OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 1.0rc4 Wireless Setup, Wifi tips and troubleshooting.
orodriguez
post Oct 30 2005, 08:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,065



I have added a new script to the ones provided by Guylhem in 1.0rc4 (just added wep stuff to net.wifi.local).

This one is to connect to a WEP enabled network.


STEP BY STEP GUIDE:

1) Download and unpack attached script (net.wifi.wep)
2) Change network setup on lines 3 to 24
3) On the Zaurus' console become root:
su <enter>
When asked for password, press <enter>.
4) Copy the file to the Zaurus' /usr/local/bin/
i.e. cp /mnt/cf/net.wifi.wep /usr/local/bin
5) Define script perms:
chown root:qpe /usr/local/bin/net.wifi.wep
chmod 0755 /usr/local/bin/net.wifi.wep


To CONNECT:
net.wifi.wep

To DISCONNECT:
net.wifi.off

Optional:
You can edit /etc/resolv.conf to match the DNS servers provided by your ISP. Some may find that name resolution is faster that way

I have checked this setup just after a fresh NAND restore so I hope everyone is able to connect this time wink.gif.

FIX: Sometimes wep keys do not get loaded by wlanctl-ng. Waiting a little bit more and setting up WEP keys after bringing up the network interface makes a big difference.

I have updated the attached script.

This post has been edited by orodriguez: Oct 30 2005, 01:51 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  net_wifi_wep_fixed.zip ( 926bytes ) Number of downloads: 220
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 30 2005, 09:22 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE(orodriguez @ Oct 30 2005, 04:32 PM)
I have added a new script to the ones provided by Guylhem in 1.0rc4 (just added wep stuff to net.wifi.local).

This one is to connect to a WEP enabled network.


STEP BY STEP GUIDE:

1) Download and unpack attached script (net.wifi.wep)
2) Change network setup on lines 3 to 24
3) On the Zaurus' console become root:
  su <enter>
  When asked for password, press <enter>.
4) Copy the file to the Zaurus' /usr/local/bin/
    i.e. cp /mnt/cf/net.wifi.wep /usr/local/bin
5) Define script perms:
    chown root:qpe /usr/local/bin/net.wifi.wep
    chmod 0755 /usr/local/bin/net.wifi.wep


To CONNECT:
    net.wifi.wep
   
To DISCONNECT:
    net.wifi.off
   
Optional:
  You can edit /etc/resolv.conf to match the DNS servers provided by your ISP. Some may find that name resolution is faster that way

I have checked this setup just after a fresh NAND restore so I hope everyone is able to connect this time wink.gif.
*



Wow! Thanks a billion, I think you just got me into Guyhelm finally! RC4 and these instructions are what I've been waiting for. I hope to flash the rom and give it a spin tomorrow. I'll report back here and let you know the results.

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimjimbobim
post Oct 30 2005, 12:03 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 8,319



Thanks so much for posting these instructions.

I followed the instructions but still no luck!

I configured /usr/local/bin/net.wifi.wep as indicated.

I get ththis when I execute the script:

message=lnxreq_ifstate
ifstate=enable
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=1
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=true
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey0=99:99:99:99:91
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=99:99:99:99:91
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey2=99:99:99:99:91
resultcode=success
message=dot11req_mibset
mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey3=99:99:99:99:91
resultcode=success
message=lnxreq_autojoin
ssid='hades'
authtype=sharedkey
resultcode=success


Which seems good, but when I do iwconfig I get this:

wlan0 IEEE 802.11-b ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412GHz Access Point: 00:12:17:B5:B0:8A
Bit Rate:2Mb/s Tx-Power:2346 dBm
Retry min limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Link Quality:62/92 Signal level:-50 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


I also tried 'opensystem' (same result) and 'restricted' (did not work)

I am baffled. I have been able to get wireless to work on almost every other rom.
I even wrote a nice little set of scripts for pdaXrom to automate the setting up of the wifi.

I really like this rom (1.0rc4) and want to use it.

I can get it to assign the ssid by editing the wlan.conf file, I but can't ever seem get it to change any of the other settings.

Could there be something wrong with the rom I downloaded, maybe it did not save correctly?

Thanks!
-Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orodriguez
post Oct 30 2005, 01:47 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,065



Try this script (updated one) instead.

Seems more reliable and should work better.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimjimbobim
post Oct 30 2005, 10:23 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 8,319



That did not work either.

Thank you so much for all of your help, I really appreciate it, but I think that I am going to give up for now. I have spent *hours* trying to make this work.

I just noticed that pdaXrom just released rc12. I installed it and it is great, and they fixed all of the bugs that had prevented me from using it before, so I think I am going to use that for now.

I will check back on the guylhem rom later and see if I can get my wifi to work after a another release or two.

Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orodriguez
post Nov 1 2005, 01:44 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,065



QUOTE(jimjimbobim @ Oct 31 2005, 06:23 AM)
That did not work either.

Thank you so much for all of your help, I really appreciate it, but I think that I am going to give up for now.  I have spent *hours* trying to make this work.

I just noticed that pdaXrom just released rc12.  I installed it and it is great, and they fixed all of the bugs that had prevented me from using it before, so I think I am going to use that for now.

I will check back on the guylhem rom later and see if I can get my wifi to work after a another release or two.

Thanks again.
*


Just to discard options: did you try with 128 bits WEP? also maybe the sleep I wrote down in the script was not long enough so, did you try running the script twice? (without powering off the wlan)

If I figure out why this didn't work, will tell you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MSC_Geek
post Nov 1 2005, 07:48 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 9-May 04
From: San Luis Obispo, CA
Member No.: 3,207



Just my $0.02 but I found that I had to change the line of the script that sets mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=1 to zero if I was using the same key info for all keys in the script.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 1 2005, 03:06 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

If the script is fixed, I'd be happy to include it in the rc5.

Could the ones would had problems (jimjimboblim, etc...) tell me if the latest update of the script has fixed thier problems?

I don't want to enable wep on my ap to test that and break my net connection :-)

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rip
post Nov 2 2005, 02:10 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 7-October 04
Member No.: 4,916



any news on the install pb in sd or cf? i've reflashed on pdaxrom rc12 in the meantime...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimjimbobim
post Nov 2 2005, 10:25 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 8,319



I will backup and reflash and try again in a day or two and let you know if the latest suggestions work. I am using 40bit encryption currently, I will switch to 128 and see if it makes a difference.

-Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 25 2005, 12:48 AM
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



*edit*

your wep setup script worked for me; I did the hack to set the chosen wep key to number 0. I also had to hack /etc/resolv.conf too. I usually have to run the script twice, it reports no such device the first time. Maybe it would be best to write a simply loop with timeout to wait for the device to appear?

And finally, because of my fascist security, I created the proxy config file using hluc's info on his 3100. Basically, you create a file called
/home/zaurus/Applications/Network/modules/Proxies.conf
with the proxy settings in it - I can post the file if people wish. The presence of the file is used automatically by Opera, you don't need to restart it. As far as I know from my Cacko/860 use, netfront also dynamically tracks this file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Dec 21 2005, 10:10 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I tried with my simple, open network (mac address locking only--and the z's mac address is on the list),
no luck.
played with editing net.wifi.local
no luck

a shame-- now that I have 3100 tp play with pdaxrom, I was hoping to switch my 6000 to guylhem rom.

I guess its back to popping a better kernel into sharprom.... as was the rage a year ago
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Dec 21 2005, 10:32 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(adf @ Dec 21 2005, 01:10 PM)
I guess its back to popping a better kernel into sharprom....  as was the rage a year ago
*


Do you mean using guylhem's kernal and the Default sharp rom? How does this work? Do you still get the over/under clocking abiltiy and the nice keyboard mappings?

Does he have the kernel sperate, the same one that is in the 1.0RC4 ROM???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Dec 21 2005, 01:53 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(loc4me @ Dec 21 2005, 06:32 PM)
QUOTE(adf @ Dec 21 2005, 01:10 PM)
I guess its back to popping a better kernel into sharprom....  as was the rage a year ago
*


Do you mean using guylhem's kernal and the Default sharp rom? How does this work? Do you still get the over/under clocking abiltiy and the nice keyboard mappings?

Does he have the kernel sperate, the same one that is in the 1.0RC4 ROM???
*



The older version of his kernel. I think I still have one up at anyerlildog2.com/zug the instructions are in the pinned fastkernel thread at the top of this forum.
I was kinda hoping to find an answer to the rc4 wireless problem, though... sharprom's partitioning wastes so much internal flash....

yeah.. the stuff is still up at anyerlildog2; an ffpe and no ffpe version. any modules you might need (or at least all the ones I compiled) are in the linux2.4****tarball.
add his fast libsdl and you have a decent setup. I really wish rc4 did wireless though..It is better than just shoehorning improvements into a default flash...

underclocking etc is available... and I think I have the applet and script around someplace if he hasn't stil got it up at externe.net/zaurus

edit: you won'r need to add as many modules back in, as the kernel I posted has most of the stuff (like wireleless and the usb driver) compiled in already
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 07:11 PM