OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X/qt Preconfigured With Apps, running off cramfs images
Meanie
post Nov 20 2005, 06:41 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



Hi all,

I have build some cramfs images with X/Qt preconfiured on it and also some X applications ready to go. This has been tested on C3x00 and C1000 models with the Sharp ROM and should also work on other models as well. All the cramfs images can be installed on SD or CF cards.

The bundle comes in several files,

xqt-gtk-jumbo.cramfs is the preconfigured X/Qt image
xqt-apps.cramfs contains various X applications (abiword,dillo,ethereal,flfm,fltdj,gimp,gqview,gnumeric,grisbi,minimo,nedit,sylp
eed,xchat,xmms)
xqt-mozilla.cramfs contains firefox and thunderbird
java.cramfs contains the full 1.3.1 jre plus compiler tools
xqt-openoffice.cramfs contains openoffice 1.1.4

and an install script to automatically configure the cramfs images

details can be found at http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/jumbo/xqtjumbo.html

and discussions about these packages are on the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13011
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 20 2005, 08:06 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(Meanie @ Nov 20 2005, 09:41 PM)
Hi all,

I have build some cramfs images with X/Qt preconfiured on it and also some X applications ready to go. This has been tested on C3x00 and C1000 models with the Sharp ROM and should also work on other models as well. All the cramfs images can be installed on SD or CF cards.

The bundle comes in several files,

xqt-gtk-jumbo.cramfs is the preconfigured X/Qt  image
xqt-apps.cramfs contains various X applications (abiword,dillo,ethereal,flfm,fltdj,gimp,gqview,gnumeric,grisbi,minimo,nedit,sylp
eed,xchat,xmms)
xqt-mozilla.cramfs contains firefox and thunderbird
java.cramfs contains the full 1.3.1 jre plus compiler tools
xqt-openoffice.cramfs contains openoffice 1.1.4

and an install script to automatically configure the cramfs images

details can be found at http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/jumbo/xqtjumbo.html

and discussions about these packages are on the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13011
*


Thanks Meanie, that is awesome. I am fixing to try it out. With all the information on your website and the time and effort you have put into your jumbo X/QT package and then this, you have been a great resource (along with everyone on OESF) for all of us who are just getting our feet wet with the capabilites of our Zaurus.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freebird
post Nov 24 2005, 05:44 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,242



Hi all

I have installed the cramfs on my c860, every thing is ok
included openoffice cramfs

thanks meanie wink.gif

What i wolud like now is to make the fonts of xqt same as on cacko
i mean bigger and bold

any help guys
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Jan 25 2006, 11:23 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(Meanie @ Nov 20 2005, 06:41 PM)
Hi all,

I have build some cramfs images with X/Qt preconfiured on it and also some X applications ready to go. This has been tested on C3x00 and C1000 models with the Sharp ROM and should also work on other models as well. All the cramfs images can be installed on SD or CF cards.


Thanks a lot Meanie!

I got it installed and running, as per your most excellent instructions. However, I have 2 remaining questions (perhaps more laster)
1) On your web page you show the pop-up menu for fluxbox, how did you do that? What/where do you tap to get the pop-up to pop up?

2)xmodmaprc file. I am running on a SL6000, and the built in keyboard works fine, but my nice IR Pocketop keyboard does not type lower case letters (only upper and numbers). When I look at your example xmodrc file, I don't see lower case, which is probably why.
Question is: How does one determine the scan codes of letters typed? I tried xev, but it doesn't seem to print anything when I type lower case letters sad.gif

Thanks again!

Craig...

==== Edited on 26 Jan =================
OK, I have answers.
1) use the Fn key and tap to get the right button. Is this key definable (in some conf file)? On a SL-6000, it would be nice to move this key to an outside button (like the "dot" button).

2)This seems to be a confusion point between the internal keyboard (on a SL-6000) and the IR keyboard as to what is caps lock. If I press caps lock on the IR keyboard, then I get small chars in Xqt, and caps in Qt. Kind of odd, but it works. Again, is there a config file that sets up what is caps and what is not?

Thanks again,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Feb 5 2006, 11:33 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Is it possible to install packages onto the cramfs? I want to add gaim and possibly a newer version of grisbi but it doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Feb 13 2006, 07:53 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(xamindar @ Feb 5 2006, 11:33 PM)
Is it possible to install packages onto the cramfs?  I want to add gaim and possibly a newer version of grisbi but it doesn't work.
*


I am sure others are more knowledgable than I on this, but I believe that cramfs is (for the Zaurus) really readonly. That is because it is a compressed FS, it must be written in its entirety (at once). Given this, probably the X/qt images should be mounted as ro rather than rw.

Creating a cramfs image to use on the Zaurus is a whole different discussion. Unfortunately, I have no experience there.

I hope this helps,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gab74
post Feb 16 2006, 08:52 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 344
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,411



Anyone can insert gpsdrive in the apps cram image ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Feb 16 2006, 10:08 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(gab74 @ Feb 16 2006, 08:52 AM)
Anyone can insert gpsdrive in the apps cram image ?
*


Actually you can create your own. After I posted above I later went back to meanie's site and he explains how to make your own image in addition to the ones he has. So I was able to make one for gaim. You need to do a lot of dependancy searching though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmonex
post Mar 7 2006, 06:01 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 4-March 06
Member No.: 9,288



ok x works, apps work but they are useless to me because i cant get the keyboard to work...

# xmodmap -pke > /home/zaurus/.xmodmaprc

this just gives me this error:

error while loading shared libs, libx11.so.6: cannot load shared object file: no such file or dir

also i have no idea how to remap. the whole instruction set is unclear to such a newbie as i am..

C760, cacko 1.23...

thanks...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Mar 10 2006, 10:33 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Hello ppl, Im trying to install xqt pack on hhd4 (ext3, mounted at boot) with cacko 1.23 rom.
The installation ends OK but I couldnt find a way to run xipk-link or ipkg-link to link the package with /

Any help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 11 2006, 07:58 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Mar 11 2006, 04:33 PM)
Hello ppl, Im trying to install xqt pack on hhd4 (ext3, mounted at boot) with cacko 1.23 rom.
The installation ends OK but I couldnt find a way to run xipk-link or ipkg-link to link the package with /

Any help?
*


you need to install the ipktools package for either of the above commands. the installer/setup scripts in the cramfs images is actually a modified xipk-link script. you are probably better off using the cramfs images since they are newer and if you want more speed, you can mount the cramfs images and copy their contents to /hdd4 before running the setup scripts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Mar 11 2006, 09:56 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



thnx alot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Mar 11 2006, 10:42 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Hey meanie, any news on an updated version of the cramfs?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Mar 11 2006, 06:12 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



I am still waiting for the non-cramfs update...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Mar 12 2006, 11:35 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



New question!
Do I need to use some other key map for debian? I have c3100 so as Meanie says it is included in the xqt pack... but in debian I can write on the terminal! (some chars are working but other are wrong! ex. P=backspace!!! )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 06:29 PM