OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Power button works once?, Thought it was the battery....
JimDog
post Jun 29 2004, 06:57 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 27-January 04
Member No.: 1,572



Please help....

At first I thought I had a bad battery: See Topic Here

But then after doing some experimenting it turns out that I can turn on my Z but as soon as I turn it off (with a full batery) I can't turn it back on. I have to switch the back button to "Replace Battery" and then back to "Normal Operation"....then I can turn it back on....note that when it comes back on the battery is still indicating a full charge. So I've ruled out the battery.

Any ideas???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Jun 30 2004, 01:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



JimDog, i suggest that you get a signature so that we can see what kind of hardware you have.

Sounds a bit strange, like keymapping got screwed up but that seems unlikely. If it's a C series did you try to hit the home button to turn it on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Jun 30 2004, 04:52 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



Have you installed X Windows with a Sharp ROM? Perhaps this is the problem:

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...parent_id=0#267
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JimDog
post Jun 30 2004, 01:31 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 27-January 04
Member No.: 1,572



Hmm...being that this is the "Everything 5x00" forum I thought it would be obvious I have either a 5500 or 5600.

I have the SL-5600 with the Sharp Rom (updated).

Anyone else?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Jul 1 2004, 12:25 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



You can install XFree on a 5500/5600 and that FAQ problem was know about before the SL-Cxxx Zauruses came out.

In any case, the usual reason why you can turn a Zaurus off but not on (without a reset), is because something you have installed is interfering with APM. What have you been installing recently?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JimDog
post Jul 2 2004, 01:16 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 27-January 04
Member No.: 1,572



That's a good question....see the problem is I was using it pretty regularly and then it sat at home for two or three weeks. So honestly I don't remember what I installed last. However as soon as I get home I'll take a looksy (haven't been bringing it to work anymore since it has this issue and it bugs me).

If it's not obvious to me what might be doing it then I'll probably just uninstall everything, maybe even re-flash it with the Sharp rom again and see what happens. I'll post an update when I've done it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JimDog
post Jul 6 2004, 12:03 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 27-January 04
Member No.: 1,572



Well tumnus I think you were right (read: THANKS). I uninstalled everything except mplayer and one or two things I knew for sure weren't an issue. Sure enough the damn thing works fine just like before. The battery still holds a wicked long charge and it turns on and off just fine.

Thanks again!

Now if I could only get a version of pdaXrom.org's ROM for the 5600 I'd be an even happier man! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Twisk
post Jul 25 2004, 05:01 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-July 04
Member No.: 4,093



JimDog. I followed your woes from your original post.
Thanks for asking the question. The answers (and the solution) were very helpful to me.

Cheers,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 11:04 PM