OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> xmms deps
inwaiting
post Apr 2 2004, 03:35 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-March 04
Member No.: 2,559



Hi, what deps need to be installed for xmms/xmms-mplayer in order for it to work.
Trying to get it up on an sl-6000 with the vanilla rom. Not ready to flash yet
Thanks
NoLongerWaiting
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 3 2004, 07:24 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Take a look here: http://xmms-embedded.sourceforge.net/feed/oz32/

I'm not recommending you use this feed, but it does contain all of the files so you can look at the names, etc.

For xmms you need xmms itself + the skin, and possibly zlib. To make it do anything you'll also need the xmms-mplayer plugin. To make mplayer do anything you'll need mplayer itself and at least libmad.

The other thing to do it to run it from the command line and see what it complains about not finding (or run 'ldd xmms', etc.)


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
inwaiting
post Apr 6 2004, 09:58 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-March 04
Member No.: 2,559



thanks for the tip ... got it working, albeit only from the terminal. Any attempt to launch it from the icon gets a "please wait", then exits. Any ideas on this ? CAn't see anything obvious in the qt xmms icon that needs changing (calls xmms ... what else ?)
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 6 2004, 02:17 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I assume you had xmms running from the terminal?

It might be an LD_LIBRARY_PATH (ie. not finding libs) problem - /opt/QtPalmtop/qpe.sh might not export the same as you get in the terminal.

Other than that I'm not sure.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orthogonal
post Apr 12 2004, 08:00 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 11-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Ah, ok, I had this problem recently after I did a hard reboot.

I'm on a 5600, using xmms .00005pre, your mileage may vary.

After installing xmms, there will be a .xmms directory in /home/root

You need to copy this directory to the directory of the user that gui run as. On the 5600 that's /home/zaurus; specifically, if the file "config" is missing, xmms will attempt to malloc about 500MB on startup. 500MB of memory not being available, it will of course fail.

# cp -r /home/root/.xmms /home/zaurus/

Then you'll find that xmms, like a lot of qtopia programs, is sensitive to the ownership of the Qt/Embedded file; specifically you'll get messages that "QT/Emdedded is not owned by user N" where N is the uid of the usr trying to run xmms. Somehow, trying to run from the console (perhaps if su root) causes problems with this.

Rebooting may fix this; a sure fix is a chown.

The "Qt/Embedded" files are in /temp, named qtembedded-USERNAME, thus qtembedded-root and qtembedded-zaurus. Make sure qtembedded root is owned by root and group qpe, make sure qtembedded-zaurus is owned by zaurus:
# su root
# chown root:qpe /tmp/qtembedded-root
# chown zaurus:qpe /tmp/qtembedded-zaurus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jun 2 2004, 10:38 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



orthogonal

Thanks for that. I've been trying to get xmms to work with my SL5500 for a while, and I'm running into the problem with the program loading 500MB. My 'config' file is missing from the .xmms directory. Is there much in there? Can you paste the contents so I can add it? Or maybe it's in a different location.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jun 2 2004, 03:05 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Nevermind....I've found it. From another post the files are in the /opt/Qtopia/lib/.xmms folder. Copy those over to the /home/<whatever>/.xmms folder. Now it runs! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moonshadow
post Mar 31 2005, 08:52 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-March 05
From: London
Member No.: 6,752



QUOTE(undrwater @ Jun 3 2004, 12:05 AM)
Nevermind....I've found it.  From another post the files are in the /opt/Qtopia/lib/.xmms folder.  Copy those over to the /home/<whatever>/.xmms folder.  Now it runs!  biggrin.gif
*


Hmm,

I am getting libxmms not found errors
I've not got a /homr/root/.xmms dir,
I have got /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libxmms.so

where ic xmms lokking fore these files?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 2 2005, 01:32 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Probably in a directory which appears in LD_LIBRARY_PATH - I'd say /usr/lib or /usr/local/lib

Surely the lib wasn't installed to /opt/QtPalmtop/lib by the ipk?

If the above turns out to not be true, check that the symlinks to the minor and major versions of the lib exist:

libxmms.so -> libxmms.so.X
libxxms.so.X -> libxmms.so.X.x

as these are usually (in my experience) what the app looks for, not the bare .so file.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moonshadow
post Apr 4 2005, 01:47 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-March 05
From: London
Member No.: 6,752



QUOTE(lardman @ Apr 2 2005, 10:32 AM)
Probably in a directory which appears in LD_LIBRARY_PATH - I'd say /usr/lib or /usr/local/lib

Surely the lib wasn't installed to /opt/QtPalmtop/lib by the ipk?

Si
*

Thaks for the pointers.

LD_LIBRARY_PATH is /home/QtPalmtop/lib and /usr/lib is linked to /home/root/usr/lib

which I guess is why the IPK installed them where it did.

I've linked /home/QtPalmtop/lib/xmms dnd libxmms to /usr/lib

ln -s /home/QtPalmtop/lib/xmms /usr/lib
ln -s /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libxmms* /usr/lib

and that looks to have sorted the "not foud " issue.

I get Glib-Error could not allocate 529335168 bytes. so I guess I'll go try and track that down now..

Update:
I had no config file in ~root/.xmms.
Fixed that. Now all I need to do is get it to play sometnig wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moonshadow
post Apr 5 2005, 02:01 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-March 05
From: London
Member No.: 6,752



Update:
It plays ogg files but not MP3's.

When run from a shell I get a message saying "nobody recognised File.mp3"

Am I missing a plugin? I've seen mention of problems with Lame encoded files but I dont think these were.

Anyone had the same/fixed it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ricey
post Nov 26 2005, 02:59 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 25-November 05
Member No.: 8,610



I'm having the same problem with mp3s. Video works ok tho!
mp3 works great in mplayer, but not xmms,
any suggestions.

Thanks

----------------------------
SL-5500
3.5.4-rc/opie1.2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 26 2005, 03:42 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(ricey @ Nov 26 2005, 05:59 PM)
I'm having the same problem with mp3s. Video works ok tho!
mp3 works great in mplayer, but not xmms,
any suggestions.

Your sig shows your using OZ3.5.4-rc... so you will have to edit your ipkg.conf file like I've posted in this thread:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=16111

Then install xmms-embedded (with it's depends) from the feeds using your package manager or in the terminal with ipkg.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 08:01 AM