OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Good Buy On A Z Mic, for the Canucks maybe for others too
speculatrix
post Jan 20 2007, 01:30 PM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Omicron @ Jan 20 2007, 07:06 PM)
Well, here is one made by Olympus, but you may very well be right about it just creating two channels.  If it it didn't, the left and right are so close together that I doubt there would be much of a panning effect...not toomention the steep $49 price tag.
*


no, they're genuinely stereo mics, with directional pickup. to exhaust my technical knowledge, stereo strictly means "solid", and in theory the mics have to be at an equivalent point to the playback speakers to get accurate stereo presentation, so not ideal, but a lot better than mono.

if you use a dummy head and put the microphones where the ears are, it's called binaural, and playback is of course ideal for headphones.

yamaha and others have some neat tricks using DSPs to transform stereo sound into binaural using "head related transformation functions".

--edit - oops, fixed
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 20 2007, 01:32 PM
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



p.s. until recently most computers only have mono microphone input but stereo aux/line-in. I think the latest Intel specification with high resolution sound calls for stereo microphones, but the zaurus is mono. I don't know if there's any way to do stereo sound input on the Z except by adding some sort of analogue/digital converter adaptor in the CF slot?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scheck.r
post Jan 24 2007, 12:50 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 5-December 04
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 5,776



If you are in France, here is another Mic:
http://www.pearl.fr/article-PE5530-MICROPHONE.html
I tried it under pdaxrom beta3 using KHdRecord. It works great as long as you are very close to the Mic. You can't beat the price: 4,90eur(mic) + 4,90eur(shipping).[attachment=3734:attachment][attachment=3734:attachment]
Attached File(s)
Attached File  PE5530.jpg ( 8.78K ) Number of downloads: 24
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Overgauss
post Jan 25 2007, 12:41 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-August 05
Member No.: 7,886



Would any of these be good for a student to record classroom lectures with?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Jan 25 2007, 09:38 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



I've been using this one to record lectures and meetings.

http://conics.net/catalog/product_info.php...0043044d7ce70e1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Overgauss
post Feb 8 2007, 11:15 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-August 05
Member No.: 7,886



QUOTE(harvell @ Jan 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
I've been using this one to record lectures and meetings. 

http://conics.net/catalog/product_info.php...0043044d7ce70e1
*


Cool thanks. I started to get excited. Read the specs, got more excited. Then I realised it costs $41. So I thought "well, you've gotta pay to play." Then I remembered to add shipping, oh wait it's $41 + $13.66 shipping. I may wait on that abit. /khan!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Feb 8 2007, 02:16 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



QUOTE(Overgauss @ Feb 8 2007, 11:15 AM)
QUOTE(harvell @ Jan 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
I've been using this one to record lectures and meetings. 

http://conics.net/catalog/product_info.php...0043044d7ce70e1
*


Cool thanks. I started to get excited. Read the specs, got more excited. Then I realised it costs $41. So I thought "well, you've gotta pay to play." Then I remembered to add shipping, oh wait it's $41 + $13.66 shipping. I may wait on that abit. /khan!
*



Yeah it could get up there in price. I guess it's easier when someone buys it for you as a present laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Feb 8 2007, 07:53 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(HoloVector @ Jan 19 2007, 04:42 PM)
Okay, I went down to The Source by Circuit City this afternoon.  And saw this mic on the shelf.  I had my 3200 with me so, I tried it with the Voice Recorder software in Cacko.  It works!  The specs are quite close to the Conics one but this one is only $19.99CAN.  That's a great price to add another useful feature to your Zaurus.
*

I picked one up, thanks for the tip!
I keep forgetting to use it in meetings though. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HoloVector
post Feb 8 2007, 08:14 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 22-March 06
From: Winnipeg, Canada
Member No.: 9,420



QUOTE(Antikx @ Feb 8 2007, 09:53 PM)
QUOTE(HoloVector @ Jan 19 2007, 04:42 PM)
Okay, I went down to The Source by Circuit City this afternoon.  And saw this mic on the shelf.  I had my 3200 with me so, I tried it with the Voice Recorder software in Cacko.  It works!  The specs are quite close to the Conics one but this one is only $19.99CAN.  That's a great price to add another useful feature to your Zaurus.
*

I picked one up, thanks for the tip!
I keep forgetting to use it in meetings though. sad.gif
*


Have you tried it with krecord yet? I've only used it in the Voicerec app in Cacko
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Feb 8 2007, 11:00 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



I just tried Khrecord in a seminar yesterday night. It worked well with .wav files and even .ogg. I just wish I could bring up the gain a bit more. I had it to 100 and oss mixer to 100. But it seems like the Sharp Record app worked better. I just reloaded my 5500 with the Sharp Rom and test it out again and create two files one with KhdRecord and the other with the Sharp voice app. I'll try to post them on the Tyrannozaurus blog. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Feb 9 2007, 05:29 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(HoloVector @ Feb 8 2007, 10:14 PM)
Have you tried it with krecord yet?  I've only used it in the Voicerec app in Cacko
*

Ya. Just horsing around, but ya. it seems to work well.
Looking forward to your blog post harvell. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2014 - 06:24 PM