OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Memory Shortage When Compiling Inside X/qt, How to let X/Qt fully use the swap space
xjqian
post Apr 9 2006, 03:39 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



CODE
export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/.tmp
and it no longer bombs out.


Where did you put that line? No matter where I put it, either before croot (i.e. .xintrc) or after croot (i.e. startd), it still bombs out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 9 2006, 05:57 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



That doesn't work. Just run it from the command prompt before starting make or configue or whatever.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Apr 9 2006, 09:48 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Apr 9 2006, 08:57 AM)
That doesn't work. Just run it from the command prompt before starting make or configue or whatever.
*


Nope, that doesn't work either. (I mounted my sd card into the chroot env. Then point the TMPDIR to there as you described.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 9 2006, 10:37 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(xjqian @ Apr 10 2006, 06:48 AM)
Nope, that doesn't work either. (I mounted my sd card into the chroot env. Then point the TMPDIR to there as you described.)
*

I don't understand why you're doing what you're doing?

Why are you setting TMPDIR after chroot? Why are you chrooting? Are you compiling in debian?

Anyhow, you must do this in Qtopia, i.e. run a console, and do this. Then you can mount bind the card to a chrooted location, then chroot and compile, if this is what you're doing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Apr 10 2006, 06:11 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



I understand this is an Qtopia problem. I works for me now after putting the following line in the .xinitrc
CODE
export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/tmp
su -c 'mount /dev/mmcda1 `cat /etc/debroot`/mnt/card'


Interesting enough, previously it didn't work for me as I mount bind the card to a chrooted location /mnt/sd instead of /mnt/card. Seems the mount points need to be coherent inside and outside chroot enviroment, which is beyond my expectation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DoTheDog
post Jul 19 2006, 08:05 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-August 05
Member No.: 7,823



Resurrecting an old post. I've been trying to compile a relatively large C++ package native in Pocketworkstation and I keep getting the dreaded Memory Status thing coming up. If I leave it it will crash Pocketworkstation.

I have tried:

In qtopia terminal "export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/tmp" on a 512MB sd card for both root and zaurus. Then "xlauncher debian". Still bombs out.

Also,
CODE
export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/tmp
su -c 'mount /dev/mmcda1 `cat /etc/debroot`/mnt/card'

in /home/zaurus/.xinitrc
then "xlauncher debian" and it still doesn't work.

I even tried Shiroikuma's open and close qt apps but it takes a long time to do and it eventually bombs out.

Any ideas? help? Meanie?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 20 2006, 02:49 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(DoTheDog @ Jul 19 2006, 05:05 PM)
In qtopia terminal "export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/tmp" on a 512MB sd card for both root and zaurus. Then "xlauncher debian". Still bombs out.
*

What does echo TMPDIR say after you chroot?

Is the card accessible under debian, have you bind mounted it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DoTheDog
post Jul 20 2006, 04:20 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-August 05
Member No.: 7,823



Hi Shiroikuma,
How do you bind it in chroot? when I do "echo $TMPDIR" it comes back blank in Pocketworkstation. I can see the card though.

DoTheDog

EDIT:
In qt I tried
"mount -o bind /mnt/card /hdd2/debroot/mnt/card"
and it still comes up blank in pocketworkstation.

Edit2:
Looks like the card is already mounted in debian. mount in qt gives:
/dev/mmcda1 on /usr/mnt.rom/card type vfat (rw,noatime)

So I tried export TMPDIR=/mnt/card/tmp in Pocketworkstation.
Now in chroot echo $TMPDIR, gives /mnt/card/tmp AND in qt I get the same, but I still get the Qt Memory status thing.

Help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 06:54 PM