OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Emulation & pdaxrom, Where are we ?
alan
post Jul 28 2004, 06:20 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Hi everyone !

I love using emulators on my pc. It allows me to play the games i had when i was a kid, that is wonderful. I know that zaurii are able to emulate quite a lot of consoles, but i can't find amulators made for pdaxrom.

I tried an ipk version of VisualBoyAdvance SDL some monthes ago, but it was way too slow and i didn't try anything else since then cause i can't find any ipk for xrom on the web, and i think i can't use those desingned for QT (can i ???).

What can i do ? I am not a programmer so i don't feel like able to cross compile emulators... Plus i am sure there is another way but i do'nt know wich one... Can someone tell me where to find what i am looking for ?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reaper
post Jul 29 2004, 12:07 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 13-December 03
Member No.: 1,174



A nice set of emulators has been compiled by LordDavon. Check his feed at http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/davonz . There are emulators for Snes, GameBoy, Atari, DOS (slow ones sad.gif) and so on. I also like to use emulators, so please try 'em and post here about results/problems.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Jul 31 2004, 01:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



thanks reaper!

I have had little time to test this but i have just tried VisualBoyAdvance (tha best gba emulator ever!!!!) but it runs only 35% of normal speed on japaneese F-Zero (it was the first available rom so i know that compatibility is perfect).

I still haven't tried to desactivate the sound, but i guess this won't make it run faster than 50%.

I'll post every other tests here, but i'm not a linux guru, so any help is welcome!

See you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 1 2004, 12:21 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Still on VisualBoyAdvance...

* killing X server (Ctrl+Alt+Back)
* export SDL_NOMOUSE=1
* ./VisualBoyAdvance -F --auto-frameskip *.gba

==> Makes it run 46% of normal speed... Not that bad, but still not good sad.gif

Anyone knows how to disable turn off sound from command line ? Or is there anyone with a VisualBoyAdvance.cfg file ? I only use a vba.ini either under win or under nux. Do you know what version of vba use such a config file ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 3 2004, 07:45 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



man, snes9x ROCKS!!!!!

It runs perfectly right biggrin.gif, but there are some minor troubles you might help me to solve...

* killing X server (Ctrl+Alt+Back)
* export SDL_NOMOUSE=1
* ./snes9x *.smc

Tested with french version of Chrono Trigger, and it works perfectly but i have a big cursor on the top left of the screen... huh.gif

Plus i'm fed up with typing "export SDL_NOMOUSE=1"... I'm sure i could use a script to automatize this but i don't know how to create a script and i leave tommorrow for hollidays so i have no time to search right now... Can someone help me with this : a script that makes

export SDL_NOMOUSE=1
./snes9x *.smc

in one shot.

I'm sure it is really simple, but that is not the kind of things i know.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reaper
post Aug 4 2004, 12:46 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 13-December 03
Member No.: 1,174



Well, writing script is pretty simple. Just make a plain text file (e.g. in AbiWord - just save as TXT). After you typed what you need, rename its extension to .sh and make this file executable by adding required atribute. Both of these things are easily done by MC. There is also a way to do that via Linux console commands (like copy con file.txt and attrib in DOS), but I'm not a Linux guru and lazy enough to RTFM in most but urgent cases wink.gif.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wario
post Aug 4 2004, 04:06 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-December 03
From: Helvetia
Member No.: 1,191



CODE
echo export SDL_NOMOUSE=1 >> ~/.bash_profile

adds the command to the script that runs each time you login
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wario
post Aug 4 2004, 04:18 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-December 03
From: Helvetia
Member No.: 1,191



i love showing my z+snes9x off to gameboy sp/adv users: same games plus more and way better screen.

but the z keys are crap for most genres.

has anyone successfully used a CF USB-host card + joypad with pdaXrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ronba
post Aug 4 2004, 04:29 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 23-March 04
Member No.: 2,454



yes add the line : echo export SDL_NOMOUSE=1 >> /etc/profile
or use vi


killing X server (Ctrl+Alt+Back)
and
su -

The fps (frame per second) is cool with the sound ON : 19 fps for my games ..... it's cool biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 15 2004, 09:42 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Hi everyone!!

I'm just back from holidays where i wanted to play some old snes games of mine : Tales of Fantasya, Super Mario Kart or Chrono Trigger, but...

1) My version of Mario Kart did'nt work (probably my file...)
2) I just CAN'T save !!!!!!! That is a real great pb for playing rpg...

Does any one knows why ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikm
post Aug 15 2004, 01:00 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 13-April 04
Member No.: 2,827



QUOTE(ronba @ Aug 4 2004, 04:29 AM)
yes add the line  : echo export SDL_NOMOUSE=1 >> /etc/profile
or use vi

One should be cautious when doing this, as no SDL application would ever use a mouse, even when run on the X server. A better way is to make a script for running the particular game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ronba
post Aug 16 2004, 07:01 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 23-March 04
Member No.: 2,454



QUOTE
alan  Posted on Aug 15 2004, 09:42 AM
...
2) I just CAN'T save !!!!!!! That is a real great pb for playing rpg...
...


Save is the keys shift + the key number from 6 to 9.
Load is the key number from 6 to 9.
FPS is the key number 0.

Be careful I know that the X11 version of snes9X doesn't work like that !!!!

QUOTE
ikm  Posted on Aug 15 2004, 01:00 PM

One should be cautious when doing this, as no SDL application would ever use a mouse, even when run on the X server. A better way is to make a script for running the particular game.


Of course i'll think to make a script .......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 16 2004, 01:35 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



QUOTE
Be careful I know that the X11 version of snes9X doesn't work like that !!!!


Yes it does !!!

Thanks for the trick!

Now another pb (yes, i know, i'm a boring boy... rolleyes.gif )
Is there a way to save somewhere else than in default save directory (~/.snes96_snapshots)?

My z is nearly full so if i keep on saving 2 times (+/- 1mo) for each one of my games, i might be in troubles...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Aug 16 2004, 01:44 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



if not, you can always edit the binary
or symlink that dot dir to the location of your choice.

etc.

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 17 2004, 11:15 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



wario : this site might interest you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 05:37 PM