OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> "normal" Java On The Z?, can we run it?
ludo
post Jan 11 2006, 12:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-December 05
Member No.: 8,688



I am often refering to Meanie's web site , and have to go back to what there often because as some things get clearer, I have new questions.

One here:
what would prevent the normal java (the sun's J2SE distribution for Linux) to run on the Z?

I have not tried it yet, but it seems that Blackdown Java-Linux is actually the J2SE. So does it mean that we can run any application written and compiled on the PC on the zaurus?

Ludo

(C3000 sharp ROM)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 11 2006, 01:22 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ludo @ Jan 11 2006, 06:32 PM)
I am often refering to Meanie's web site , and have to go back to what there often because as some things get clearer, I have new questions.

One here:
what would prevent the normal java (the sun's J2SE distribution for Linux) to run on the Z?

I have not tried it yet, but it seems that Blackdown Java-Linux is actually the J2SE. So does it mean that we can run any application written and compiled on the PC on the zaurus?

Ludo

(C3000 sharp ROM)
*


You can run j2se apps on the Z, however, they will be slow and you will need X//Qt if you want to run a GUI, ie awt or swing. Also, blackdown is only jre 1.3.1 so any java application using newer apis for 1.5 or 5.0 will not run on the Zaurus.
If you look at my HdPad application, it was written for 1.3.1 so it runs on the Zaurus without needing any modifications or recompilation. Even my HdCrawler app which was compiled with 1.4.1 compiler runs because it hasn't used any of the newer 1.4.x methods and classes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ludo
post Jan 11 2006, 11:27 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-December 05
Member No.: 8,688



Thanks Meanie.

I'll then move to X/Qt some time soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tovarish
post Jan 12 2006, 02:53 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,233



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 11 2006, 10:22 AM)
QUOTE(ludo @ Jan 11 2006, 06:32 PM)
I am often refering to Meanie's web site , and have to go back to what there often because as some things get clearer, I have new questions.

One here:
what would prevent the normal java (the sun's J2SE distribution for Linux) to run on the Z?

I have not tried it yet, but it seems that Blackdown Java-Linux is actually the J2SE. So does it mean that we can run any application written and compiled on the PC on the zaurus?

Ludo

(C3000 sharp ROM)
*


You can run j2se apps on the Z, however, they will be slow and you will need X//Qt if you want to run a GUI, ie awt or swing. Also, blackdown is only jre 1.3.1 so any java application using newer apis for 1.5 or 5.0 will not run on the Zaurus.
If you look at my HdPad application, it was written for 1.3.1 so it runs on the Zaurus without needing any modifications or recompilation. Even my HdCrawler app which was compiled with 1.4.1 compiler runs because it hasn't used any of the newer 1.4.x methods and classes.
*



meanie, the j2me distribution on your website differs a bit from sun's. how did you create it then. the vm (cvm executable) differs largely by size as well as the .so files. there is also swing in your set.

tovarish
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 16 2006, 05:29 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 11 2006, 03:22 AM)
Also, blackdown is only jre 1.3.1 so any java application using newer apis for 1.5 or 5.0 will not run on the Zaurus.

Retroweaver can help here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 17 2006, 03:05 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(DrWowe @ Jan 17 2006, 11:29 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 11 2006, 03:22 AM)
Also, blackdown is only jre 1.3.1 so any java application using newer apis for 1.5 or 5.0 will not run on the Zaurus.

Retroweaver can help here.
*



well, unfortunately not. blackdown is 1.3 whereas retroveaver creates 1.4 bytecode. i meant to say 1.4 and 5.0 (not 1.5 since that's the same as 5.0 smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 17 2006, 07:14 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 17 2006, 05:05 AM)
well, unfortunately not. blackdown is 1.3 whereas retroveaver creates 1.4 bytecode. i meant to say 1.4 and 5.0 (not 1.5 since that's the same as 5.0 smile.gif

It's not really mentioned in the documentation, but retroweaver can target 1.3 as well. A web search will turn up info on how to do it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 11:29 AM