OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> My New Z6000 - Pls Help Which Os, Not certain if I should use Qtopie or OU
antonov
post Mar 31 2005, 08:59 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 05
Member No.: 6,759



Hi,

I prowdly got my Z6k from ebay. It has Qtopia 1.5.4 installed. Shall I change to a later version or Open Zaurus?
Sorry, this is not a new question but I am very uncertain. I do love linux but really need the Z and it is not for playing so I was hoping you could give me a good hint.

Thanx very much in advande,
Antonov
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 31 2005, 09:09 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



then stay with the sharp qtopia 1.5 rom, if you don't want to play with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonov
post Mar 31 2005, 12:31 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 05
Member No.: 6,759



Thax for the reply (hope it was not ment in sense of "why do you ask if you dont want to change anything") but if there are no majour restrictions and getting OZ would be much playing, I will follow your advice.

A.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 31 2005, 02:45 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



Oz 3.5.3 is due soon. Use sharp for now, and see how 3.5.3 does on the 6k in the forums. 3.5.3 could be very cool. I'm looking foward to it. At this point, I would not start off w/ 3.5.2, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rickh
post Mar 31 2005, 04:03 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 19-August 04
Member No.: 4,336



I agree with adf on this. Spend some time with the Sharp ROM, before you consider switching. There's really no reason to dump the ROM in favor of another until you find you need something offered in another ROM that's not available in Sharp's.

If it does what you need it to for work purposes, why bother? If, on the other hand, you DO want to play around with other ROMs, then have at it. :-)

R.
==
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonov
post Apr 1 2005, 12:19 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 05
Member No.: 6,759



@rickh @adf: thanx this is what I will do
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Apr 1 2005, 11:24 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



I agree with adk and richk.

Although I use a 5500 I had a similar experience when I bought my 5500. I am competent with linux and thought I could handle any issue I might forsee. I promptly learned that embedded linux is a whole new beast. And after flashing half a dozen ROMS I went back to Sharp until I fully knew what I was doing.

Hindsight being 20/20 I would have stayed with the stock ROM until I knew exactly what I wanted, then I would have looked at other ROMS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shurahbil
post May 5 2005, 09:48 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-April 05
Member No.: 7,032



QUOTE(technojunkie @ Apr 1 2005, 11:24 AM)
I agree with adk and richk.

Although I use a 5500 I had a similar experience when I bought my 5500. I am competent with linux and thought I could handle any issue I might forsee. I promptly learned that embedded linux is a whole new beast. And after flashing half a dozen ROMS I went back to Sharp until I fully knew what I was doing.

Hindsight being 20/20 I would have stayed with the stock ROM until I knew exactly what I wanted, then I would have looked at other ROMS.
*


Well, there is a specific problem with my SL6000 that got me considering Cacko: Gmail requires SSL for pop service. I do NOT use my 6000 for playing--it is (believe it or not) my main computer! But having to login to GMail instead of being able to download into QtMail is a real pain. I installed STunnel which, supposedly should allow QtMail to download from GMail--but no luck so far. Any help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 5 2005, 10:05 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



qtopia 2.1 looks viable and pretty straightforward now too
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 10:19 AM