OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Converting Films To Archos Av500
lee-jun-fan
post Jan 3 2006, 04:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3-January 06
Member No.: 8,841



Hi, i have an Archos 560, the one with 60gb hard disk, some of the Avi's i try to put on to it will not play. I believe that they must be in DIVX 3 as the unit is supposed to support 4 + 5.

My question is, does anyone know of any decent software that would recode it to divx 5, without losing the quality of the film?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Takeapic
post Jan 4 2006, 07:30 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 4-January 06
Member No.: 8,850



On the Archos, in the Data folder, video translator software is included. You can get to it while plugged in via USB.

The manual explains how to install it, and it is quite basic to use. There are probably better ones on the 'net though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iom
post Jan 23 2006, 06:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-January 06
Member No.: 8,978



Hi,

I don't like the automatic software, the result is disappointing..
Just use Virtualdub (http://www.virtualdub.org/ to find the latest version, though it is in the data folder of the Archos) and the proper codecs
I usually use the following codecs:
- Xvid
- Radium MP3 codec (a bit harder to find, but offers the most possibilities. Look for a ra-codec12.zip file on Google)

Reencoding always means loss of some quality, but you can make this loss negligeable by using two-pass encoding. (the batch function in Virtualdub is great for this)
The settings depend on your own preferences, but in my experience, you get great results (quality/size) for the archos AV 500 if you use:
- Xvid 850 Kbps, Two Pass encoding
- MP3 112 kbps, 44100, Stereo

If you want smaller sizes, you can go down to 700 kbps for video and 96 kbps for audio.. Just try and make up your own mind. Another way to decide on the bitrate of the video is to open the original file in Virtualdub, go to File>File Information and use the same bitrate as the one indicated.

VoilĂ . hope this helps smile.gif PM me if you need some help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 10:36 AM