the old, minimal Terminal on my C1000 with Cacko. I thought it might be nice to have a lightweight console handy. Wrong!

I knew I had made a mistake, as soon as I saw that the Konsole icon had gone missing. When Midnight Commader wouldn't start, I knew it was a serious mistake.

I've tried QKonsole and Embedded Konsole, but so far neither is an adequate replacement for the version of Konsole that came with Cacko. Neither fonts nor keymappings are right, especially in Midnight Commander.

I see there have been some problems reported that Japanese language support may interfere with Konsole and MC. I don't think that's my problem, unless Japenese fonts were installed with Terminal, and not removed by the uninstallation process.

Just when I was beginning to feel good about my success in stumbling around with Linux, I find I'm completely stymied. Short of reflashing Cacko, or going to a Nand backup, is there anyway to restore the Cacko konsole?

Any suggestions appreciated!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jun 7 2006, 08:30 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



best way, if you have a backup, just restore it, only takes a few minutes. BTW ....ALWAYS make a backup BEFORE playing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rayforever
post Jun 7 2006, 11:42 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 8,190



may be the fonts issue!
the konsole can'nt load font from /home/QtPalmtop/lib/fonts
you can get some XXX.qpf into /home/QtPalmtop/lib/fonts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Jun 8 2006, 12:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(RobbH @ Jun 8 2006, 06:27 AM)
I had the less than brilliant idea of installing the old, minimal Terminal on my C1000 with Cacko. I thought it might be nice to have a lightweight console handy. Wrong!

I knew I had made a mistake, as soon as I saw that the Konsole icon had gone missing. When Midnight Commader wouldn't start, I knew it was a serious mistake.

I've tried QKonsole and Embedded Konsole, but so far neither is an adequate replacement for the version of Konsole that came with Cacko. Neither fonts nor keymappings are right, especially in Midnight Commander.

I see there have been some problems reported that Japanese language support may interfere with Konsole and MC. I don't think that's my problem, unless Japenese fonts were installed with Terminal, and not removed by the uninstallation process.

Just when I was beginning to feel good about my success in stumbling around with Linux, I find I'm completely stymied. Short of reflashing Cacko, or going to a Nand backup, is there anyway to restore the Cacko konsole?

Any suggestions appreciated!
*


Have a look here:
http://www.daniel-hertrich.de/zaurus/zps/
and search the page for "Console".

I think the program is still there, only the icon is gone. That was the case when I played with different consoles.

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RobbH
post Jun 8 2006, 04:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Georgia, USA
Member No.: 6,196



Thanks for all suggestions. The fonts appear to be okay. Despite Daniel's excellent suggestion, I must have trashed the original executable.

But I have a Nand backup from two weeks ago. Unless there are other suggestions, I'll restore it later today.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmiq2
post Jun 8 2006, 04:15 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 385
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,038



Can you remote login using ssh, and install from there ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Jun 8 2006, 05:47 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(RobbH @ Jun 8 2006, 02:04 PM)
Thanks for all suggestions. The fonts appear to be okay. Despite Daniel's excellent suggestion, I must have trashed the original executable.

But I have a Nand backup from two weeks ago. Unless there are other suggestions, I'll restore it later today.
*


You could also try to create a console-wrapper script as per the instructions given on my ZPS page, direcly below the "Console" section.
If you have a graphical text editpr installed, you can use that one to create the file, then use Settings -> Tab setting to create an icon for the script and then use the icon to launch the scipt.
Does that bring up a console?

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RobbH
post Jun 8 2006, 01:44 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Georgia, USA
Member No.: 6,196



Sorry, I obviously did not describe the situation well, and so gave the impression that the problem was much worse than it actually was.

I was never entirely without a working console, except for the brief interval between removing one package and installing another. The problem was that I had overwritten the improved Konsole that came with Cacko 1.23, and I wanted it back! I had tried several alternatives, and I didn't like them, but they did work.

Since then, I've restored a recent Nand backup, and now I'm happy. Thanks for everyone's help. I didn't intend to over-dramatize the situation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 06:29 AM